We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic bunkhouse, everything you need in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting 1000 feet above sea level surrounded on all sides by mountains and waterfalls.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting 1000 feet above sea level surrounded on all sides by mountains and waterfalls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Sitting 1000 feet above sea level surrounded on all sides by mountains and waterfalls.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewsha...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic bunkhouse, everything you need in a great location!”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Amy was a fantastic host - gave us all the info we needed before we arrived
the bunkhouse is really well equipped for large groups of outdoor enthusiasts - everything we needed was there!
Will be back and would recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
1 review
“The Base is Great!”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The Base was great! Amazing location, fantastic scenery. Everyone enjoyed the weekend and did not want to leave! Accommodation basic, clean, tidy and warm. Kitchen well equipped for cooking for a big group. Amy was very helpful during booking, good communication. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Thanks Paul. You are all very welcome to come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janaissa...
Budapest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic bunkhouse but has a great location (with amazing views) and is perfect for large groups!”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at thebase with a group of friends for one night in September. We were very lucky with the weather over the weekend and took a long walk from thebase to Glenriddig town. The scenery is absolutely fantastic and thebase’s unique location allows you to look out over the mountains with a great view of the lake below. Thebase is approximately a 20 minute drive from Penrith station (we got a direct train from London) and has plenty of car parking available if you were to drive. I thought thebase was a great location for hiking but also not too far from Glenriddig town to get a hot or alcoholic drink after a nice long walk! The bunkhouse is exactly what you need for a large group of people and although décor is basic and the bunkhouse is very much 'no-frills', the kitchen and bathroom facilities were great and everything worked well for us during our stay. It was great to see that the proceeds from the hire go directly to the Chance4Change charity and thebase is used in the summer for their Rights of Passage programme. We would definitely recommend thebase to anyone needing a place to stay for a large group – we would definitely stay again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thanks Janaissa, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your trip! And yes the income we raise through your visits helps us raise the funds we need for our youth programmes- so thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karan K
1 review
“Perfect for no-frills, back to basic accommodation for trekking - AND helps out a charity!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location of thebase is perfect - it is the last stop on to the Helvellyn Mountain! So ideal for trekkers. The location is also a short walk down to Lake Ulswater Lake for anyone who wants to try their hand at sailing etc.
The bunkhouse is perfect for large groups of people who want to save cash! Its essentially a step-up from camping with a kitchen to make proper meals and a bed!!.
The rooms are basic bunkbeds with lockable cupboards. Kitchen, toilets and showers were all very clean. Has a feel of old school trips.
Really good to catch-up and bond with large groups - but obviously not ideal for everyone if you're expecting high-end accommodation - its very much like hostels.

Also great to be helping out with the charity that owns the bunkhouse! great to be able to pay for an accommodation that I know puts the money back into helping others!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you Karan for your review- paints a very good picture!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing