We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lake View Restaurant at the Inn on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recently refurbished and with 2 AA Rosettes, the Lake View Restaurant at the 4* Inn on the Lake hotel has all the ingredients for a mouth-watering dining experience. Nestled on the shores of Ullswater with its own private jetties, 15 acres of grounds, an extensive garden terrace and new Orangery – it is the ideal location for morning coffee, lunch, a quintessentially English Afternoon tea or a gastronomic fine dining experience.Stunning décor with opulent fabrics and understated sophistication, compliment the artistic flair of Head Chef and his team who have been developing and refining their table d’hôte and à La Carte menu’s for the Lake View Restaurant. Using modern, molecular techniques and sourcing as many local ingredients as possible, dishes are rich in creativity, full of flavour and beautifully presented. The Private Dining suite also overlooks Ullswater and is popular for those looking for something more intimate and extra special.Lunch served 12pm - 2.30pmDinner served 7pm – 9.30pm
North East
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had relatives staying in this hotel and as we have a caravan in the area we joined then for
Dinner. The restaurant is well set out plenty of space and was very busy and the service was excellent. We had the the set three course menu and every course I chose was delicious, pate was very tasty, lamb was cooked to perfection and the chocolate mouse was so light it was a delicious end to an excellent meal. It perhaps was little expensive but the surroundings, service and excellent food made it good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Orangery experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited the Inn on the Lake on Thursday 27th March 2014, we were going to eat in the Ramblers Bar after our walk but found it was closed so chose the orangery instead. The building is beautiful but the service or lack of it leaves a lot to be desired. On entering we were asked if we were there for a drink only but we said we had come to eat so were given a menu and shown to a table and that's the last time the waiter came any where near us. Another couple came in and got a menu and later their order taken, after waiting for almost 25 mins and being totally ignored, some of the time he was behind the bar using a computerised system but not serving anyone as it was extremely quite, we decided to go and eat somewhere else. When we walked past the bar to leave he did not even look up then or acknowledge us. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2activesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was here with my family and some friend and we had a lovely dinner. The natural landscapes around are absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't eat there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

In the area one night on a business trip we were looking for a nice place to have dinner, The
Inn On The Lake Hotel gave the appearance of fitting the bill nicely. We elected to dine in the
Orangery as we were dressed casual and the room was light, warm and very tastefully decorated.
My wife and I both ordered the rib eye steak, one rare (mine) and one medium. Both were served
with a tomato, mushrooms, onion rings and chips served in a small bucket. The knife was a normal table knife and when I requested a steak knife I was informed that was their steak knife!!!
The steaks were difficult to cut and rather gristly and the onion rings were cold and greasy. However, the chips were very good. Nobody came to enquire if everything was satisfactory
until we had finished eating and the waitress came to clear the table. Asking if we had enjoyed
the meal I told her it was the poorest meal we have had for a long time and pointed out the reasons why. I was offered an apology and asked if we would like a pudding or coffee but there
was no suggestion that this would be on the house as a way of compensating for the poor meal. On paying the bill the same waitress did again offer an apology but nothing more.
If that is the best that this hotel can offer in the way of evening meals I would suggest they stick
to sandwiches and snacks. Suffice to say when we are next in the area The Inn On The Lake
will be given a wide berth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch with unspoilt views of the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I met some friends for lunch here whilst on a weekend break in the lake district. The food was up there with some of the best we've had and the restaurant provides an excellent setting to relax and enjoy the views over the lake. We've not dined here before, but will certainly be paying another visit next time we are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungryManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake View Restaurant at the Inn on the Lake also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Been to Lake View Restaurant at the Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing