We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on! ”

The Beach Club Talpe
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Talpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Simple good food with fresh local ingredients. Lunch or Dinner with hang out on the beach or cool off in the beach-front pool. Stunning sunset with a drink.
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We went here one evening on the basis of reading some very positive reviews and was not disappointed at all!

Very friendly service with the owner coming to our table for a chat after the host had sat us down.
They made a table up for us after we asked to sit closer to the sea.

Delicious food, even checking how spicy I'd prefer my curry. Very quick service with both the drinks and bringing out our food. Polite staff through out the evening.

Couldn't ask for more.

Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 151 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice location, very average food for a Sri Lankan palate. Very low on salt & spices , might be good for European taste buds . We were 8 & went after seen some good reviews but disappointed with food. We ordered many different things only cuttle fish was ok . Price around Rs 1500 per head without drinks ,will go back in the evening for a drink not for food .

1  Thank Wessa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrickeh, Owner at The Beach Club Talpe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi Wessa, Thanks for your comment. You're absolutely correct. Our Sri Lankan dishes are too mild for local taste buds. Trying to give visitors to this beautiful country a chance to get a taste of the local cuisine, we offer milder versions. But our local chef has no problem cooking up a local version for you, that will blow your pants off! Ask for me on your next visit and we"ll give you the "local version". Thanks again for your comment, Wim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

So happy to see that what used to be Nico's (which wasn't up to much) is now under new management and renamed Talpe Beach Restaurant. Fab place - Ulricke, Chamara and team are really professional and understand the meaning of customer service. Food delicious (loved their curries and the children were big fans of the fish and chips, as well as the milkshakes!) lovely place to visit, beautiful pool that diners can use and one of the most most beautiful beaches in the area (lots of interesting rock pools)
thanks all for several good meals and enjoyable visits!
PS there are 2 rooms available to stay in as well, a good option if you are not too bothered about privacy! We wish you continued success.
J,N, S&J from Dubai

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JulesLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrickeh, Owner at The Beach Club Talpe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Jules,

Thank you for taking your time and posting such a positive comment; it means a
lot to us. It was such a pleasure having you and your family as our guests.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.

Best wishes to you and your family.

Regards,

Ulricke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant food, and all the dishes were served really well. Tuna steak was a standout. Friendly staff and great location. Would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sunethra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrickeh, Manager at The Beach Club Talpe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Sunethra,

Thank you for your lovely comments which have been passed on to our Chef Suresh and to Chamara and his Team.
We are happy that you enjoyed your evening here at Talpe Beach and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Ulricke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Ate there last night, just tucked in off a very busy road, decor and location is quite understated but works well, really well, location is spot on, we arrived just around sunset, place was empty......one other set o customers, greeted quickly by the owner, menu is we felt slightly limited but ok.
Took quite a while to actually order....20 mins or so, we went for the special which was Calamari, we were given two different prices also by the waiting staff for the same dish, as it's *out of season* be prepared to pay more than *in season*..........food was really good! good portions so happy to recommend this place! they also organised a tuk tuk for us to our hotel which as 2 mins down the road, owner seems lovely also she made sure we were we happy! Go check it out.....very chatty host also ;)

1  Thank Franky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrickeh, Manager at The Beach Club Talpe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Franky,

Thank you for your valuable feed back, I am sorry that there was a delay in taking your order,and that there was some confusion with the prices,this should not be the case as we have fixed prices regardless of the season.
These points have been taken into our daily briefing with the staff to avoid the same happening again.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Calamari,it is a favorite at Talpe Beach.


Best wishes,

Ulricke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Club Talpe also viewed

 
Habaraduwa, Galle District
 

Been to The Beach Club Talpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing