We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence without the trimmings”
Review of Abaci Konak Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abaci Konak Otel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Eskisehir
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Opulence without the trimmings”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A very nice hotel, which is situated at the end of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk Mah. from the train station, and longer then the half a km suggested by Google(!), so better to jump in a cab for under 10TL. It's well situated very near to the main attractions (which are limited in this city) of the museums etc. In fact, it is right opposite the glassblowing museum (not bad for only 2TL).

The room was very nice, though not quite as big/grand as I would have expected for over 200TL. No complaints though, even if having one tv channel in English was a bit limited. Good mini-bar but poor range of menu for room service. On that note, most things take time at this hotel and the staff seem to run around like headless chickens half the time. When ordering drinks with food, make sure you let them know that they can bring it 'simde' (i.e. now). They struggle with English, which while acceptable, is somewhat below par for an international boutique hotel. The food was good, but nothing to write home about. An expensive wine list, as you would expect. Breakfast fine also, the ambience of the room making it more pleasant than anything else.

All in all, probably the best place in Eski should you have reason to visit it - which apart from work/study or partying, I can't really see why. BTW, there is no Japanese Park in Sazova Park (as according to the Lonely Planet) and it is more of a place for kids. We learnt the hard way.

Safe travels

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackthelad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're sorry about your failed expectations. Your opinions and suggestions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    64
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
46
39
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
561 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it.
The room was faboulous - more like a suite.
Big flatscreen in the living room smaller one in the bedroom.
Fruitbasket on arrival.
Location OK - tramcar nearby and taxi's across the road.
15 mins about to walk down to the lively area near the canal (town center).
Restaurant OK - good menu - pricewise Ok for this hotel standard -
but same food cheaper downtown Eskisehir, where you find heaps of decent restaurants.
All in all : very good - minus WiFi signal far too weak where we stayed (room 603).

Easy (5 mins walk) to get on the tramcar (1,90 TL/one way) which goes to the Otogar (which is next to the Kent Park with it's lake and "beach" and swimming pool). It also goes in the opposite way to the Hava Muzesi (Airplane Museum). The SAZOVA is also a must, by bus or taxi !

Room Tip: 603 was upstairs in a separate ottoman house - no window vies - small windows but the room-s were ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're so glad you wrote feedback about our hotel. Your opinions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Abacı Konak Hotel is a very nice boutique hotel. It is located in the historic city center not far from the new city center. The rooms are decorated in its traditional way. We have stayed in Shehzade Suit. Very large living area and two nice size bedrooms. The bathroom was spacious and very nicely decorated as well. The breakfast was open buffet and very rich. All the food was chosen specially and the best quality. I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Eskisehir with family and visit the town.

Room Tip: Shehzade suit was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're so glad you wrote feedback about our hotel. Your opinions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I could not find a listing for their restaurant, so I will review it here. I was absolutely blown away
by the wonderful food that we ate here. We were taken here with the company that I am working with and it was so great, from presentation, service, and quality of food.
We had wonderful servers who went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our service, down to the wonderful food we ate! I would say, for Turkish cuisine this was a fine place to go. I hope you get to enjoy it too. This is the original Eskisehir, enjoy it as they have done an amazing job at restoration and beautification.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're so glad you wrote feedback about our hotel and restaurant that is our meals, traditional foods. Your opinions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for only one night but it was fantastic. I would like to extend my trip to stay longer! The suite was gorgeous, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The manager greeted us personally and checked in with us twice as to whether we were satisfied. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were delicious. An extremely enjoyable stay that I would recc to everyone. I wish there was a sixth star on the rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIlma749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're so glad you wrote feedback about our hotel. Your opinions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've stayed one night in a suite (two large bedrooms with a few stairs and a small living room) in this hotel. Because of the wooden floor, walking in the room might be a bit squeaky. There was only a portable air-conditioner which was working noisy and extremely cold despite minimum setting. If your room is on upper floors, beware of narrow, rotating and steep stairs.
The breakfast which was included in room price is not buffet meal, a waitress serves you with a standard breakfast dish and asks your choice of omelette.
Parking might be difficult in the narrow streets, but the doorman of the hotel helps you.
The hotel located a bit far from the city center but within walking distance to the nearest tram station.
The hotel seems to be understaffed. Our minor request (a hand-towel) was not to be met.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry for failed expectations.We will be careful that you explained situations. Your opinions and suggestions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The suite was spacious, very comfortable and beautifully furnished, the bathroom modern and everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is set in a series of restored Ottoman mansions clustered together and though next to a busy road the district is delightful to wonder through and the hotel itself is quiet because all windows are doubleglazed. Breakfast was included and offered plenty of variety. We had dinner in the hotel, the meal was good but the room service dessert afterwards was disappointing and neither choice turned out to be as good as they sounded on the menu. That minor disappointment aside, I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff were welcoming and gracious, and full of smiles. Excellent value for money and I recommend it to anyone visiting Eskisehir.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kren2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacı Konak O, Satış Müdürü at Abaci Konak Otel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, We're so glad you wrote feedback about our hotel. Your opinions are very important for us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskisehir hotels
0.8 mi away
Senna City Hotel
Senna City Hotel
#1 of 38 in Eskisehir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tasigo Hotels Eskisehir Bademlik Termal
1.9 mi away
Divan Express Eskisehir
Divan Express Eskisehir
#3 of 38 in Eskisehir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ada Life Hotel
Ada Life Hotel
#13 of 38 in Eskisehir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Merlot Hotel Eskisehir
The Merlot Hotel Eskisehir
#7 of 38 in Eskisehir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porsuk Hotel
Porsuk Hotel
#12 of 38 in Eskisehir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaci Konak Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaci Konak Otel

Property: Abaci Konak Otel
Address: Akarbasi Mah. Turkmen Hoca Sok. No:29 | Akarbasi, Odunpazari, Eskisehir 26020, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Eskisehir Province > Eskisehir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Eskisehir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abaci Konak Otel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Abaci Konak Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing