We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Birthday Celebration”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hello Teresa

We would like to THANK you and all your staff who made our stay so pleasant this week-end.
Thank you especially to the Kitchen and Dining room staff who went the extra mile to make Michelle’s Birthday celebration meal very special.
Fabulous Location and amenities.
Perfect in every way.
We will be visiting you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

My partner and I had an excellent stay at the inn on the lake, very impressed.
The service was first class, and a special mention to Paul who couldn't have been more helpful and charming.
Would most definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewtmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Its not old or worn despite some reviews , everyone bends over backwards service wise. Its expensive bit its also worth it. Excellent food, service, room etc one of the best hotels I've stayed in and I've stayed in some very good hotels (and some dumps!!!!)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daverc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We love the Lakes and have visited sooo many times but never called in to the hotel before. It is a fantastic place and although we only stopped for tea we were made to feel very welcome. The new garden room is fantastic and felt to sooo warm and comfortable. The lady who served us was very friendly and professional and pleasant. We now hope to return soon and stay for longer to be able to experience the hotel to the full. What a great location and view of the lake too - will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and myself have just spent two wonderful day's at the Inn On The Lake, The hotel has the best back drop you could imagine, The hotel has the most perfect position right on the lake, The gardens are beautifully maintained, The reception staff were very friendly,We had a relaxing cream tea on our arrival in the orangery "AAH" We got an added bonus the hotel was all decorated for Christmas, The room was not best regarding our view but we had booked the hotel, On a Discounted deal the hotel is beautifully decorated, The food served in the restaurant is equal to any high end restaurant we have eaten before, Emma was very attentive the walks are very good but make sure you have all the right equipment, Don't expect any bright lights are an hectic night life, This is pure relaxation can't wait to book again "We'll Done All"

Room Tip: If you have booked a standard room pay the extra and up grade to a room overlooking the lake I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent three nights at the Inn on the Lake, and were very satisfied with our stay. The situation is of course wonderful, right next to the lake, and the public areas extremely well-appointed and welcoming. Our room was on the small side, and overlooked the parking area,not the best in the hotel, but we benefited from a special offer which included the evening meal in the price so no complaints! The rooms with a view over the lake are, in my opinion, overpriced. The restaurant was quite good, not exceptional for a hotel of this standing, but the service was fine.

Room Tip: If money is no object, the rooms with a view over the lake are much bigger and beautiful. The others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Made the mistake of a schedule that had us here on a Saturday in September, as a result very expensive and of course a wedding. Booked fell view room as refused to pay over £250 for a lake view.
Room OK but nothing special and soft furnishings and decor had been updated but not the basic infrastructure which was tired and needed updating\replacing.
Food OK,,service - particilalry Sunday breakfast - very slow

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,151 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £133 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing