We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosscrag Guest House - Glenridding, Ullswater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosscrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosscrag B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mosscrag Guest House - Glenridding, Ullswater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a 5 day stay, which included a wedding at the "Inn on the Lake" which is @150 meters away.
Hosts Mark & Avril are excellent hosts, friendly and full of information on what to do around the area, especially advice on the local walks.
The B&B is in an excellent location and is a good base for general walking, walking up Helvelyn or just attending a wedding at the "Inn on the Lake" (and cheaper than the "Inn on the Lake"). Room was fine, clean and adequate. Room no. 4 has a 4 poster bed and a river view, along with big bathroom, definitely ask for it.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and definitely try the cumberland sausage and bacon, sourced from a local buther, excellent products.
Car parking is available across the road.
Would recommend this place definitely.
Rooms from @ £37.00 - £47.00 per person per night in summer season.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four poster bed, large bathroom and river view, a bit more, but worth it. Try bacon &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

just returned from our 2 night stay in moss crag earlier this week in room 4 overlooking the river
keys were left on the doorstep and we let ourselves in as prearranged
mark greeted us the next morning and asked if every thing was okay
the room was excellent,very clean and comftable .cooked breakfast was spot on and nothing was too much trouble if you needed any advice, free parking which was also a bonus
our room had tea coffeee which was replenished each morning
there is a lounge with a bar and the whole property was spotless
mark is very easy to talk to and makes you feel at ease at once, our dog was also made welcome
i would not hesitate to recommend this guest house and look forward to staying again
a quality and well priced b&b in this area

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybev18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just back from a lovely wedding stay in Glenridding! Ideally situated for weddings at 'Inn on the Lake' Hotel, the B&B was preferable over the Hotel for 'financial' reasons. Warmly welcomed by the very accommodating owner, we were shown to our fabulous four poster room overlooking the stream and fells! Our friends staying at the Hotel were somewhat envious of our find! In the mornings, a great, varied breakfast menu was perfectly prepared and served, even catering for my picky husband. Will visit again soon!

Room Tip: About 100 meters from Inn on the Lake for weddings! Ask for room 4 if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed one night at Mosscrag guest house whilst attending a friends wedding across the road. The owner Mark couldn't have been more helpful with anything we needed. The accomodation is a clean, welcoming and cosy, traditional Cumbrian guest house set in an excellent location. It offers a much better value option to wedding guests than its very pricey neighbours. Would reccommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpow7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

As with most of the other reviewers we stayed here to attend a wedding that was being held in the area. The host was friendly but the accommodation was really not up to standard. The whole place is in bad need of a renovation. Our room was extremely small (no room for large luggage) and so so clean. The area to make tea etc had a turned down glass clearly for our use but was quite noticable dirty. The shower had black mold in some areas but especially on the shower head. Cooked breakfast menu was lacking in options, full fry up, small fry up and fry up with veggie sausage. It also would have been nice to have had more than two choices of jam to put on our toast. They could certainly try a little harder to make this a quality B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hello 2010 Travelgirl

Thank you for taking the time to critque Mosscrag Guest House.We pride ourselves as being a traditional Cumbrian Guest House,responding and working constantly to respond to Guest requirements by a rolling program of renovation,for example with decoration, new furnishings along with beds and bedding.

It appears from you reveiw that you had some concerns with a couple of cleaning errors to which have now been addressed, for this we regret we did not have the oppertunity to rectify this with you personally.As you will have obseved from other reveiws we have had many positive comments for our cleanliness, as this is very important to us As for the size and space of the rooms we constrained by the construction the house which was constructed initially as a private dwelling in 1914,not as guest accommodation.

We were also surprised at your further disatisfaction with our Breakfast Menu offered.All our menu items are freshly cooked to order,usually grilled unless the order includes a fried egg or fried bread.We also offer fresh fruit,yoghurts,a varriety of fruit juices and a range of cereals together with a number of combinations of cooked breakfast from local produce.

Finally,feedback is very important to us from all our guests and we thank you for your comments to which we take seriously .

Regards

Mark Hook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were in the area helping friends to arrange their wedding in a nearby village when we were let down by the local Travelodge at the last minute. As my husband and I married and have stayed in Glenridding previously i was aware of Mosscrag and conatacted them on the off chance of having some availability that evening which by chance had 1 room available.
We had the room on the top floor and found it to be charming, well decorated and excellent value for money.
We found Mark to be a very welcoming and friendly host and we enjoyed our evening stay at Mosscrag so much we ended up staying a further 2 evenings.
We would highly reccommend Mosscrag to anyone and intend on spedning a few long, lazy weekenda there again in 2012

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here on a Saturday night whilst attending at wedding at a venue across the road. The staff, the two owners were very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere on walking in from the cold air was cozy and relaxed. The setting was stunning, the views breathtaking. The breakfast was also lovely. The reason we have only rated this average is that we felt although the room had a rustic cottage feel and charm in some aspects which we like, at the same time the bathroom was in desperate need of updating. Although it looked clean, the oldness of it made it look worse for wear. The room was also freezing. I was cold in the night and whilst getting ready in the morning, the radiator was not on and it was well under freezing outside. Other than this, a really enjoyable stay and we would return if only for the lovely hosts and amazing location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraelizabeth1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fairlight Guest House
Fairlight Guest House
#6 of 6 in Glenridding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#4 of 6 in Glenridding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosscrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosscrag B&B

Property: Mosscrag B&B
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Hotel Class:3 star — Mosscrag B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mosscrag B&B Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing