We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly & wouldn't look for anywhere else.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosscrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosscrag B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly & wouldn't look for anywhere else.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Perfectly located in the village, between the lake and the hills.
Stayed here for 1 night and have no complaints at all. The owners are extremely friendly from the moment you arrive.
The room was small & cosy, ad the bed was EXTREMELY comfy!!
The ensuite was clean and had a nice warm shower.
Breakfast was perfect, with plenty to choose from with that personal touch.
Towels were provided which was an added bonus (so I know I won't have to pack one for my next stay). Yes I would definitely stay again, comfy bed and fab breakfast ... It's what you want from a B&B!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

There are two things that will make us stay away from this place... and for you to be aware of:

1. WiFi - If you choose any rooms on the second floor you will not have any internet connection. The signal from basic BT broadband router is just not strong enough to reach through two floors. Mark hesitantly agreed for us to move down to the first floor although (surprisingly?), there were no rooms rented to anyone at the time. We had to stay in the room not of our original choice in order to be able to reach outside world (there is no mobile phone reception there).
2. Heating - It was turned off at 7 o'clock in the evening on the first day. Mark wasn't home till the next day. We found it unacceptable. This was middle of December! When asked about it the next day, Mark denied it has been switched off so early... then bluntly told us that there will be no central heating from 10 o'clock in the evening until 7-8 o'clock in the morning the next day. He said it costs too much...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomfordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hello Romford Couple

Thank you for taking time to reveiw your recent stay with us at Mosscrag Guest House
.
I was very sorry to hear about your disatisfaction regarding the provision of WiFi and the heating.

I would like to take this oppertunity to respond to comments made by yourself.

Firstly the WiFi and Mobile Phone coverage.The only mobile service provider in the Ullswater Area is Vodaphone.No other service providers are currently available at this time.We are pleased to be able to provide free WiFi to all our Guests.It was clearly explained to you at the time that the signal is variable as across the whole of Glenridding,so therefore in some parts of the building reception can be weak or lost.This is out of our control eventhough we have just purchased a stronger router in attempting to address this issue.

Secondly the heating situation,As I attempted to explain I had just from a business meeting and found the timer had turned itself off.This was soon rectified.
I must say at this point I do not recall statements and discussion on heating timers and costs.
We always attempt to put our guests comfort first and formost responding as soon as possible to any concerns brought to our attention.

I can only apologise for your obvious concerns raised and apparent disatisfaction with your time spent at Mosscrag Guest House resulting in the fact we did not meet your expectations.

Finally,I do hope that when you visit the Ullswater Area again in the future that you may choose to stay with us again

Regards

Mark Hook

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were attending a wedding at the inn on the lake, which was literally over the road, so very convenient, as soon as we walked in it felt warm and homely! The welcome was inviting and we was given a room with a four poster bed which looked over the stream... It was cosy with good size bathroom...the bed was so comfy and the linen extremely soft.
True to the reviews the breakfast and service was fab!
I have never been to the lakes but the place is so beautiful, me and my partner will certainly be returning at some point and was happy to hear that dogs are also welcomed!
Our room I felt was great value! Maybe some of the smaller rooms might be on the pricier side! But that would be my only critism!
Thanks mark and April!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleethorpes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hello Oliver

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Mosscrag Guest House.We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you will choose to stay at Mosscrag when you next choose to vist the Ullswater area

Regards

Mark and April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Mosscrag for 2 nights and had a mixed experience. Our room (no 8 on the top floor) is at the front of the house and therefore enjoys the views but the window is small and, once the room warms up (it's pretty damp) is permanently misted. The room itself was small and is made smaller by the sloping ceiling under the roof, which you bang your head on every time you get out of bed, while the "ensuite" consists of a small separate room with a shower and toilet, and a pervasive smell of damp. There is a wash basin in the main bedroom next to the TV. The shower itself is fairly weak, though plenty warm enough, but the shower cubicle is falling apart, with some of the door seal trim making a bid to join you in the shower. The carpet in the room is dirty and stained in places. All of this is £42.50 per person per night, so £170 in total for a couple for 2 nights - very expensive for what it is.
A redeeming feature is the breakfast - the cooked option is delicious, the coffee is good and there's plenty of it all. The hosts are friendly enough and not in the least intrusive.
So all in all an average experience - I wouldn't avoid the place but there is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinphilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Owner at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hello Mr Phipott

Thank you very much for taking time to reveiew your recent stay at Mosscrag Guest House.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and breakfasts during your recent stay with us. I'm concerned, however that you found the carpets to be dirty and stained?
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and have many previous comments about our high standards. We always vacumn thoroughly, identifying any stains and removing them as soon as possible. All the flooring and carpets in Mosscrag have been replaced in recent years and I am unable to identify any stains on inspection today.
Thank you for bringing the fault with the shower to our attention, we will be addressing this as soon as possible.
Your feedback helps us to maintain and improve quality where necessary.


Regards

Mark and April

Proprietors.Mosscrag Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Friendly service in a well located B&B. I just wonder whether it was good value for a room with a shared bathroom on the floor below, when we've just paid £100 for a fantastic luxury room with a bath in the room in a country inn in the east lakes? A nice view of the fells from the room and a very comfortable bed though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Ferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We booked here kast year and drcided we would return this year again after out kast experience was so good. Again we have had a great experience, they cant do enough to make your stay great, friendly staff, great breakfast and clean nice rooms.... the only place id stay in such a lovely little village.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked the accommodation at the last minute because beautiful weather was forecast. Luckily they had just received a cancellation as all six rooms had been fully booked. We had a super stay in glorious weather.
Mosscrag is in an excellent location in the heart of Glenridding, a very short walk to restaurants, bar, village shops, excellent information centre, great sailing facilities, the Ullswater Steamers and a great range of fantastic walks for all abilities (books and leaflets available at information centre).
We received a warm welcome from April who showed us where to park with
the free parking permit.
Our rooms were small but clean, comfortable, well maintained and decorated. Being an old Lakeland stone cottage, sound-proofing was excellent and we had peaceful nights' sleep.
Breakfasts were very good - a substantial full English with plenty of choice,
including vegetarian option. We could help ourselves to a good range of
cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, fresh fruit, tea and cafetiere coffee (with
additional teapots/cafetieres offered).
The atmosphere was relaxed. We could go into the rooms at any time. Mark
was helpful and informative.
A great stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosscrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosscrag B&B

Property: Mosscrag B&B
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Hotel Class:3 star — Mosscrag B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mosscrag B&B Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing