We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went to The Inn On The Lake for pre Xmas get together with my extended family and was blown away by the hotel and the beautiful views! Had a lovely lunch in the orangery very relaxed and unhurried!

This must be one of Cumbrias best hotels! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    326
    126
    49
    23
See reviews for
295
943
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My Cousin got married here on August bank holiday, amazing weather, amazing location and the staff are very passionate about what they do! The only thing I would say is that the rooms need a bit of a face lift, but they are very clean! And also there was no pancakes for breakfast as they had ran out! I can't remember the name of the night porter (south African) but he was so polite & welcoming, after the wedding had finished some of us that were staying in the hotel went into the lounge for a few drinks and he was very friendly and made us feel at home! The staff are a credit to this hotel and I would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girloftheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed at The Inn on the Lake. We booked a deal with Secret Escapes for 3 nights DB&B in a lake view room. We had a fantastic stay and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. Our car unfortunately broke down on route to the lakes, after arriving very late and frazzled the hotel staff kindly agreed for us to have our first nights dinner in our room (they did not charge us for room service despite making several trips back and forth with each of our three courses and drinks!) Having arrived late we weren’t able to appreciate our lake view at first however in the morning we awoke to a beautiful panoramic view of lake ullswater, the mountains and the hotel gardens, we had a large floor to ceiling bay window with a seating area in front to enjoy the view. (Would definitely recommend room 41!) The other facilities in the room were great, comfy bed and modern bathroom, the room was kept spotlessly clean throughout. Full breakfast each morning and the food at each dinner was exceptional. Our deal included food from the 3 course table d’hote menu which changed each night so always had something new to select! We also had complimentary afternoon tea in the orangery and lunch in the ramblers bar during our stay which was lovely. We enjoyed the added extras of a large lounge with an open fire (we sat by for drinks after dinner one night) and the Jacuzzi and sauna were prefect to relax in after a long day out walking in the cold! The customer service we received from the staff during our stay was excellent, from the staff on reception, to the waiting staff, to the bar staff everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. An added bonus was that the hotel had been beautifully dressed for Christmas, the lights and trees definitely made the atmosphere seem even more special. One point to note is that phone signal is non-existent in the area (I think only Vodafone gets signal) we didn’t mind at all as it was nice to switch off from the outside world for a few days and we used the pay phone to contact the garage about our car however it may bother other people. Overall a fantastic hotel and we hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Room 41 has a large bay window with fantastic views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonshine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hello Teresa

We would like to THANK you and all your staff who made our stay so pleasant this week-end.
Thank you especially to the Kitchen and Dining room staff who went the extra mile to make Michelle’s Birthday celebration meal very special.
Fabulous Location and amenities.
Perfect in every way.
We will be visiting you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My partner and I had an excellent stay at the inn on the lake, very impressed.
The service was first class, and a special mention to Paul who couldn't have been more helpful and charming.
Would most definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewtmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Its not old or worn despite some reviews , everyone bends over backwards service wise. Its expensive bit its also worth it. Excellent food, service, room etc one of the best hotels I've stayed in and I've stayed in some very good hotels (and some dumps!!!!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daverc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We love the Lakes and have visited sooo many times but never called in to the hotel before. It is a fantastic place and although we only stopped for tea we were made to feel very welcome. The new garden room is fantastic and felt to sooo warm and comfortable. The lady who served us was very friendly and professional and pleasant. We now hope to return soon and stay for longer to be able to experience the hotel to the full. What a great location and view of the lake too - will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing