We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect baby moon!”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect baby moon!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for a 2 night mid week break for some r & r before our baby is born. Booked a last minute deal online which was great value. Expected bargain basement treatment (happens so often when booked under an offer) but was pleased to find we received fabulous service, a great room and sublime food!
We arrived early but the friendly and efficient receptionist made the effort to get our room ready which was much appreciated! Room 32 was spacious and luxurious with a lovely view of the fells.
Staff were courteous and genuinely interested in guests, remembering our names and drinks order each day. Special mention goes to our waiter who managed that difficult balance between friendly and professional and made us feel welcome and looked after.
The food was out of this world, we upgraded to the a la carte for just 10pp extra and it was sooo worth it! As a chef I find that eating out can be tricky as I find myself looking for faults/ improvements but I can honestly say that the quality, choice and execution was stunning.
A great hotel for rest, relaxation and indulgence in a beautiful location, I hope to visit again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rumgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Rumgirl84

We remember you and so pleased you were able to relax in comfort before the birth of your baby.Paul in the restaurant really enjoyed looking after you and the chefs really appreciated the very positive compliments you gave them. Hope all goes well and hope to see you and the family for a visit before too long.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    330
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
306
960
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We had a weekend at this amazing hotel 21/22nd March and it is now our favourite Lake District destination. From check in to check out it was perfect. We have stayed at other hotels in this family run group, they were all amazing but this was the tops!
It's luxurious yet contemporary without the stuffiness of similar hotels. Our recently renovated room was lovely - it was classed as a Fell view but it was on a corner so we also got a lake view.
The food at dinner was wonderful and the dining experience was enhanced by the staff in the dining room - courteous but friendly and they seemed genuinely interested in us and what we had done during the day. Special thanks to Marco who patiently let me practice my limited Italian skills!
Breakfast was exceptional - the cooked-to-order omelette was the best I've ever eaten and I'm not really an egg fan!
We enjoyed the beautiful lakeside setting of the hotel but it was great that we could wander into the village for a drink at another bar for a change of scenery. The Ramblers Bar on site was great and we had a lovely post-walk lunch in there.
Super, super place and I can't wait to go back!



Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SazzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sazzb

Thank you for taking time to write your wonderful comments about the hotel. The staff will be delighted with the feedback. We are very passionate about the service we offer and when people enjoy there stay and we have met expectation it fills us with so much pride.We look forward to welcoming you back but in the mean time safe travels to you both.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary on a Travelzoo deal which was excellent value. We stayed in a standard room (No. 26) which was advertised as not having a view and our windows overlooked the roof of the new orangery. However, we could still see the lake to the left and the snow capped hills to the right and the bathroom had a wonderful hill view! The room was clean and nicely furnished with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was nicely tiled and spotless, although the heated towel rail was a bit tepid. The receptionist on our arrival was pleasant but he gabbled the information and I had to ask him to repeat things a couple of times. When we went down to the bar before dinner it was not clear that we had to report to the bar before sitting down, once we had sussed this we went over and made ourselves and our room number known to the staff, and handed over our voucher for cocktails and canapés. The cocktails arrived promptly, but we had to ask again for the canapés, which didn't materialise until we sat down for our dinner, to be swiftly followed by our "pre starter" of an espresso cup of soup. As to the cuisine, we had the a la carte menu and were a bit disappointed by both the starters and desserts, having been told by a friend who had previously stayed there that the food was very good. The main courses were lovely, we both had beef rump the first night which was melt in the mouth and tasted superb. We were not informed that coffee was served in the lounge by any of the staff. Breakfast on the first morning was good and both the coffee and breakfast arrived promptly. Dinner on the second night was a bit hit and miss, and we waited one and a quarter hours for our mains, due, I assume to some sort of problem in the kitchen. Our waitress was most apologetic as was the restaurant Manager Darren, who offered us drinks as compensation for the wait. Our lovely waitress did inform us about coffee being served in the lounge areas. Again the starters and desserts were a little disappointing but the main courses were superb, my husband had belly pork and I had lamb. Breakfast on the second morning was again a bit hit and miss, our coffee took about 20 minutes to arrive and for our breakfast orders to be taken, but the breakfast arrived quickly. It seems as though things need reorganising in the kitchen. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the public areas were nicely decorated and comfortable, we had a lovely comfortable bed and the staff were all very pleasant. The hotel is in a wonderful position, and with a few tweaks in the restaurant would be perfect and we would certainly visit again. Although there is free wifi throughout the hotel, it was a bit unreliable in our room and I had to sit in the reception area to get a good signal, maybe a booster is required? One thing that did disappoint us was the number of dog owners who hadn't cleared up after their dogs, the area down by the lake was littered with dog poo, despite the notices asking people to clear up after their dogs. This is obviously out of the control of the hotel, but maybe they could do poo patrols and remove it before their guests tread in it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, indulge in a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Fisiboo

Thank you for your kind review. On the whole it sounds like you had a very nice time, Darren does remember you and said that you really enjoyed your stay.We constantly have meetings about service, constructive feedback is always welcome as this helps you improve service levels.We do have a poo patrol and bags are available at reception but as the old saying goes ( not bad dogs just poor owners). We have poo bins in the garden and its rare there is a problem but let me again apologise for this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Gary Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stopped her with my parents on our way to see family in Matfen on 15th April and we booked it with a travelzoo deal. On our arrival we were welcomed by very pleasant reception staff who gave us all the information we needed, the hotel was buzzing as there was a wedding on, we went to our rooms which could not have been any better. My wife and I had a room which was overlooking the lake and the mountain views, the room was very clean and the bed was a king and very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent again with great views very light and very clean. My parents room was on the front of the hotel and was overlooking the mountains however also had a view of the bin area, however the room was very clean and again very well decorated. We had tea and scones included and after a walk down to the lake we had our tea and home made scones in the orangery (very nice and again staff good) we had booked a table in the restaurant for 730 and went for a drink in the bar first, after ordering the drinks we sat down over looking the gardens and the lake, there where a couple of tables in the bar and staff took them menus to them, however we had been sat down for a around 10 minutes and I had to go and ask for the menus (not a big problem) we went through to the restaurant (where the wedding had been) we sat down and there where clearly still a number of tables that had been used for the wedding that had not been re set and to be honest this spoilt the feel to the restaurant. The food was excellent and I could not pick fault with any of it, our waiter was from Italy and was excellent and you could see that he enjoyed his role, (after working in catering myself for some year this is a pleasure to see) however there was a few other members who when spoken with complained that they had been very busy with the wedding and where ready to finish. After a coffee and a couple of brandy's in the bar we all had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good in the restaurant with a table overlooking the lake, we were served by our Italian waiter who was bright and again excellent at making us feel welcome (10 out of 10 for his services) over all this is an excellent place to stay with great location, great hotel excellent food and a warm and friendly welcome from the staff, we will defiantly be coming back and will be bringing the dog next time, a big well done to Inn on the Lake

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CROSSHEIGHTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have visited this Hotel over a number of years, at different times of the year. Its never failed to be impressive. Stunning location, intelligent and helpful staff, who go out of their way to please. Every time I go, they seem to have improved something else. At first we went in to escape the rain, but now its a must. Only thing that could be improved is the weather.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to this hotel for a few years, although I'm a huge fan of one of the sister hotels - the Ladore Falls in the beautiful Borrowdale valley.

We popped in for tea and scones and were so impressed with the refurbishment. It's two years ish since it was done but it's beautiful and the new extension called the orangery adds a contemporary twist.

This was a gorgeous experience. Lovely scones and tea, awesome views of Ullswater, comfy chairs and newspapers to read.

Thanks so much.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our 6th stay at the Inn on the lake and it still felt as special as our first visit.
It is quite simply so hard to beat the location and views of this hotel coupled with the quiet elegance it enjoys!
The staff are attentive,polite,helpful and thoughtful without being OTT.
The food is spot on . The walks ,long or short, which can be enjoyed around the local area are superb.
It is worth noting for walkers that some new paths have been built between Glenridding and Aira force which makes a relaxing trek and great views.
I will certainly look forward to another stay here very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
14.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing