We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay 3rd/4th july”
Review of Mosscrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosscrag B&B
Ranked #4 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

just returned from our 2 night stay in moss crag earlier this week in room 4 overlooking the river
keys were left on the doorstep and we let ourselves in as prearranged
mark greeted us the next morning and asked if every thing was okay
the room was excellent,very clean and comftable .cooked breakfast was spot on and nothing was too much trouble if you needed any advice, free parking which was also a bonus
our room had tea coffeee which was replenished each morning
there is a lounge with a bar and the whole property was spotless
mark is very easy to talk to and makes you feel at ease at once, our dog was also made welcome
i would not hesitate to recommend this guest house and look forward to staying again
a quality and well priced b&b in this area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonybev18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Mosscrag B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just back from a lovely wedding stay in Glenridding! Ideally situated for weddings at 'Inn on the Lake' Hotel, the B&B was preferable over the Hotel for 'financial' reasons. Warmly welcomed by the very accommodating owner, we were shown to our fabulous four poster room overlooking the stream and fells! Our friends staying at the Hotel were somewhat envious of our find! In the mornings, a great, varied breakfast menu was perfectly prepared and served, even catering for my picky husband. Will visit again soon!

Room Tip: About 100 meters from Inn on the Lake for weddings! Ask for room 4 if available!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed one night at Mosscrag guest house whilst attending a friends wedding across the road. The owner Mark couldn't have been more helpful with anything we needed. The accomodation is a clean, welcoming and cosy, traditional Cumbrian guest house set in an excellent location. It offers a much better value option to wedding guests than its very pricey neighbours. Would reccommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpow7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

As with most of the other reviewers we stayed here to attend a wedding that was being held in the area. The host was friendly but the accommodation was really not up to standard. The whole place is in bad need of a renovation. Our room was extremely small (no room for large luggage) and so so clean. The area to make tea etc had a turned down glass clearly for our use but was quite noticable dirty. The shower had black mold in some areas but especially on the shower head. Cooked breakfast menu was lacking in options, full fry up, small fry up and fry up with veggie sausage. It also would have been nice to have had more than two choices of jam to put on our toast. They could certainly try a little harder to make this a quality B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Hello 2010 Travelgirl

Thank you for taking the time to critque Mosscrag Guest House.We pride ourselves as being a traditional Cumbrian Guest House,responding and working constantly to respond to Guest requirements by a rolling program of renovation,for example with decoration, new furnishings along with beds and bedding.

It appears from you reveiw that you had some concerns with a couple of cleaning errors to which have now been addressed, for this we regret we did not have the oppertunity to rectify this with you personally.As you will have obseved from other reveiws we have had many positive comments for our cleanliness, as this is very important to us As for the size and space of the rooms we constrained by the construction the house which was constructed initially as a private dwelling in 1914,not as guest accommodation.

We were also surprised at your further disatisfaction with our Breakfast Menu offered.All our menu items are freshly cooked to order,usually grilled unless the order includes a fried egg or fried bread.We also offer fresh fruit,yoghurts,a varriety of fruit juices and a range of cereals together with a number of combinations of cooked breakfast from local produce.

Finally,feedback is very important to us from all our guests and we thank you for your comments to which we take seriously .

Regards

Mark Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were in the area helping friends to arrange their wedding in a nearby village when we were let down by the local Travelodge at the last minute. As my husband and I married and have stayed in Glenridding previously i was aware of Mosscrag and conatacted them on the off chance of having some availability that evening which by chance had 1 room available.
We had the room on the top floor and found it to be charming, well decorated and excellent value for money.
We found Mark to be a very welcoming and friendly host and we enjoyed our evening stay at Mosscrag so much we ended up staying a further 2 evenings.
We would highly reccommend Mosscrag to anyone and intend on spedning a few long, lazy weekenda there again in 2012

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here on a Saturday night whilst attending at wedding at a venue across the road. The staff, the two owners were very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere on walking in from the cold air was cozy and relaxed. The setting was stunning, the views breathtaking. The breakfast was also lovely. The reason we have only rated this average is that we felt although the room had a rustic cottage feel and charm in some aspects which we like, at the same time the bathroom was in desperate need of updating. Although it looked clean, the oldness of it made it look worse for wear. The room was also freezing. I was cold in the night and whilst getting ready in the morning, the radiator was not on and it was well under freezing outside. Other than this, a really enjoyable stay and we would return if only for the lovely hosts and amazing location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraelizabeth1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Mosscrag.

We booked Room 4, the 4-poster room. It was a lovely room at the front of the house, with views of Ullswater and the surrounding fells. There was a large shower room with a bidet too!

The house was extremely clean and Mark and April made us feel very welcome. There is a cosy residents' bar/lounge for a pre-dinner drink with plenty of books to read. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and we also had enjoyable packed lunches.

Mosscrag is only a few seconds' walk from the centre of Glenridding and its hotels, bars, cafes, shops and bus stops. We were able to set off walking straight from the front door.

Room Tip: Try Room 4
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#5 of 6 in Glenridding
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosscrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosscrag B&B

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Hotel Class:3 star — Mosscrag B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mosscrag B&B Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing