We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

First stayed here on a romantic break in November 2011 - loved it so much we decided to come back and get married two-and-a-bit years later.

The setting is stunning - mountains behind and a lake in front. The building itself is superb - classy but not pretentious, traditional yet still modern and comfortable.

Want to bring your dog? No problem! Although you'll spend the first 20 minutes quietly asking yourself "is Rover really allowed in here?" - it seems far too nice to be dog-friendly!

Posh nosh is served in the restaurant, or for something a little less formal you could eat in the Orangery or the Rambler's bar.

The staff are the perfect mix of friendliness, flexibility, and professionalism. Attention to detail is incredible and you will be well looked after from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Lake District, and we're already booked in to celebrate our wedding anniversary in 2015.

Room Tip: Splash out on a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    315
    120
    48
    22
See reviews for
285
911
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just got back from this amazing hotel. having been lucky enough to be up graded to a lake view hotel I thought the holiday couldn't get much better. The hotel is set in a stunning location which is enhanced by its impeccable décor and service. Throughout our stay we were made to feel wonderful. The food is top class but probably not for those who prefer plain food as the venison meal I got to try was utterly full of flavour and delicately balanced. all our meals were incredible.

we were lucky to get a good deal on our stay but would definitely look to return as could not fault any of it.

Room Tip: go for a lake view room if your budget allows worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

.....In the very wet and flooded Lake District. We booked to stay here for 2 nights DBB and weren't disappointed. The area surrounding the hotel was partially flooded and I think we probably chose the worst weekend to stay in the Lake District in terms of the weather (gale force winds and torrential rain ) but the service and quality of the food and accommodation certainly made up for it.
The service can't be faulted at all, especially the waiters / waitresses. The food in the main restaurant was imaginative and very nice if you are there for a special occasion. The little touches such as the crumpets and winter pimms on arrival was lovely too. The breakfast menu offered all sorts of options and was really enjoyable.
The overall atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxing and there's plenty of nice areas to have a quiet drink in. The Orangery is a lovely room with a gorgeous view, although the majority of the rooms have stunning views.
Our only fault is that on the afternoon we arrived, there was a wedding taking place which meant that certain areas of the hotel were out out bounds, including the cosy pub on site, which was a disappointment, mainly as we hadn't been advised of this, prior to arriving. As paying guests, you feel as though you deserve the same treatment as everyone else. We did feel a bit like second class citizens and as though we were intruding, which shouldn't really be the case when you are there legitimately yourselves.
Overall though, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenskiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fabulous stay despite the heavy rain and flooding in the area. Food excellent in the lounge and in the restaurant. Service can not be faulted. Now relaxing in the lounge with lunch after a very cold, wet and windy walk to Angle Tarn!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

First visit today and may I say this place is stunning had a light lunch which was faultless and tea in the lounge area with a lovely fire place - a welcome sight on such a wet day! The gardens and surrounding views are breathtaking. We asked to view a room as would love to stay here and the lake view room was beautiful I could of sat there all day, cannot wait to stay

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank grh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at this family run hotel, and we had high expectations..... we were not disappointed.
It has been over 10 years since our last visit, and we have spent our holiday time travelling the world. However sitting on the edge of Ullswater, the scenery here is simply stunning and many world wide locations just don't compete.
The hotel itself has been well maintained and improved over the last 10 years. The new Orangery is lovely, I had never tried hot pimms before, it's delicious and tastes even better when it's complimentary.
We had a lakeside view room, a must if you can afford it. Even at dusk, it was lovely to look out over the grounds and see the beautifully lit pagoda. The room was very hot at first, but the heating can quickly be adjusted.
The room had a large flat screen TV, that could be easily turned to watch from either the seating area or the bed. However we preferred just looking at the views from our floor to ceiling windows.
The bathroom had the thickest fluffiest towels you could want.
All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the reception team gave an excellent first impression, and we relaxed as soon as we had arrived. The waiting staff were brilliant and we would like to give a special thank you to Nina and Paul who both seem to genuinely care that you are not just enjoying your meal but your whole stay. (There is a very nice man in charge of service, who also deserves a mention but he does not wear a name badge)
Whilst we were there, there was a wedding going on, but it did not effect our stay at all.
Finally, the food.... We cannot believe that any of the negative comments we have previously read have been correct. The meals we ate were all so delicious, and the menus quite exciting with every course featuring a list of mouthwatering items. If you cannot manage to stay here, it would still be worth visiting just for the food.
We certainly won't leave it 10 years until our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a two night valentines stay . A truly lovely place , full of class , charm and warmth . Very relaxing from the minute you walk in . After chatting the the manager Gary, it's very clear his focus is on making sure all guests have the best experience . He is passionate about the hotel and this runs through the rest of the staff . The decor has no expense spared and the owners taste is to the highest standards , absolute class down to every detail . The staff are lovely and we were well looked after by Paul and Mona in the restaurant . Even though the weather was bad , it was a pleasure spending time in the lounges reading the paper . Can recommend the steamboat trip and the Ramblers pub attached is very friendly too . Could not fault the food in anyway . Will definitely return at anytime of the year . Amazing setting and grounds .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing