We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the lake”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have been visiting the beautiful lake district for over forty years and I have to say that this hotel is the best one that I have ever stayed in. My husband and I stayed here for three nights in a lake view superior room. The decor is beautiful and so are the views from the many, many windows in the various rooms. There is always somewhere to sit and read, relax or enjoy coffee or a glass or two of wine and we felt "at home" here.

The staff are obviously very highly trained and are friendly, polite and cheery. What a difference this makes to the hotel guest especially if you have come away to unwind or get away from "problems" or "work". There is a lovely calmness about the place, almost magical at times.

The food is extremely delicious and the staff in the dining rooms are superb. My husband is a plain eater and some of the dishes were too fancy for him but the staff did all they could to accommodate him. Even though the hotel was very full when we were there it was still quiet and the guests seemed to mostly be over 50. There were a few dogs staying as well, great if you do not mind dogs sitting in the public lounge whilst you are enjoying coffee, but if you dont....go elsewhere!.

As the dress code is smart for the evening it was lovely to get dressed for dinner and most people were suitably attired, BUT there were those who thought that a fleece top and crumpled chinos was suitable for a place such as this which did " lower the tone" as they say!. There were around 27 weddings here in August this year so I would say that this hotel is extremely popular for all ages and gatherings.

We though that our room was a little bit small for a "superior" as we got a chance to see the top four poster room and it was three times the size....lovely! However the balcony and the lovely decor made up for that. What spectacular views, well kept grounds and a lift. Essential for transportation to your second floor room after a fabulous six course dinner. What a fantastic place, four star at least! We are looking forward to our next stay (in the four poster room of course) Not cheap to stay here but well worth it.

Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8am and 10am which is lovely if you like a lie in as most people do on holiday. Good choice of food including cumbrian breakfast, kippers, pancakes, porridge and continental breakfast. I have to say that the staff are really excellent and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Inn on the lake to anyone.

My only real gripe would be that the bathroom was too small and not enough storage space in our room but this did not affect our enjoyment in any way.

Room Tip: If you like space go for the four poster rooms views from the "lake" rooms are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lightworkerwithwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We got married at the Inn on the Lake and wow. Gary and his entire team ensured nothing was too much trouble from the time we arrived the day before. The room we had was beautiful.

The views are amazing and gave us some fantastic photos. The staff are second to none, the food, wine and service is excellent. I have stayed in 5* hotels that are nowhere near upto the standard of here.

The children in the wedding party were all catered for so well, the elderly family members also.

We just love going back up for a mini break and enjoying the hotel and surroundings. It has a truly magical feel everytime.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsRow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Inn on the lake a fantastic mini break my only compliant should have been longer please do more 3 day breaks...The Staff Sevice was nothing short of first class I am amazed that this is only a AA3 star hotel...Even with a wedding on the staff working full out we never for one moment felt forgotten all the staff just could not do enough to help.
The Grounds are a credit to the gardening staff and the rooms are kept so clean.
The food is fantastic with a good choice each night great daily selection of menu.
We are planning to go back for a future stay in the future.
So to the Manager and all your team well done it was a fantastic 34th Anniverary present for my wife I could not have wished for it to be so good...thank you all so much

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Took my mum here for her 70th birthday for lunch, it was super, the food was lovely and the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were great with our kids, it was no problem for us to bring a birthday cake, they lit the candles and brought it over for my mum and even sang happy birthday.

A really great day was had, the staff totally made it for us.

If you are in Glenridding, this place is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oakergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a superbly situated hotel. Its location on the bank of Ullswater set in its own extensive grounds is simply stunning.
The hotel is perhaps more impressive on the ground floor. The bar, dining room and sitting areas are beautifully decorated, if a little conservative. The staff are very friendly and do whatever they can to help. Our bedroom was OK, though I couldn't honestly describe it as offering 4* facilities and could do with a little updating. But, in perspective, it's only a bedroom and what is on offer in the hotel and the area quite simply makes you forget the lack of modern tv or anyother bedroom fitting.
In sum, we'll certainly visit this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I got married at the Inn on the Lake in November 2010 and had the most perfect day. The hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views down the Lake and our guests all commented on how beautiful it was (even in the rain).

The hotel staff were really helpful and managed all of our requirements perfectly. They accomodated all of our requests happily and ensured our day went very smoothly. We used the Ramblers bar for our evening do and it was great. More than big enough for our party, however cosy and with character.

The food selection available was really good with plenty of options to choose from, and on the day, the food provided was excellent, all served very hot and cooked perfectly.

We stayed in one of the four poster rooms which had views of the Lake from a large bay window. The room was spotlessly clean and really nicely decorated with ample space for a bride (and 7 bridemaids) to get dressed inside.

Although the hotel was not exclusive to my wedding and there were other guests, the wedding seemed very personal and at no point did I feel like I was sharing my day. There are a number of reception rooms in the hotel, therefore people have the space to spread out.

My husband and I stayed on at the hotel for a few nights after our wedding before jetting off to the Maldives, and the hotel was a lovely place to start our honeymoon. The restaurant served a great choice of meals, however there are also a couple of bars nearby, as well as the Ramblers which is attached to the hotel, which serve delicious bar meals.

We often go walking in the Lake District and there were several walks from the hotel which didn't dissapoint. If you aren't too active however, the hotel gives you free access (and clubs) for their pitch and put course, and just a stroll in the gardens or a rest on a bench looking out over the Lake is a nice way to pass the time.

Overall, the hotel was everything we wanted and more. It delivered for our special day and I will most certainly be returning to celebrate our anniversaries for years to come.

Room Tip: Four Poster rooms are beautiful and those on the 1st floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpangeMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just returned from the Inn on The Lake, the wedding venue for our daughter Jenny's marriage to Paul. The service, food and hospitality were top notch. Although it rained for most of the day it did not dampen the amazing time we had.

Thanks to all the staff and especially Jonathan for all their attention and their professionalism in making it a remarkable day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEBNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £133 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing