We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just panoramic views do not save this hotel”
Review of Parador de Baiona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Baiona
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“just panoramic views do not save this hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

located on the cliffs with panoramic views across the Atlantic, this hotel promises a lot but delivers v little. we were greeted by an middle aged female member of staff with very few words/ care for our wellbeing. keys given, some shouting to the porter and we are in the room. instead of a double bedroom, we were given a twin. returned to reception, same lady tells us that it is our fault, we should have booked a matrimonial bed! when i insist and showed her the email confirming 'double bed' we are told that we need pay extra. then she suddenly pretends that she can no longer speak in English and passes us on to a younger lady, who in fairness has a better attitude and eventually admits that 'we had lots of problems with this lately' and that she cannot give us a double bed or as it is called there a 'matrimonial'. more disappointment to come when we go back in the room- shabby chairs with holes in the upholstery, dirty armchairs, walls are marked, dirty, there are missing bits on the furniture edges, dirty bath/ shower area, shabby look. see attached pictures. would you like that for 200 euro/ night? the view is stunning but the room is a let down. tired we decided to eat at the terrace some 'galician delicacies'- these turned out to be a runny unseasoned soup and an ordinary roast ham! staff that at all times look disinterested and haughty. very little english is spoken- routinely staff just nod saying 'que?' we ended up drinking there a couple of times- we called it the Broncho bar as staff made us feel so unwelcome. But it was convenient as the hotel is perched up on the cliffs, away from town cemtre. Shame of the wonderful view, staff are just destroying that place. One day had a cake described as Plum cake- dry, with no plums in it, just raisins and turkish delight. staff just look so unbothered when i asked if that it is indeed 'plum cake'. Next day, at our insistence we were moved to the 'matrimonial' - this was the last room, miles away, wind was hauling. in fairness the room was spacious with a nice bed and fine bedding, good bathroom. but again, same chipped furniture, stained sofa, broken light switch. No attention to details, what is going on with the Management of this hotel? Are you asleep on the job? Breakfast: large and good selection of hot and cold food, iberian ham was a cheaper cut, full of fat. good selection of artisan breads, cakes, croissants. tried several of them and were baked well. But yet again staff move like robots, no pleasantries, remote smiles, nothing. ask for milk and a long arm just points to the place. We leave 5 days later, another older member Luiza F, said prob around 4 words; checking out? sign here! that is it! nothing like : hope you liked the second room, have a safe journey, GOOD BYE the least! unbelievable rude staff. Younger ones please keep them as did seem OK but the older ones need training or ditching. Just the wonderful panoramic views do not save this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    357
    109
    38
    15
See reviews for
259
635
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

To stay in this hotel is like to stay in the museum with all modern facilities. and the views on the ocean and islands infront are so amazing that you can stay hours looking on them. the park where you can really 'follow a rabbit' is also wonderful. the hotel is not cheap, but i think such a beaty worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Blowball
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fishkill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We are so glad we included one night at this beautiful property during our short stay in Galicia. The hotel itself is beautiful, spacious and wears its history well. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. This Parador truly presents as a 5 star hotel. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a breathtaking view of the ocean. We spent much of our time walking around the grounds, including to the beach and could not stop taking pictures! We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The views are difficult to beat: you are right on the water, on top of a cliff, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, literally across the Islas Cíes.

We had a huge, fantastic room (210) with windows on two sides, just above the bar patio (noise was never a problem; the only noise we could hear was the water when it rained).

Our bed was a bit too soft for our liking, but the staff took care of that to our satisfaction as soon as we told them.

Generally speaking, all the staff was friendly and professional -especially their concierges, always ready to help (and give useful advice).

Don't miss the main staircase leading up to the "Salón Condal" (the Duke's room), open only to guests, with a great balcony to sit and relax (both usually empty).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while visiting family. The hotel is immediately impressive, as other reviewers have already stated. The walk around the walls provides stunning views, although notices do advise that you need to watch your step. Inside the hotel is equally as impressive, with rooms decorated in keeping with the building. Breakfast buffet had a good selection of hot and cold items. Food in the hotel bar and the Taverna provided a good variety and was well cooked. The service is a little laid back, but this did not spoil our experience and we would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. This is the first Parador we have stayed in and we are now keen to visit others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This Parador is one of the most beautifully situated properties we have visited in the past 10 years. The location is idyllic. The area is wonderful. The ride from the Parador along the coast to Portugal is absolutely beautiful. The condition of the ancient Celtic Sites provide a significant view of that culture. I can't say enough about this location. The restaurant food was average however the wait staff out standing.

Room Tip: Be sure to obtain a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location inside a fortress and on a promontory surrounded by beaches & coves. The Parador itself is modern and of the usual high standard - more expensive than most but still good value. The town has a small, old centre and a large marina. Certainly the best spot along this stretch of Montevedra's coast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiona
2.8 mi away
Talaso Atlantico
Talaso Atlantico
#1 of 1 in Oia
415 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ababides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Glasgow
Hotel Glasgow
#1 of 1 in Viladesuso
75 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Baiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Baiona

Property: Parador de Baiona
Address: Rua Arquitecto Jesus Valverde, 36300 Baiona, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Baiona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Baiona 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the walled enclosure of Monte Real protected by the sea and flanked by a pine wood, this Parador rises up in a priviledge location. Regal drawing rooms with decorative features from other ages form a distinguished interior in which the spectacular stone staircase of the entrance hall stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Baiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Baiona Hotel Baiona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing