We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lots to like and enjoy about our stay at this hotel.Dog friendly room nice and fresh without pet odours,good location with the lake and steamers a short stroll away.Patio area looked inviting for a hot day and a good bar with large tv attached to the hotel.My only real gripe was the high price of food in the bar.Fish and chips at nearly £14.00 , 10 inch pizza and chips with salad £14.00 ! Mad prices for bar food and this needs to be looked at by management as it was a hot topic of conversation in the bar and no one likes to leave feeling ripped off.Inconsistent pricing by bar staff was also an issue with a different price charged for the same drink on every visit to the bar.Nice breakfast but a bit disappointed with the Hellvellyn challenge option which in reality was not a challenge at all and was a normal sized breakfast.All in all a nice hotel which i would consider visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnroyal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave me a free upgrade to a room with a gorgeous view, and at one point when I had problems entering the building at 1am, a staff member very helpfully woke up to let me back in -- amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived here after a long days walking. Nicely appointed rooms. Unprompted a Separate table for 11 people had already been set up in a lovely annex just of the main restaurant for our group. Good menu choice and lovely meals served.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I took my parents here for lunch after we got off the Ullswater Steamer. Initially I was a bit put off by the deco - all very dated and not particularly inviting but the food was great! Lamb shank especially! Delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrycja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a room at the back with a very fine view of the lake and Plaice Fell on the other side - well worth the supplement for a Lake View room. The bedroom was well equipped and the spacious bathroom was also well equipped, with soft towels.
Staff were helpful and we would have used the spa facility but it shut at 7.30, which was a little early for those getting back late from a walk and wanting to ease weary limbs before dinner.Like all other establishments in the village, it is convenient for the "Steamer" pier. We took the boat to Pooley Bridge, had lunch then walked back from Howtown - a superb walk.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Horrendous night at this hotel, very noisy, every creaking bed/floorboard or toilet flush is amplified into this room. Very hot and then when opening the window a car very ten minutes prevented us from sleeping; uncomfortable bed and pillows, can feel the springs in the mattress , pillow like a bag of cement. A vert asty experience when someone else's toilet flush ended up in our toilet. Tepid water at 9 am in the morning led to a poor shower experience.

Advised best western only to be told that no one else had ever complained about room 10 and that the hotel gets rave reviews on trip advisor. So I guess they think that we are lying or are seeking to gain something. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and have only ever been complimentary before, in fact I have 20 guests attending my wedding in Ulswater staying at this hotel at my suggestion. This hotel is a three star but it does not charge three star prices, In total with room breakfast and dinner charges we spent £200 here in one day and received very very poor value for money. This hotel is declining in its performance and living on past experiences to drum up repeat business. There are much better quality b&bs available in the immediate vicinity. Recommend give this hotel a miss and head to more customer focused establishments. Where they take feedback seriously rather than paying insincere lip service to the situation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethnadia, General Manager at Best Western Glenridding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Please excuse me but I'm somewhat confused by the numerous reviews you have been writing regarding your recent stay with us.

The morning of check out you listed a number of faults which If I may add were vague and unfounded after investigating them, at the end of your list you demanded a full refund so you were indeed trying to get something out of what you called an 'horrendous stay' . What I am confused about is if your stay was so horrendous, why did you not once contact reception and bring these issues to the attention of my management team? You checked in at 1pm therefore there was ample opportunity to express your dissatisfaction and give us the chance to rectify your issues but you never did. You never requested a fan for your unbearable hot room, you never told us your toilet wasn't clean, when In fact my duty manager actually checked your room before your arrival. You commented on the road being noisy from your room, after 8pm there is little to no traffic, we are a village in a rural setting . With reference to your tepid water if your water was tepid I could only assume you didn't turn the temperature adjuster to a higher setting as again no other guest commented on any issue with the water and I checked your room after departure and the water was indeed hot.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've stayed at quite a few Best Westerns and found them to be quite 'tired'. However, the Glenridding Hotel definitely does not fall into this category. The location is excellent, with an unobstructed view across the lake (if you get a room at the back of the hotel, which is available for a small upgrade). You can walk out of the back of the hotel and down to Ullswater Lake which is a nice post-meal stroll.

The room was large and spacious with a large bathroom. The rooms are well insulated from noise from adjoining rooms, so no listening to other people's snoring!

The hotel has a pub on the ground floor which serves excellent home-made pizzas, which I would definitely recommend as a meal choice. It also serves a selection of local real ales and the staff are polite and friendly. The bar also has a mix of tourists and locals. It has a large screen, which shows sporting events.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade and get a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoccaDiLupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glenridding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glenridding Hotel

Address: | Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £88 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glenridding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Glenridding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
Best Western Glenridding Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing