We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location to stay for sailing centre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosscrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosscrag B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location to stay for sailing centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night after spending a day at the sailing centre. As Mosscrag is only a couple of minutes walk away it was ideally located after a long day.
From outside Mosscrag looks very nice and welcoming. Unfortunately inside it looks quite dated.
Our bedroom was not en-suite which was okay for just one night and the bathroom was close by and I believe was only shared with one other room.
The bedroom was fine but quite dated. I hadn't been given the Wi-fi code on arrival and it wasn't displayed in the room so I had to wait till the morning at breakfast. It looked like a few of the other guests hadn't received the code either.
Breakfast was unfortunately not as good as we had eaten recently. It had the standard choices but wasn't as appetising.
Mark was pleasant in the morning with the different guests and happy to help.
Our friends stayed at another bed and breakfast which also wasn't fantastic. Having met the owner of the other accommodation I would say Mark is more pleasant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jazz2917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our room was lovely, clean and cozy. The service was excellent and the breakfast was great, good food and plenty of it. The B&B is in a fantastic location for exploring Ullswater and just a short walk across the road to The Inn on the Lake.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed recently as an escape from the rain with my dog, Charlie.

Mark and April were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was great. Dogs aren't allowed in the dining room, in no small part because April's sausages are to die for and it's quite easy to envisage a K9 suicide mission with that kind of temptation.

Drying facilities were great and did the job.

Room was tidy, neat and functional and local amenities were all there, whether it's a sandwich on Striding Edge or a Lamb Shank at the Ramblers Bar.

If you like Real Ale, your in for a treat. There's a well stocked bar in a relaxing guests area.

So if you want a relaxing break for two or mountain adventure with a clean, friendly and very civilised base, this is the place for you.

And Glenridding speaks for itself.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Butty0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Manager at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at Mosscrag Guest House as well as your time in Glenridding.We do value and appreciate all comments from our guests so as we can continue offer a quality service in the future.

We do hope that you will choose to book and stay with us again when next in the Ullswater area.

Regards for now.

Mark and April Hook

Proprietors .

Mosscrag Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An annual springtime gathering of friends up to the standard we have come to expect. Mark & April (and Lucy) run the best B&B in the Lakes. Great value for money and one of the best breakfasts in the world. Ideally located for fell walking and sailing and Mark has a pretty much unequalled knowledge of the area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenWTelfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosscrag, Manager at Mosscrag B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Ken

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Mosscrag Guest House.We were so pleased to hear that you and the rest of the group enjoyed your time here with us yet again.We do hope that we will see you all next year for a similar enjoyable experience .

Thank you once again for taking time to review you time at Mosscrag Guest House.

Regards for now.

Mark ,April and Lucy

Mosscrag Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Mosscrag guest house as we were guests at a wedding at the near by Inn on the lake. The Mosscrag was in a perfect location for this, just a short walk down the stream and across the road.

It was also just a short walk from the Ullswater steamers, which was an excellent trip out on the lake, enjoying spectacular views of the surrounding area.

We booked the four poster bed room which had lovely views of the stream and mountains with a glimpse of the lake. The room was small, but did have a comfortable bed and large bathroom.

Breakfast was included in the price, although only served between 8am and 9am so from our three nights we only made it down once. Typical full English, greasy spoon type affair which was adequate.

Free wifi was also included, although we weren't given information about this, however to be fair we didn't ask, although apart from on check in and one breakfast we didn't have the chance too as we didn't see the owners!

Overall I would recommend Mosscrag to friends and family if visiting Ullswater.

Room Tip: For the small additional cost, book the four poster bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BmthDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've only stayed at Mosscrag the once while trying to sort my wedding plans at Inn on the Lake just over the road last year (2013). On arrival you will find a most picture perfect lakeland B&B where you'll hopefully be greeted by Mark and his wife whom are very friendly and full of local knowledge. At the time of my wedding, I was so impressed I made sure my guests who could not afford Inn on the Lake use this place as I couldn't fault it. I've never had the pleasure of experiencing the home cooked meals here but my friends assured me they were delicious! I'll be coming back this year for a weekend break and my wife and I can't wait!!

P.S - I've read the comment about Wifi here.... Maybe it's true, but the whole point for going to the lakes for me is to get away from all the modern gadgets and relax. It wouldn't really bother me but if you do require the use of a computer on urgent business, there is an internet cafe around the corner!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very well located in Glenridding, great if you are going walking or on the lake. Very close to the INN ON THE LAKE for if you are attending a wedding. Very friendly owners, very comfortable room, nice breakfast and evening meal. As we have family working locally we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front bedroom, on the first floor. Comfy four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fairlight Guest House
Fairlight Guest House
#6 of 6 in Glenridding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#3 of 6 in Glenridding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosscrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosscrag B&B

Property: Mosscrag B&B
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Hotel Class:3 star — Mosscrag B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mosscrag B&B Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing