We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$280
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$400
US$387
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,801)
Filter reviews
1,801 results
Traveller rating
1,224
360
141
51
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,224
360
141
51
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramblers barfell view roomstunning locationafternoon teasconeswedding partywedding breakfastchristmas decorationsthe general managersteamersevery member of stafffeature roomhigh standardfantastic hotelvisited this hotelfantastic viewsmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,152 - 1,157 of 1,801 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here again for the New Year break and found the hotel to be even better than before. A lot of money has been spent on it recently and it showed. Originally the lounges were just about adequate but with the addition of the Orangery there is now plenty of room even when the hotel is full. Most of the rooms have been refurbished and the remaining ones are due to be finished in the next few months and the whole hotel has been recarpeted and redecorated.The staff were friendly and courteous and a credit to Gary Wilson the excellent manager. Food was very good with a wide variety of dishes and acceptably priced wines. Despite the lousy weather - it poured with rain and blew a gale - we all had a great time.
Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the lake - the feature rooms are beautiful if your budget will stretch to them.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having recently enjoyed a short first stay at the inn on the lake, my husband and i a already planning a return visit due to the warm welcome we received both by the manager GARY who immediately made him self known to us, and various members of staff who were professional and courteous at all times and very approachable. the location of the hotel gives way to stunning breathtaking views and sumptious interior is pure indulgence. and the food...well ! excellent service beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. WHAT are we waiting for ?.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Very surprised by the glowing reviews below. Although the hotel stay was enjoyable there were certain bits that spoilt the stay. Firstly the temperature of the hotel was excessively high - so much so we had to wedge our window open all night and keep ordering extra water with dinner. Secondly the breakfast selection was poor - it was approaching the 10am finish time but nothing was replenished and we had to ask for juice glasses numerous times.

This all being said, the hotel is in a stunning location which cannot be beaten. It's probably the best place to stay in Glenridding.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Amyjbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Amybullock

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise if you felt it was too warm, all the radiators in the rooms are fitted with thermostatic control on the side so guests can adjust the temperature to there own liking.I do hope it didn't spoil your enjoyment too much and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Wishing you well

G Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed hear a few times now, one day it will surprise me, the hotel is in a great location spectacular views,
The hotel has the feeling of exclusive luxury when you first arrive, this is slowly eroded.
the stay was average the staff were not the best with a surly waiter orchestrating the tables in the restaurant : a job as a night club doorman would be more suited.
Don't be tempted to drink in the bar after normal hours the prices are to prohibitive, take a bottle with you and have a night cap in your room.
The hotel is in a grand location; the grounds are well kept and are plesant to wander round early morning the rear of the hotel facing east, in the evening you can enjoy a cup of tea or a sundowner.

Room Tip: The upper levels that look over the lake, four-poster beds , avoid the high season 'summer' as the car park is open to every visitor to the English lake district, park is very difficult I am not aware of valet parking
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carbostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Mr Carbostar

Thank you for leaving a review on this site. Just to balance out a few points, would you mind if I correct a few rather inaccurate comments. The surly waiter ?, we don't know who you are referring to but during your stay we had nothing but compliments about the waiting staff and the restaurant manager. Darren (restaurant manager) could not be more opposite in character or disposition than a night club door man. This is both very harsh and untrue.The prices you refer to are no different at 10am when the bar opens in the morning as they are when the night manager comes on duty, so again another false statement.
I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations and apologise and that your stay fell short of what you wished for.

I do wish you well in your future travels

Kind regards

G Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Booked the inn on the Lake as a last minute Christmas get away and we couldn’t have asked for more! The room was superb – furnished to an incredibly high standard the room was luxurious with an amazing lake view. The food was well presented and delicious and the service throughout was impeccable. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 16 overlooking the lake is fabulous
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB79Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews