We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and chip supper cruise.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullswater Steamers

Ullswater Steamers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.12*
and up
Ullswater Lake Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lake runs a serpentine course in three reaches with Helvellyn crowning the plateau at the head of the lake; at 3117 ft it is England’s third highest mountain. Ullswater ‘Steamers’ create the perfect opportunity to combine a cruise with some of the most famous and spectacular walks in the Lake District. With miles of bridleways linked by ‘Steamer’ routes there are so many opportunities for exploring the area. Free commentary app download for apple and android users.
Aspatria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish and chip supper cruise.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This wasn't what we were expecting. When we booked this cruise, we had images of sitting in a window seat, eating fish and chips while a musician crooned the hits from yesteryear in the corner of the cabin. What we got (even though we got there early) were seats in steerage (we opted to sit outside), a takeaway meal of fish and chips (which was tasty enough) and a rock concert of sorts going on in the main cabin. This was all about expectations. If we had gone along knowing this, things might have been different. This cruise is all about getting drunk and singing along full blast to a very talented musician, it must be said, who knows how to play just about anything on a ukulele (George Formby, Kenny Rogers, AC/DC and Bon Jovi to name but a few). If that is what you are looking for, then this cruise is great. If you fancy a gentle evening of good old fashioned food, eaten while beautiful scenery passes by your window and a musician sitting, gently plucking at his guitar strings, then think again. You'll need to the special, fully extended version of Hey Jude with all the na-na-na-nas to enjoy this trip. Not for us but again, it's al about preference and expectations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gdh200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    256
    46
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My favourite lake district boat trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had friends up for the weekend and took them on the Ullswater steamer round trip. The weather was not the best (tried to rain as we went towards Pooley Bridge) but the mountains looked impressive as usual. Normally when we do this trip we break the journey for lunch at Pooley Bridge but didn't this time. Service by the staff was excellent - as we arrived at the ticket machine to get the car park ticket the girl came out shouting "Any more for the 1030". We asked her to hold the boat whilst I put the car park ticket on which they did. Refreshments both on the boat and at the piers is basic but that's Ok if you go into the town. Be aware this is a joint venture with Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway and you get a half price voucher (valid for 12 months) for the other trip so choose which you want to do first.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharpedgecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Teamed up with Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only came here to take advantage of the half price offer from the rail trip and so glad we did, it's a wonderful place to visit in it's own right and you can drop off and on at your leisure if you get the full return ticket. Ideal if you also enjoy walking ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pleasant trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We unfortunately chose a day when it had been rather wet. All seating was very wet, nothing to wipe it with - sat on coat. A more detailed audio description would of been nice - you could download one if you have suitable phone. Quite pricy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zouch
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tesco vouchers worked here ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Had tesco vouchers do purchased two children three adults handed over 50£ in vouchers and accepted
Great day out from glen ridding to pokey bridge and back including stopping at howtown
Lots of boats to pick from on timetable at pokey you can have your own picnic in the landings great views from here
Parking is pricey though at glenridding

Helpful?
Thank branstonthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ullswater Steamers also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Ullswater Steamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing