We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is getting boring.........”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I really love complimenting people, places, experiences etc, but this really is like Groundhog Day!!!
When we first started coming to IOTL, there were often mixed reviews from others. We have always had five star experiences, and would genuinely have reported otherwise.
While I think things have got better, ie, room refurbishments, the downstairs decorations, the Orangery etc, the staff have always been the same, absolutely fantastic.
Gary and his team have seen and heard it all, and dealt with it accordingly.
While all the reviews are subjective, there are a number of things that run through and through this organisation.
The main one is Gary's fairness, and ability to deal with everything that's thrown at him.
What really bugs him is people getting all the way home before raising any form of complaint. By then of course, it's too late.
Having said that, we've never had to complain, just compliment, and doesn't he love that!
People rarely say thank you face to face, or even by email later. I always do, and when you goo back to that place, they remember the positivity much more than the negative.
This stay was once again fantastic, made even better by the Hotel arranging for glorious weather. The day before it was raining, and the day after it was too, So thanks for that!
In fact, can you guys please arrange for the clouds to part on the two weekends we have booked for next year..........!
Can't wait for it to come round.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark&SandraHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I married here a few weeks ago and couldn't have imagined a better day. We had George who was our co-ordinator and he literally did everything to ensure our day was perfect. He had thought of every thing without needing to be asked, he'd already done it.

We have stayed here a few times before and the staff were the reason for us booking here, obviously along with the spectacular views, beautiful rooms and gorgeous food!!
We had a mishap with the cake but the chefs came out to speak with us and fixed it to our amazement.
We stayed in room 49 on the night of the wedding and I stayed with the girls in room 32 the night before.
Room 32 is huge and was perfect for our 5 bridesmaids and I to get ready in comfortably. The views were out to the fell which was beautiful waking up to.
Room 49 was a four poster lake view which I spent with my now husband. This room was amazing and again pretty big. The bed was so comfortable which made us almost miss breakfast. When we go back I will definitely stay in this room again.

The food is amazing and the wedding breakfast went down with our guests ridiculously well. They were all stuffed and no table was sat around waiting for their food to be served.
I can't thank the staff enough, they are the best hotel staff we have ever come across, literally nothing is too much trouble. They are the biggest merit of this place by far.
Every time we have been, whether it was to stay or just for a day trip they are so friendly and welcoming.

We love this place and can't wait to return. Friends can't stop talking about this place and it has been a point of conversation since we wed here. We honestly can't thank you all enough!!

Room Tip: Pick any, they're all immaculate. Waking up to a lake view is breath taking though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natnpaul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second stay at Inn on the Lake and we shall definitely return again. The hotel is in an idyllic location and the service is second to none. Our room was perfect with a stunning lake view and the food was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuePMerseysideUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As always our stay here at this hotel is always fantastic. The staff are simply the best. They treat you as a special guest each time we stay. Kerri, Michelle, Chris but to name a few service outstanding and we always feel so very welcome. We have already booked again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairebaitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is about our ninth stay here at this amazing wonderful hotel, every time we come things get better and better, They do things with Excellence here the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you and take a genuine interest in you as an individual.
as well as that, this is such a beautiful part of the world and it's so peaceful,just being here is like a wonderful tonic.
The food is excellent and the rooms are out of this world The standard of cleanliness in Excellent also.
We had a beautiful Lake View room.where we could sit and look out at the well kept gardens and Lake Ullswater itself.
We always look forward to our next visit to with anticipation....
If you want an amazing delightful break I would highly recommend this first class hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really beautiful, both fell view,and lake view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I keep going back simply because it is a great hotel. It is luxurious without being pretentious, welcoming without being gushy and busy yet relaxing and peaceful. The a la carte is fab-u-lous and the new orangery is excellent - contemporary but definitely not OTT modern.

However, my biggest compliment I can make is that the staff love working there. I talk to many of them and no request is a problem and they genuinely want you to have a great stay. It is obvious that the staff feel valued and I have been going there for several years and see familiar faces on the staff team - not common in the hotel trade.

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: lake view rooms cost a little extra but all single rooms are very very good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Myself and husband spent a fantastic short break at the Inn last week. The setting is brilliant, food was great, the Staff are wonderful and room 13 was beautiful. What more can I say, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 13....great view of gardens and the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKW473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RKW473

Thank you for your lovely review on this site. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on the Lake and everything lived up to and exceeded your expectation. It’s nice to read you will be definitely returning and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
10.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £134 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing