We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant cruise”
Review of Ullswater Steamers

Ullswater Steamers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.31*
and up
Ullswater Lake Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lake runs a serpentine course in three reaches with Helvellyn crowning the plateau at the head of the lake; at 3117 ft it is England’s third highest mountain. Ullswater ‘Steamers’ create the perfect opportunity to combine a cruise with some of the most famous and spectacular walks in the Lake District. With miles of bridleways linked by ‘Steamer’ routes there are so many opportunities for exploring the area. Free commentary app download for apple and android users.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
426 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“pleasant cruise”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We took the boat half way up the lake from Glenridding to Howtown, so we could walk back along the shores. The old boats have lots of character, the views are great, and if you opt for the walk back, that's scenic also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    271
    54
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great trip and dogs are welcome!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a fun trip to do in good weather. The scenery is terrific and dogs are welcome. You can get off and get picked up on its next pass by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PacificSandsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Didn't sail”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were looking forward to a lovely sail on Ullswater. We arrived at Pooley Bridge to find that the parking was an awful long way away from the pier. We are not hikers and too much walking is a problem. We thought we'd try getting on at Glenridding instead. Had a lovely sunny drive to it and found ample parking. The problem was the car park is pay and display and it costs £5 to park 2 hours. We feel that after paying £13.50 each to sail the parking should be free. We decided not to sail. The ship looks really quaint and maybe we were cutting off our noses a bit but it's the principle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your visit to Ullswater and the 'Steamers'.

It is unfortunate that you decided not to sail as i am sure that you would have felt it to be great
value, and you also missed out on a 50% discount voucher for The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway which is also part of our company.

For the benefit of other users of this site I must correct the car parking charges which you mentioned.

They are in fact as follows : - 3hrs =£3, 5hrs = £5 and 12hrs = £7

Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy Valley
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Summer cruising”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We took our cruise on a beautiful summer day. It would have been too hot for walking, or even sun bathing, but on the water with a light breeze this trip was perfect. These graceful old ladies of the lake are very comfortable and even have on board refreshments. The crew were all very friendly and helpful.

We cruised from Pooley Bridge and got off at Glenridding where we enjoyed a leisurely lunch before returning 2 hours later. For the more active there are plenty of walks to be had between boats and they are hoping to open a new jetty at Aira Force in late 2014.

To cruise the length of the lake takes an hour, so £13.50 for an all day hop on, hop off ticket is good value, particularly as you get a voucher for 50% off the Ravenglass and Eskdale railway which is valid for 12 months.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ifangoch a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A very enjoyable day spent on the steamers. We're not hikers like so many of the people who were on the boats the day we visited but we had a lovely time. £13.40 for an all day ticket to hop on and off as and when you want. We sailed down from Pooley Bridge to Glenridding which took just over an hour, had a wander around the little village, had lunch and then caught a steamer back. Lovely scenery and totally relaxing. Glad we did it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ullswater Steamers also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Ullswater Steamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing