We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Beach Vacation for the whole family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfies Beach House

Master Bedroom looks out directly over our tropical garden and beyond into the Indian Ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom looks out directly over our tropical garden and beyond into the Indian Ocean
Third bedroom with indoor/outdoor bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Master Bedroom looks out directly over our tropical garden and beyond into the Indian Ocean
Third bedroom with indoor/outdoor bathroom
Alfies Beach House
Talpe Beach Restaurant 2 properties along
Talpe Beach Restaurant 2 properties along, great food and sunset cocktails
Talpe Beach Restaurant 2 properties along
Talpe Beach Restaurant 2 properties along
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Talpe, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Hamer25
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Has potential to be a great spot!”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Alfies for two nights, there were 7 of us and it was comfortable in terms of the space and layout. There was a nice lounge area that opened out to the garden and then beach. Would have been nice to spend time in the garden if there was garden furniture.

Rooms were clean and ok. The ensuite bathroom in the room we stayed in could used a soap tray or something similar in the shower. There was also no table or counter top to keep toiletries.

We got to the villa in the afternoon and were told by the staff that they only work from 9 to 5pm, as such they left shortly after we arrived. Prior to this we discussed what the options were for meals and planned breakfast for the next day before they left. We opted to have only breakfast in the Villa and other meals out. As with most other villas we have stayed at, you could tell the staff in advance if you want meals and they purchase the goods and provide receipts which we then settle. We expected this would be the same here as we were not advised otherwise. Breakfast on day one was fine, we followed the same process on day 2 by telling the staff (Roshan) the day before what we would like to have the next day, we even gave him cash in advance to purchase the ingredients. We woke up on the 2nd morning and there was only fruit, eggs and toast when we had asked for stringhoppers. Roshan was not even around, when had to call him to find out that stringhoppers was not possible. I found this unacceptable, he had not informed the other staff and should have in fact informed us the night before if this was the case which would have then been acceptable, not to wake up and find out.

Further, the day before we brought back all ingredients to make some snacks, it was 4.30pm and Roshan had already left although he told us they were available till 5pm. We called him and told him we have brought some items to be cooked, he then informed us that he doesn't cook and would have to bring a friend to do the cooking.

The common area was cleared of the glasses etc by morning however the coffee table was left dirty and seating could have done with a clean.

For the price we paid for the villa I expected at least one member of staff to be available, typically someone who could cook. If this was not the case as with other villas this should be highlighted at the time of booking to say that you only get the villa and it's completely self service, in which case we could be prepared for this. If Roshan does not cook I am not sure what service he could offer by even being there from 9am to 5pm once the rooms are cleaned in the morning.

The villa has a lot of potential to be really nice but lacks attention to detail. Unfortunately we had a below average experience and would probably not go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLfamily...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Vacation for the whole family”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Alfies beach house is excellent. We have traveled and stayed in villas all over the world and Alfies is among the best places we have been to. We (a family of 4 with 2 teenage kids) first stayed at Alfies for three nights; we all loved it so much, we went there again for one extra night just before leaving Sri Lanka. Next time we visit SL, we plan to stay there for a week.

The house is very nice and relaxing, right on the beach with beautiful views. The beach in front of the house is protected by a coral reef and allows for safe swimming and snorkeling (we did see many fish, including several large eels) even for small children, many tide pools to explore.In addition, the wide and long Koggala beach is only a very short tuk-tuk ride away.

All staff members are very friendly. In addition to the wonderful breakfast included in the stay, the staff cooked many meals for us at a very reasonable cost. The owner, Piers is very friendly, flexible and accommodating .

We strongly recommend Alfies beach house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing setting right on the beah
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARISSAJA...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location. Wonderful staff. Beautiful villa *****”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa has a bathroom in every room which was very good for your own privacy. The staff cooked us whatever we wanted for breakfast and kept the house neat and tidy they spoke 3 good english and were very friendly and helpful. The views were amazing and being right on the beach was very peaceful. The talpe restaurant 2 doors down was very afordable and good food. We highly recommend Alfies beach house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bungangir...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Since we are living in Galle we researched a number of available villas for our family's visit for five days. We were delighted with Alfie's. Sanka (manager) Auntie (housekeeper) and Uncle (security) were charming. Sanka cooks an amazing chili crab as well as providing lots of local information. The absolute beach front garden with a natural jacuzzi in the ocean out front was a highlight. Thalpe Beach Bar and Restaurant as well as Why Beach are both a few doors away along the beach and have great meals. The rooms are a generous size with ensuites. In response to previous comment - we had wi fi, toilet paper, no cockroaches, delicious breakfasts, working air conditioning, fully attentive and friendly staff and the house was spotless. The "grime" on the glass coffee table is salt - we live on the beach in Australia and this is unavoidable in a prime beachfront location. The only minor downside for us was the noise of buses on the main road outside however this is unavoidable on this whole stretch of the coast. Our family loved every minute and said they didn't want to go back to New York! Also, don't buy seafood from fishermen on the beach, let Sanka buy for you from the markets. That way you won't be disappointed when you get days old seafood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beachfront location
Liked least: Noise of buses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamasChoi...
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Stunning Location, details need working on”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booking this villa was very easy and Michelle was a pleasure to deal with. Alfie's is located in a perfect spot on Thalpe beach. Every morning the lovely caretaker takes the colourful hammocks and ties them to the trees in the garden where you can laze the day away. The bottom of the garden leads straight onto the stunning white sand beach. There are two huge rock pools right in front, one of which is small and perfect for young children to swim in, the other is bigger and much deeper, great for older children and adults. It's so idyllic, you're in the calm, serene, protected water of your rock pool while the wild waves crash beyond. If you take a walk further up the beach there are places where you can walk right into the open sea and swim. The house itself has a kind of minimalist chic, with bare concrete floors and white washed walls, tastefully decorated with vintage posters. The master bedroom opens right onto the garden with sea views, offering an aesthetically beautiful start to the day. One of the other bedrooms has an outdoor bathroom area which is lovely. Delicious meals are prepared by the visiting chef and there is a housekeeper who comes in daily to clean. One of the best experiences of the holiday was sitting having lunch when a family of monkeys came into the garden. My children loved feeding them bananas and watching them play. It was also fantastic to spot sea turtles bobbing about in the turquoise water. The villa is also conveniently located close to Unawatuna and Galle. We spent a day at Unawatuna beach and would often go to restaurants there in the evening. We also visited Galle a few times and I must say I fell in love marvelling at the history, the winding streets and the gorgeous colonial buildings dotted with wonderful shops and art galleries. We had a wonderful high tea at the beautiful Galle Fort hotel and ate at quite a few other gorgeous restaurants. The turtle sanctuary and a wonderful tea plantation are also just down the road and definitely worth a visit. So in terms of location, Alfie's is superb.

However, there's definitely room for improvement. First, It is advertised as having wifi but there was no wifi during our stay and even though we regularly requested it we were always told it was being fixed. It never was. We also found it out of range for data roaming. Obviously Alfie's is a 'get away from it all' place, but if having internet access during your stay is essential for business or other purposes then double check that it will be working before you go. Second, the air conditioning in the master bedroom wasn't working when we arrived. It was fixed for one night, but the temperature couldn't be changed, then the next day it broke again and no one fixed it for the rest of our stay. Putting the fan on was like trying to sleep in a strong wind, so we had some very hot nights. Third, the villa just isn't clean enough. From our very first morning, when the sunlight reflected on the glass table in the sitting room, you could see the built up grime on it. We would always end up with black soles from walking barefoot on the concrete floor and the bathroom had wipeable marks that were there when we arrived and were still there when we left. There were a fair few cockroaches around the place, which I know is almost unavoidable in a tropical place, but I can't help but think that if the place was cleaner there would be fewer bugs. Fourth, Alfie's don't provide basics like toilet paper. I understand and accept this, but I do think a roll in every bathroom could be provided for the guests arrival, before they have chance to go shopping. It's just a detail that would be thoughtful and helpful. Fifth, the chef didn't turn up for breakfast one morning and the housekeeper simply laid out some crackers and fruit, all of which we had bought ourselves. When he came back, we explained our disappointment about that and our disappointment at the breakfast in general. They often used the fruit we bought ourselves and the jam they offer is the cheapest, most tasteless jam you can imagine, to go with stale white bread. We asked if we could have some Sri Lankan dishes for breakfast and were told that that this wasn't part of the deal, even though Alfie's clearly states that delicious Sri Lankan curries are on offer for breakfast. After that though the chef did step up and start to offer some very tasty Sri Lankan food for breakfast which was much more satisfying. Fifth, as you look at the property from the beach side, there is a build up of rubbish in front of the fence on the left. We often had to stop our children picking up pieces of plastic and glass, once even an old nappy. I suspect this might be overspill from the clearing of the property next door, but, even so, Alfies should really do something about it.

In short, the location is stunning and the staff are very nice people, but for the price that Alfie's charges, there really does need to be more attention paid to the details. With a bit of staff training I would give this place 5 stars.

Lastly, one afternoon as we were coming into the garden from the beach, my husband saw a fisherman reeling in a small turtle. A crowd of other fishermen appeared and seemed really pleased with the catch. My husband was upset watching the distressed turtle flailing about and asked the fishermen to release it. A shell-seller translated and the fishermen said they could get a good price for its meat in the market and they would only release the turtle if they were given money. In the end, my husband came back to the villa to get some money and we both went back to pay the fishermen and watch them release the turtle. At first, they tried to release it into the rock pool, where they would have obviously re-caught it after, so we asked them to release it into the passage out to the open sea. We later found out turtles are a protected species in Sri Lanka and it is illegal to catch them. It seems ironic that there is a nearby turtle sanctuary where they are dedicated to saving sea turtle, while just a short while down the beach the fishermen are catching them. I do hope that some of the property owners along the beach could take time to approach these fishermen and explain how it's not only against the law to catch these beautiful creatures, but that it is distressing for people to witness.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Dear BeachsideMama,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Alfie's Beach House, and apologies for taking so long to get back to you. I was quite concerned to read of your experiences, as the majority of problems could have been rectified straight away, had I been aware there was an issue. In saying that, things should have been as near to perfect as possible in the first instance.

I have recently spent time in the house and with my staff, who are, I feel a lot more understanding and proactive in their approach, and I am sure you would have a very different experience if you returned. If this is ever the case, I would like to offer a complimentary night by way of apology and hope that beyond the things you mentioned, you did enjoy your trip to Sri Lanka. I would add, that I also spoke with the local turtle sanctuary to ask their advice on how to approach this issue, and the staff and I will be a great deal more diligent in communicating a more conservatory approach to the local communities.

Kind regards,

Piers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliD04
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect beach escape”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights at Alfie's and thoroughly enjoyed the property. The staff were always friendly and helpful, we loved having a personal chef prepare dinner every night - the food was amazing!! The house is beautifully furnished in a relaxed style perfectly suited to the beach environment. Our favourite spot was the raised lounge bed overlooking the beach. Taking breakfast there with the turquoise ocean a few sandy steps away was absolute bliss.

The property is only 15mins (by tuc tuc) from the Unawatuna beach and diving centre and about 25mins from Galle. We didn't have any reason to leave the house apart from diving or enjoying a few hours browsing the treasure trove of antique furniture in Olanda (Galle).

The only negatives were:
1. House is situated close to the main road which was rather noisy at night
2. Limited dining options within walking distance - Fleurts which is 1 door down from Alfie's no longer allows non-villa guests to use the restaurant or pool area. One particular staff member at the highly recommended Why Beach (hotel and italian restaurant 5 mins away) was rather obnoxious and unhelpful. We walked there for a 2:30pm lunch and were greeted by two locked roller doors and told that the restaurant was "fully booked".

Overall, we had a fantastic experience and definitely plan on returning with some friends to share this perfect beach escape!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Beach
Liked least: Noise from the road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bedrooms and bathrooms
Liked least: the nightwatch
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing