We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2-Day familiarisation course for RS200” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenridding Sailing Centre

Glenridding Sailing Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenridding Sailing Centre, is a small sailing and activity centre based at the stunning southern end of Ullswater, in the Lake District. We provide a wide range of high quality, fun-filled outdoor activities, from sailing tuition, to team building activities, to canoe and kayak hire.
1 review
“2-Day familiarisation course for RS200”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Two epic days with our amazing coach, Joe (national champion) . This is now are 10th year visiting this fantastic sailing centre, and every year it continues to impress. It's wonderfully friendly staff always make you feel comfortable and safe and we always learn heaps and heaps of new skills even with just a couple of days there!!! We strongly recommend visiting Glenridding Sailing Centre :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RYA Level 2 Sailing Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a fantastic time we had doing a RYA Level 2 sailing course with Steve our instructor.
The two days spent in this stunning location passed all too quickly. The course had a mixture of classroom and ‘on the water’ elements to complete and Steve made sure that the learning experience was one to remember for both of us – the concentration on Jill’s face when she was sailing rudderless for the first time was a picture!.
The Centre is located in a beautiful part of the Lake District and its facilities are very good – all the staff were very friendly and helpful – nothing was too much trouble.
If you love being on the water GSC is a ‘must do’ activity centre when you are in the Lakes – with a good range of sailing boats / canoes and kayaks to hire, Ullswater awaits you!.
Thanks Steve and team, we will be back to do Level 3 soon!!
Dave & Jill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“friendly supportive atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Whether learning as a child or adult, sailing your own boat, as I did this week, or hiring, you cannot hope for a more friendly helpful or supportive place than Glenridding Sailing Centre.

The location is superb; breathtaking scenery, ambling distance from the village centre, a broad expanse of water in view of the centre, and cliffs beaches coves and islands to explore, and variable winds from the surrounding valleys.

The centre has jetty, safety boat, sheltered beach, changing rooms with showers, class rooms, tea & coffee facilities, and all the kit you need bar a pair of trainers you can get wet.

Best of all is the friendly supportive atmosphere, which starts with Pete & Steve, includes all the staff, especially Joe, and extends to us visitors. I was there on my own for a week, but never without someone to chat to, or help with the boat when needed.

A great experience, just like 5 years ago when I learnt to sail here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePendray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Steve was a fab host and set up our crew of 20 odd age ranges with as many boats/ kayaks as he could. He made sure we were safe and happy all the way through our experience and one of the best sailing centre in the Lake District.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fab day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

this was our second summer visit to the centre after such an amazing time last year. We hired a canadian canoe with our little girl who is almost 3. She was catered for very well with a small life jacket and a mini oar so she could join in which she loved, and last year when she was new we were allowed to tie two canoes together to steady us more on the water and not scare her - although she was very good so just had the one this year. The prices are very reasonable indeed and there is a choice of activities to do. We had to wait a little due to a busy period in the gorgeous weather, and what a lovely place to wait. The water is shallow and good for paddling or a little swimming. On the island nearby is a rock to jump off which was great fun too if you're feeling adventurous. Finally, mentioning the staff, what a great bunch of people. Their welcome and charm really make the place. I wont be going anywhere else and we shall keep returning to try other things too. Thanks for a lovely time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank happywife84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenridding Sailing Centre also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Lake District, Cumbria
 

Been to Glenridding Sailing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing