We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packhorse c2c”
Review of Beech House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beech House
Ranked #1 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great little guest house, wonderful landlady- Lynn.
Lovely room, great breakfast.
Ideally located in a really picturesque location.
Would make excellent location for a family visit as there is stacks of outdoors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent three nights at Beech House and used it as a base for a walking trip. We had a twin en-suite room which was clean and comfortable, the en-suite was on the small side and the shower a bit temperamental. Breakfast was the highlight, a typical B&B feast with all the options of cereal and full English, which was well cooked. The host was very pleasant and was always there to help with any questions/queries. The B&B is in a great location on Ullswater Lake and a short walk from the Ullswater Steamer, a great trip to Pooley Bridge is recommended.

There are a good selection of bars all selling typical pub food, The Ramblers bar at the nearby Inn on The Lake Hotel is a good choice.

Overall the Beech House is very good value and it you want simple and affordable accommodation then you can't go wrong with the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ronnier111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we have just stayed for two nights to attend a wedding, the owner is very friendly and helpful, Beech house is ideally situated and close to all the amenities, the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast's were excellent, cooked fresh with quality ingredients. overall a very pleasant stay,would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding in a neighbouring hotel. Firstly we had to change the date 3 times due to work commitments and the owners were great about it. The rooms are really nice and clean with coffee making facilities and lovely clean towels. There is free wifi and parking at the back. Book this little B&B you won't be disappointed

Mr and Mrs Yare

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank bumper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed two nights as we were attending a Wedding. When we arrived, we were welcomed by Lynn and she showed us where to park our Car.
She took us to our Room and explained everything we needed to know about facilities and access etc The Room was very clean, comfortable and had all the usual modern amenities.
Breakfast was very nice on both mornings we stayed, we ordered Full English that was cooked to perfection with very tasty sausages and bacon. This was good quality food and Lynn asked us if we wanted more Toast or anything else.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again in the future.
Thanks very much Lynn for looking after us. Ed & Julie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edz617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The location was brilliant, just across the road from a shop and lots of places to eat nearby.

The rooms were clean and had everything you could need - they were cosy but for the 2 nights they were just fine.

The breakfast the next day was really nice, and the staff were very helpful.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_ford36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights as We were getting together as a family,and this was more affordable for Us.
As is suggested by My heading,it is a typical guest house,in as much as it is in need of a few re pairs,some of which are happening at this present time.But don't let this put You off,as We were greeted with a friendly smile by Lynn,who attempts to make Your stay a pleasant one.
The rooms were very clean,cleaned each day,and tea and coffee making facilities were replenished both days,biscuits included.
Breakfast was really nice,very tasty,plenty of coffee and toast on offer.
Would recommend this b & b as a base for travelling round the area,either in a car or on foot,for those hardy ramblers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#4 of 6 in Glenridding
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
111 reviews
7.1 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House

Address: Glenridding | Penrith, Glenridding CA11 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Beech House Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing