We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and amazing staff”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Travelled to the inn on the lake for Easter, had a lovely time, staff very welcoming and helpful, we had a carvery in the ramblers which was delicious, vegetables cooked to perfection and beef was lovely and tender. We will be returning In the not to distant future,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaniels03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Spaniels03

We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Inn On The Lake , the hotel looked spectacular in the bank holiday sunshine. The buffet worked very well and I'm pleased you really enjoyed your Ramblers lunch. I will pass on your very positive comments to all the staff and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Whenever we depart from a hotel, we always ask if we would go back.
For the price we paid per night through Hotels.com, the room, the food and the service was quite average. I think the hotel does have a lot of good points, but to differentiate it from an average hotel and a good or great hotel, the staff / food etc need to make it stand out.

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and eaten at a load of excellent restaurants, and never in my life have I had to sign the waiters order form when we've ordered starters & mains before. Similarly for the bottle of wine. Then, the waiter managed to order the wrong starter!
The following morning, we stood at the "Please wait to be seated" for a minute or so, and could easily hear staff chatting, so I walked into the staff area to find the waiter chatting to a couple of the waitresses. They then came scurrying out to seat the few people waiting.

That evening, having returned from the pub next door, we went to the bar in the hotel. Whilst try to get a drink for my wife and myself, even though the waiter was serving us, he kept stopping to assist another guest. Now, I'm not sure but I'm pretty sure it wasnt the queen, and therefore they should wait their turn. I wasnt ordering 20 drinks and a ton of food. If it was the owner and his pals, then he'd know customer service is paramount. If he wasn't, then he should wait his turn. It maybe he was an owner of one of the 4 Maserati's in the car park, and therefore the waiter thought he'd be in for a big tip - not sure.

We paid for a "Superior Double" with a lakeside view, and you really can't fault the view; however, there wasn't really much 'superior' about it. The bed was literally a double, not a king or anything else, and it only fitted with a bit of room on the main side.

Finally, the Wifi was a bit random - every time you let your phone go to sleep, as soon as you try to re-open email or use the internet, it kept prompting you to "continue". Not the end of the world, but more of a nuisance.

In summary, great location, some good bits, but too many average bits to warrant a 4 or a 5 star rating. Maybe had the staff been more attentive on these 2 evenings, and following morning we'd have ignored the relatively small 'superior' room. But they didn't, so I give it a 3*

Room Tip: Double check what a double means, if you're hoping for a good sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Ian

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I have had a meeting and taken your comments in writing and given a copy to all my front of house staff I’m sorry the service you say you received wasn't of the standard the hotel always tries to achieve.
The reference to the queen and the owner’s pals and people driving expensive sports cars is a little presumptuous and I can assure you that the staff don’t ask what car people drive or what they do for a living. The restaurant manager assured me that at breakfast you were waiting only a few minutes whilst he was instructing the staff about a certain disabled old lady who was coming down and the table she was to be allocated but again I apologise for the short delay. As for the rooms, 95% of the bedrooms have been refurbished in the last 3 years and we hardly ever receive negative comments about the standard of them but again I’m sorry it didn't meet your expectations.
We don’t take anything for granted and would certainly say we do not live on our location or reputation but do try to listen to constructive feedback and strengthen our reputation. I’m sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but I do wish you well in your future travels.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel through an amazon local deal, fantastic hotel set within stunning views of Ullswater.

Impressed with the room we were given, we booked a standard room but were given a water-front view overlooking the stunning gardens. 3 course meal was faultless, and the staff were more than accommodating as were very welcoming and friendly. We requested to eat our desserts in the orangery and they were more than happy to organise this.

After a fantastic nights sleep in a large and comfy bed we ate a delicious and hearty Cumbrian breakfast whilst watching the clouds reveal the hills surrounding the lake. Again, friendly service and always attentive to our needs.

All in all, our short stay here was more like 5 star luxury!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna_lou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Jenna

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we made your birthday treat special. I will pass on your very kind comments to the staff and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our mini-moon in February. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival. The room was fantastic overlooking the fells and lake. The quality of the decoration and soft furnishings was beautiful and sympathetic to the age and style of hotel. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. We stayed for four nights and were really impressed at the variety of choice on the menu. The social areas in the hotel were lovely and comfortable and perfect for wiling away a rainy afternoon. We had such a lovely stay that we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lake and fell view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbc267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear cbc267

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed the style and service of the hotel. We have invested a lot of money in our refurbishment and its so pleasing to have such positive feedback. I will let all the staff know about your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April. There are many positives about the hotel - it has a wonderful position on Ullswater; the food in the restaurant is a very high standard; and our room overlooking the lake was both large and comfortable. Sadly, though, our stay was spoilt by disturbed sleep.

The trouble is that the Hotel seems to be very popular for weddings. There were wedding parties on two of the three nights that we stayed there. People were making their way to bed throughout the early hours of the morning, in various stages of "happiness" - which meant that we were disturbed several times on both nights.

I have some sympathy for the hotel, as wedding business is obviously profitable for them. We overheard a barman explaining to a wedding group that the bar never closes to guests, as the night porter will keep them supplied even after the bar staff have finished.

However, there is obviously a conflict between guests like ourselves, who want a good night's sleep after a day's walking and sightseeing - and guests who see the early hours as a culmination of a great days' celebration.

We spoke with the hotel General Manager, who assured us that the hotel tried to manage the interests of both groups. Sadly, on our visit at least, this didn't work - and the revellers won !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Geoff

Thank you for your very kind words and I'm so pleased there were many things you enjoyed during your stay. I do remember talking to you and had a meeting with my night manager and the groom from the day immediately after you left. It was in fact a walking group that were on the noisy side who were with us for a short break and seemingly the wedding were very well behaved. We do police the night situation very closely and have a manager on throughout the night who explained to guests only residents will be served at the bar after hours. I do wish you would of phoned down and he would of gladly resolved the situation but again please accept my most sincere apologies for the break in your sleep. I hope it didn't have too much of a negative impact and we would love to welcome you back again .

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had the priviledge of attending my friends wedding at this hotel over the Easter weekend. Absolutely beautiful location, I would imagine hard to beat. The sun shone and the wedding was held outside, amazing views. The hotel obviously have lots of experience with weddings and the service was very good. The food was excellent for the wedding breakfast. The evening reception was in the Ramblers Bar, a lovely room with a side marquee for extra space. The evening buffet was fantastic. A fantastic venue, just a shame we couldnt afford to stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Angela

Thank you for your very kind words and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your day at the Inn On The Lake. I will let all the staff know of your lovely words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Easily one of the best places I shall ever stay. A marvellous room with a stunning view of the Lake Ullswater and the mountains opposite meant we could enjoy our room from the inside or from the pleasant balcony. The food was superb; chargrilled chicken then a wonderful asiette de chocolate on the first night, rump of lamb with parmentier potatoes followed by trio of English classics on the second night! The English classics were miniature versions of apple crumble, rice pudding and sticky toffee pudding.....truly delicious. (Why don't I live here?!)
The public seating areas on the ground floor at this hotel are fabulous; lovely big sofas, coffee tables, a wonderful array of pictures and photographs on the wall, a real roaring fire in the area next to the orangerie. All this, and a splendid location....what are you waiting for?

Room Tip: If you're staying here in better weather, it is definitely worth booking a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Paul

Thank you for your glowing review. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we offer so its so rewarding when we read what a great experience our guests have had. The hotel is constantly been updated and we try to make the food imaginative and modern in our restaurant but also want to cater for people who have a plainer palate. I will pass on your comments to chef and all the staff who work so hard to make a break guests will remember for time to come.

Kind regards

Gary Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £134 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing