We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Glenridding
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With astounding panoramic views of Ullswater and the surrounding fells, the Orangery at the Inn on the Lake welcomes residents and non-residents to relax and enjoy the scenery whilst enjoying a light snack, lunch, afternoon tea, evening meal or cocktail. Come inside the Orangery where you can enjoy the bright and airy space of this architectural delight, whilst admiring the simple and dramatic statements made by the contemporary yet warmly inviting furnishings; the unique glass and driftwood table, a dazzling Italian Crystal Globe chandelier, and not forgetting the commissioned artwork above the quirky and very original fireplace. Open every day from 10am.
north east, england
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Usually call in here on our way from the east coast to the lake District but have been for lunch too. We picked up a friend from Grange and came back to eat here. It was fabulous. The service was excellent - special mention to Jackson who was attentive without being intrusive. Food was served quickly and was excellent. Even managed dessert which was excellent too. Surroundings were amazing - what more could you want - overlooking Ullswater with the fells in the background. The orangery itself is a beautiful addition to the hotel and is superbly decorated and furnished.
Very reasonably priced in my mind too.
My favourite place to eat in the Lakes.
Look forward to returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and slow”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having had a decent meal in the main restaurant last January, we decided to try the Orangery for an evening meal. The decor is magnificent with a lovely outlook towards the lake. We were shown promptly to our table and were immediately told that two courses were already unavailable. It was only 7.30pm and clearly very quiet. No bother though, so we ordered and waited. And waited. And waited. 45 minutes later, our starters arrived, apart from our young daughter’s which took another 15mins. (One of the diners at another table didn’t get her starter at all!) The food was okay but not exceptional. We then waited for our main courses. And waited…for a further 45 mins. It was explained to us by the waiter, who disappeared for long periods, that the kitchen was shared with the Ramblers Bar and it was very busy. Clearly we should have gone there as they obviously got the priority of service. My main course was frankly average. My wife’s was not what was described and looked like the sauce had been tipped out from a tin. After two hours we’d had only two courses and were by now fed up with the whole event. To add pathos to this, it was my birthday. We would have complained but the whole place seemed void of staff and the waiter appeared only very occasionally. When I eventually paid (a ridiculous amount for what we had got), the waiter seemed so disinterested that I decided not to bother and leave (well, I’m British). Besides, I had an over tired child at this point.

So do I recommend this place? No, absolutely not. Cumbria is blessed with many eating establishments, most of which provide excellent meals at worthy prices. I felt that I’d been cheated here and that we were simply being nuisances to come to their lovely hotel and demand things like, oh, food, friendly efficient service and value for money.

Their view is undeniably lovely. I can get that cheaper elsewhere. And elsewhere is where I now go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Adorable orangery ”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

It's years since I've been to this long established hotel. In the last few years it's been refurbished and a beautiful, light slate and glass orangery has been added.

The location has always been stunning and now the inside of the hotel is gorgeous to match.

Clean surroundings and tasty food are looked after by smiling staff. There were a couple of small hiccups with service but these were sorted quickly with a smile.

I won't leave it so long before I return.

Whilst writing this review, may I also ask any readers of Trip Advisor to be sceptical of one star reviews written by people who have joined especially to give a bad review as some sort of 'pay back' to the place in question.

These reviewers often don't ever review anything else, can't find anything good to say in with the negative comments (therefore not a balanced review), and often don't appear to write with respect. Sometimes while accusing the business of making mistakes, they don't even use proper English and make countless mistakes in their own review.

There's a perfect example of this sort of one star review amongst those below. It's such a shame as it can give an overly poor impression of not just the business but of Trip Advisor as well.

Fortunately the Trip Advisor way of working also gives these reviews less credibility and value than it does to people who have a history of giving a larger number of reviews.

Anyway - please take these sorts of reviews for any business with a pinch of salt. Rant over!

Don't hesitate to visit this lovely hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not 4* Hotel Service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Called in for Afternoon Tea last Sunday, as we've done on several occasions. Previously we have done that in the bar or lounge, usually lucky enough to get a window table with stunning views across Ullswater. It's always been worth it for the location, and the actual food is usually pretty good with lots of choices (although the scones are often too crumbly and fall apart when you try to spread butter on them!) and nicely presented, but they cater for many weddings and sometimes the bar has the aftermath, with trays of used glasses all over the bar, with staff more interested in clearing up than coming to take an order. Anyway, this time there was no room so we took the opportunity to try the newish swish Orangery, nice decor, again with lovely views. But again spoilt by the staff, dragging numerous tables and chairs out of the room, bringing others in, rearranging everything and generally making the few customers feel like intruders. It's like being one of the last customers in a restaurant or hotel where they start taking off the tablecloths from other tables, obviously want to go home, or start laying the breakfast tables around you. Not what we want in a 4* hotel, paying 4* prices. We had to go and find a menu, then had to go and find someone to take our order, and at the end there was no-one to take payment, had to go and do it at the bar. Even the food wasn't perfect this time: no-one should really be able muck up a few cakes etc., but the crumpets and toasted teacakes were cold for all three of us, obviously been sitting on the pass waiting for someone to be bothered to collect and serve them, and had to be sent back for reheating! Seems to me this place treats the afternoons as "dead time" to get things cleared up -- fine, but if they do that then they should not advertise cosy afternoon teas: either they provide a full service, or don't do it. We've had enough and won't be back, next time we'll renew our acquaintance with the Langdale Chase with equally stunning views of Windermere and just as good afternoon tea!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Have been to the Orangery a few times for a beverage, staff are very friendly and the view over the lake is amazing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Patterdale, Lake District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing