We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful beach side service and food!”

The Beach Club Talpe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Talpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Simple good food with fresh local ingredients. Lunch or Dinner with hang out on the beach or cool off in the beach-front pool. Stunning sunset with a drink. Open Tuesday - Sunday (Mondays closed - gone fishing)
colombo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delightful beach side service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Talpe beach is close to the highway point arnd 10 mins from when you hit the main road. The location is fabulous as it’s a villa and no feeling that your stuff might get taken by random beach walkers!

The pool makes for a great relaxing alternative although there is a swimming beach we discovered just mins walk around the left corner. You can even snorkel there. You can see giant sea turtles bobbing in and out of the water right in front of the restaurant and If you walk more to the right of the beach you can see some colorful fish too.

For lunch we ordered the tuna tartare and the seafood soup. These were well made and great flavors– quite large in size too. Then we got the coral reef fish grilled and a club sandwich for mains. Both were fantastic – the fish cooked to perfection soft, flaky and moist. The accompanying sauce was unreal with a bite to it and the right levels of soy and lime. The sandwich was massive, more like a sub, and each bite refreshingly flavorful and juicy. They make the bread in-house so no wonder that bread was fabulous!

A few drinks kept the afternoon going when we opted for an early desert! Feeling slightly puckish we got the waffles and the brownie. These deserts were dangerously generous portions enough to share with massive waffles and a chunky nutty brownie – do ask for extra syrup for the waffles as you will need it. This decision turned out to have been a good one when it came to dinner time!

The generous portions are the norm at Talpe Beach! For dinner we had the aptly named ‘big’ pork chop, repeat of the coral reef fish and a lentil soup. The soup was nicely seasoned and filling. The mains come with two side choices and enough options to choose from! The pork chop was a highlight – it was a very high quality generous piece and the grilling was nicely done to a level so there was a slight burn on the fat but keeping the white meat not overdone. Each bite was heavenly needless to say. The pork is sourced farm direct, hence the quality.

The service at Talpe beach is nothing short of amazing and it all starts with the on-site management and their commitment. The German husband (chef) and wife couple are intimately involved in their business and make it a point to interact with guests and make sure they are well taken care of. The food is obviously fantastic because a professional chef is making all of your meals in a very clean kitchen – you are genuinely getting what you pay for here! The head waitstaff was trained in Dubai and knows service inside and out in how to please guests. The other servers are also very cordial and attentive – they could use a few more servers but I’m sure that will happen.

You can’t go wrong with Talpe beach for the beach, for a pool, great food and for excellent service. This spot is kid friendly from what we saw but please note the honor system – you can’t just use the pool have a coke and leave – as we saw some people do this! Its a food place so order and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    51
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

For a simply delicious meal and great place to eat go here!!! We had a delicious lunch, grilled fresh fish and a proper salad, and afterwards good coffee. Very nicely decorated and just a good vibe. Staff and owner were very nice and the price was reasonable. Wish we could have gone there more often!

Helpful?
1 Thank Erikhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views but disappointing service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

After reading many great reviews for this place I left very disappointed. On arrival we were told there was no room for us and we were unable to order food. However after speaking with owner and pointing out to her that the inside restaurant area was totally empty we were told we could dine. We headed to the bar, which was hosting a stag party, and ordered Bloody Mary's that were close to something you'd get on an airline. We then had lunch. I ordered a steak for Rs2900 which arrived over cooked and alone on a large plate accompanied by a separate bowl of mashed potatoes. Both items had no seasoning or sauces offered. The other meals ordered seemed to please. The one toilet for the whole establishment was broken. After alerting the owner it seemed like it had been broken for a while and they weren't interested in fixing it. She said she goes in regularly and pours water into it. Seemed a little weird for somewhere of this standard of decor. Redeeming features were the beachside location and pool.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalpeBeach, Owner at The Beach Club Talpe, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Karyn,
Thank you for your review. We regret that you did not enjoy your afternoon with us.
When your group arrived, you were informed, that there was an ongoing function at our restaurant. Whiles the travelers table in the restaurant was vacant, we were hesitant to welcome you as our guests, knowing that we had already reached our capacity in what the kitchen and service is capable of.
We did welcome you and from that moment on you have the right to expect the best service and food.

Our steaks are served with garlic butter and comes with two side orders which are served in separate bowls. All our main courses are served like this, and till today it was well received by our guests. If you would have mention about your steak being overcooked, we would have taken care of it right there and then.

The toilet was not broken and I recall explaining that to one of the ladies in your party.
The Galle Municipality switches of all main water lines during the day due to the drought. Unfortunately we cannot do more than what we are already doing by placing a bucket of water in each toilet.

We would like to apologies to you, that your experience with us was not as expected. We would be more than happy to welcome you again and proof that the many great reviews we received so far are valid.
Thank you,
Ulricke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best advise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The owner of the place we stayed ( EKA beach) advised us to have dinner here with our 4 children. The food was exelent and the servise was great! The girls could swim during our visit. It was so good, that whe came back for lunch. The place is located on the beach with à stunning few. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Province, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Fantastic Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Conny and her team looked after us brilliantly on several occasions. We were in a big group and they put on an excellent spread for us one evening. The seafood was delicious and the views out onto the beach around sunset were great. Highly recommended! Thanks very much!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fg7948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Club Talpe also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Habaraduwa, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to The Beach Club Talpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing