We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in an amazing location”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have very little to say - a lovely hotel and the location and views of Lake Ulleswater are amazing. Perhaps a little expensive but the best things do not come cheap.

I have no criticism to offer of the hotel itself! - we were only able to book 1 night as the hotel was fully booked - now I know why and will book earlier next time as a few days would be nice.

We had a lovely stay - food was fantastic - best breakfast of the 3 top end hotels we stayed at this week. The room was large and very pleasant although there was noise during the day from an extractor fan - this was turned off before bedtime. Only criticism is that I did not get a sympathetic response when I approached reception about this (we had come for peace and quiet which was available in abundance but not in our room - this was amply supplied everywhere else though and we only used the room for sleeping) - see room advice below.

My view is your hotel is great and that is praiseworthy but I did just get a little hint of smuggness about being so good from a couple of staff. It would be ashame if a wrong attitude led to the start of the end for a good thing!

Thanks for a lovely stay and looking forward to returning soon. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Friendlyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautifully located right on the shores of Ullswater with rolling lawns and beautifully kept gardens . Within minutes of the Ullswater steamer pier. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake which was a wonderful place to sit and just take in the view. The public areas were very spacious and sumptuously decorated but if I am honest the decor wasn't really in my style. Our only real issue was the size of our otherwise lovely bedroom which was tiny, with the diddiest little wardrobe I have ever come across, and a matching tiny but beautifully appointed bathroom. We were staying for 4 nights and found this a bit of a problem - for an overnight or weekend stay this bedroom would be perfect, especially with the fantastic balcony. I would be happy to warmly recommend this hotel but maybe not for me again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

my husband and i went 2 inn on the lake 3rd july 4 2 days. what a fantastic hotel. had a lovelly room looking over the gardens. weather fab. hotel breakfst excellent evening meal very very gud indeed. catered for gluten free meals. staff wonderful from reception to laundry staffs. restaurant staff excellent so relaxing. lots of places to eat and drink. recommend the travellers rest very gud for food and drinks plenty of places to walk. we had such a lovelly time.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 15 lovelly looked over gardens nice verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch as the views from Hotel looked magnificent .
We had lovely Posh ploughmans
Everything was perfect .
Looks like a place we would enjoy staying for a short break .
Worth a visit .
Lake and mountain views 360 degrees .
Great spot to base yourself for Lake Land adventures

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the inn last weekend we were guests at a wedding, it was absolutely great, l thought the rooms were overpriced until we arrived there, they were worth every penny and more, l can not wait to go back, l would recommend to anyone, and if they managed to find anything wrong they are nit picking. Just go and try it for yourself.

Room Tip: No tip needed they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a day walking round Ullswater we decided to see if we could find a room locally, and popped into this hotel expecting a price well above our budget. We were pleasantly surprised to be offered such a reasonable price for a large room with a fantastic lake view. Usually we would go out to explore the local area, but instead we found it worthwhile to take full advantage of the views, and the hotel pitch and putt.
The service was very good, and we enjoyed a hearty breakfast with a good choice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We got married here almost 3 weeks ago and I have to say that after initially being disappointed at having to pay for our wedding menu tasting (nearly all other places have this included), I was completely blown away by the day itself. I picked this hotel because of it's beautiful location which I knew was always going to be a hit, but on the day the smooth organisation, friendly staff, excellent food and service made it what it was which was perfect!
Jonathan one of the managers put me completely at ease and was lovely and well organised! All the staff in the restaurant were great, the bartenders, and reception too were especially great for looking after my parents in law's dog!!
We are looking forward to coming back here for our first anniversary and probably trying one of the very nice looking afternoon teas that kept going past me!!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
14.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenridding
Price Range: £125 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing