We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage, lovely location. Didn't want to...”
other traveller has booked this property
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Living room with woodburner, leather sofas and great views Main bedroom with king sized bed and stunning views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Living room with woodburner, leather sofas and great views
Main bedroom with king sized bed and stunning views
The twin bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen with seperate utility room
Fell views from the front windows
The view from the front door
Cottage garden with views across Ullswater to Place Fell
Pets welcome!
Close to Ullswater - Englands most beautiful lake
Pretty much the closet cottage to Helvellyn in Glenridding
Helvellyn and Red Tarn in Winter - a must see!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJwoking
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, lovely location. Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked cottage number 1 back in January for an October break for four people and dogs. It was hard to find a cottage taking three dogs. Stumbled across Helvellyn Cottages and what a lucky find. Beautiful cottage with secure garden, walks right on the doorstep, really well equipped (didn't need half the stuff I brought!), beautiful views, a great little pub just a stroll away and cosy log burner in case the (really warm) central heating wasn't enough. The owners kindly left wine, eggs, cheese, bread and firewood making the first evening after a long journey easy and comfortable. We all had a lovely time, very relaxing and the dogs loved the walks. I can highly recommend this place and in an ideal world would love to live here. A very peaceful and beautiful place. Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of the property.
Liked least: Did not like the soft main bedroom mattress and a larger bed would have been perfect but only a small minus point due to personal taste.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodie170...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent and Cosy”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed in this cottage after winning a competition with our dog.

The cottage was amazing and had everything that we could need. We arrived on the Friday afternoon with my partner and two friends. We did shopping before we got there but realised afterwards that a short drive away is Morrisons in the Penrith town centre. There is also a local shop that sells most things such as cereal, bread, etc.

We stayed in the cottage with a garden which was really helpful as we had 2 dogs so knowing they were safe and could not wander to far was nice.

If your are looking for a weeks holiday in the uk then this place is perfect for walking, and exploring, it's also nice if you just fancy a weekend break to shut the door and relax in front of the log fire,

We are already planning another trip for when we are not studying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views that surrounded the entire cottage
Liked least: Not having more days booked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrac12...
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage with brilliant views!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't fault our first visit to this cottage, Warm cosy cottage, and dog friendly. Everything as the website said. Warm welcome when we collected the keys, they took us to the cottage to show us around. Wood burner was lovely bonus .Welcome pack was a lovely touch with a nice bottle of red wine .Fantastic cottage and brilliant walks direct from the door without Moving the car. Brilliant week to celebrate our sons 18th Birthday . Bonus of good weather with snow still on top of the fells. Hope to return later in the year ! Thank you Rob & Emma x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy bedfordshire
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ngrrk
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, nice cottage”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Firstly, the area around here was my favourite area I went to after a week in the Lake District. It has a nice combination of not being too central but central enough and on the edge of a beautiful lake with lovely walks right off the doorstep. The cottage was nice but probably not as nice as I had been expecting after reading the previous trip advisor reviews. It is well equiped, and it is comfortable so really these are minor quibbles but after spending some time renting cottages in New Zealand this would rarely only rank as average. The booking process was swift and easy and the hosts respected our privacy, and although we didnt need to contact them, we were left in no doubt that they would have been quick to sort any problems out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Not quite as nice a cottage as I had expected
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepatts
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I didn't believe it could be sooo nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband, two children (age 7 & 9) and a dog to stay at cottage number 1 - honestly I thought the cottage would be a bit small and we would spend the week tripping over each other - but no it was bliss.

The cottage is in a fabulous location (we could have not used the car all week), there are several low level and high walks straight from the cottage.

We walked every day - I thought we would eat out every night but the cottage was so nice to come back to we only ate out twice. There are a few shops in the village but they are not great I would take enough food next visit or apparently ASDA deliver!

The towels and bedding are beautiful (the sort of thing you would have in your own home - not the sort of thing you would expect from a holiday rental) The kitchen was well equipped with a nice big fridge.

With regards to the mattress in the main room - it must have been replaced because we found it very comfortable.

The cottage is a great get away from it all as we had NO mobile signal BLISS! only vodaphone get a reception.

The owners were very welcoming and even came to remove a tick from our dog for us.

If you are thinking of booking this property - not think about it DO IT you will not be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: That we only stayed for a week
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgaz
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy cottage with a real homely feel,the woodburner a must on a cold chilly day after a days walking. Emma & Rob provide a wonderful personal service taking you to the cottage and provide a lovely welcome pack .Location is perfect,just far enough out of the village to give it that getaway from it all feel with some great walks from the door step, the car has never been used so less on a holiday.The Travellers Rest pub,a short stroll down the hill is worth a visit or two! Would definately recomend Helvellyn cottages to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing