We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helvellyn Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helvellyn Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My fourth stay here, usually coupled to a good walk to the top of Helvellyn, but never the same way twice.
My wife and I both like this place, but over the four or so years we have been comming here it was starting to look a bit dated. The hotel has a separate A le Carte restaurant if you want to eat somewhere quiet and the food generally is very good standard. Also, there is a more public eating area attached to the hotel, serving a more varied menu, yes including burger and chips and opposte that, there is the butty and cake shop.
Again, there is the quiet lounge bar or you can watch live sport in the more public bar. I say more public because on match day it is always packed with locals, giving it a really good atmosphere.
There is a tiny lift that will get you between floors, although I am not too sure about wheelchair access and if you don't use the lift, it's all stairs and a lot of them.
The lounge area is a comfortable place, but as stated earlier a little dated.
The room was comfortable with all the usual accessories. Not over large, but big enough.
The car park can be a problem as it only takes maybe 12 cars comfortably. There is a large pay and display across the road, but after saying that I have always managed to find a spot.
The surrounding area is fantastic with lots of different walks or if you want it relaxing a sail down the lake. Unfortunately for us Helvellyn was in cloud when we got there so we didn't get the usual views across Cumbria. Never mind, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    121
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
64
232
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a superior room which was very overpriced. The bathroom was new but the room and furniture were very dated. Breakfast was lacklustre. Whole experience very disappointing. There is a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed this weekend from Friday until Sunday. Room 38. We had a party of up to 18 family for our Mums 60th and we were very well looked after all weekend. Staff all very helpful and polite. Food is excellent value for money and a good plateful. Rooms were spotless. The bar and beer garden has a brilliant atmosphere and great service. Free wifi available. Wish I could have stayed longer. On trip advisor people suggest higher ratings are sometimes due to people's low expectations. I have stopped in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and this hotel deserves to be rated highly. I personally can't comprehend the negative reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLWR216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights which just happened to be the hottest so far this year. Nice hotel very clean. Only couple of small negatives are no air conditioning which made sleeping a nightmare and a little bit dated could do with a referb. Having said that the staff were very friendly and polite, breakfast good and I would go back but feel it's a little on the expensive side for what it is.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Twinny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Although slightly "used" this hotel is exactly what you would expect in that location. Even a complete revamp would not remove its charm ! Even a small lift to the small well lit bedrooms with OK comfortable beds ,good but sometimes slow WiFi and modern bathrooms...ours also had a walk in shower. Pleasant staff and reception and not much to moan about or even praise as this is a normal 3 star hotel in every sense of the word. Parking convenient and nice pub food with excellent pizzas on the lower ground floor with garden . However avoid the dining room at all costs. The food was so awful that its difficult to describe how so. Breakfast was a miserable buffet but a nice a la carte short English breakfast menu which attempted to start the day off right. Coffee excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has everything, perfect location, clean, nice restaurant, great view. The down side is that nowhere in all the booking information was it stated that on checking in we had to pay a deposit on each of the rooms which was an extra £50 per room (£100 total) by card or £100 cash (£200) we had already pay the full fees the day we booked with a non cancellation option (£650) 2 rooms 3 people 3 nights, I asked the receptionist what would happen if we didn't have a card or a spare £200 cash and she couldn't give me an answer, I have posted this review so people are aware if they are book here to take a debit card or £100 cash per room, which is refundable when you leave

Room Tip: Take extra cash or debit cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethnadia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding the hotel and its facilities and also to apologise that you didn't receive our pre-authorisation policy that we send out to guests prior to your arrival.

Pre-authorisations of (ideally) credit card is a temporary holding of a specific amount. A pre-authorisation is not a charge and no funds have been debited from the account. If a guest doesn't hold a credit card we would ask for a deposit to be taken on a debit card, the reason we do not pre-authorise a debit card is this may inconvenience our guests as their banks may hold the funds for up to 21 days after we cancel the authorisation therefore, Glenridding Hotel have decided that we would ask the guest to make a payment and refund the amount on checkout either with cash or back onto the debit card that was presented on check in so that the guests funds are immediately available to them after they have checked out.

Pre-authorisations are a common practice within the hotel industry. Pre-authorisations allow the guests freedom to charge items to their room, to use the telephone in their room and also if they wish to check out early before reception opens.

If you wish to discuss our pre-authorisation policy further or would like a copy please do not hesitate to contact me at reception@glenriddinghotel.com.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
11.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing