We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Cherry Holme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Holme
Ranked #5 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely place, location was great, very peaceful with a nice view of Ullswater from the room.
The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very comfortable and it felt very homely as compared with a large hotel.
The breakfast was great ! we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, lovely owners and a fantastic stay. Would highly recommend Cherry Holme for location, comfort and the brilliant breakfast. We only stayed for 2 nights but it was so peaceful and restful. Nice view of Ullswater and close to the Fellbites restaurant which was also really good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

2 night stay at Cherry Holme with my girlfriend (we were 23 years of age at the time of stay). Thoroughly enjoyable stay here - initial opinions can be distorted by the tightly located building, but upon meeting the highly friendly owners and getting settled into your room, you soon realise that your stay will be a great one. The room is very comfortable, with a traditional feel to it, whilst also having up-to-date, clean facilities. If there are any queries or issues, the owners cannot do enough to help and really go the extra mile to make your stay a great one. We stayed in a ground-floor room, which was great for views of the lake. English breakfast was spot on and worth the extra money on top of the room fare! At the time of our stay, they had had a water leak, but even this mishap did not disrupt our stay, and it was made sure that our stay was the same as if there was no issue at all. Perfect location for access to the few restaurants of Glenridding and for a good walk up Helvellyn. Would fully recommend on staying here and intend on returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bburn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved the location, nice and quiet. close to a couple of attractions, i.e. Aira Falls, Ullswater Ferry, and hill walking paths. A couple of nice restaurants nearby.
A short walk to the mini market
great walks along the lake and into the hills

Room Tip: Room 4 on the first floor and a slightly better view of the lake. Plenty of room in the bedroom, kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaggie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stooped at Cherry Holme for 1 evening on our way to Scotland and was our first visit to the lakes. The guest house was spotless, the rooms were beautiful & comfortable and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. The full English breakfast is highly recommended. If you are looking for a stay in Glenriding, then you can not go wrong here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely location overlooking the lake, only stayed one night but would have stayed more. Nice and friendly smashing breakfast. Was able to leave car as arrived early before room ready and was able to leave car next day so we could go for a walk before moving on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front with view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I would just like to say a big thank you to Michael and Kathy at Cherry Holme for a relaxed few days in Glenridding. The B&B was spotlessly clean, the bedrooms cosy (with huge king size bed!) and there was a hearty breakfast to look forward to each morning. I felt at home the minute I stepped through the door and Michael/Kathy were always on hand for advice about walking routes etc. Would give it 10/10 for comfort, cleanliness and friendliness. Thanks a million!

Steph

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairlight Guest House
Fairlight Guest House
#6 of 6 in Glenridding
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Holme

Address: The Square | Ullswater Lake, Glenridding CA11 0PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range: £118 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast The perfect choice for luxury accommodation on UllswaterEngland ’s most beautiful lake.Cherry Holme Bed & Breakfast is in the village of Glenridding, which lies at the southern tip of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District. Renowned for it's stunning scenery, it quite simply is the archetypical lakeland get away.Cherry Holme, named after the second largest island on the Lake, lies to the North of the village, just one minute from the Lake shore. Built on an elevated position, Cherry Holme offers it's guests magnificent views of Lake Ullswater and the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cherry Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Holme Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing