We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch B&B”
Review of Grisedale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenridding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grisedale Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Glenridding B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was looking for an annoying single-night stopover in the Lakes on a Saturday and had thought on Ullswater as hadn't stopped in the region. Very glad we did. Lovely room, very personal service and very friendly owners, excellent breakfast too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tefoonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at this B&B on a number of occasions and always found the owners friendly, informative and will go the extra mile for their guests. They also have great cottages close by. We love the village and whole area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiestgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The experience at this B&B was very good. The room was very comfortable, but small though. The breakfast excellent!!! There's a car parking and WiFi. Excellent place to stay overnight. The service was very good too

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've been coming to john and Christine's as a group for a few years and we keep coming back because we love this place. They are fantastic hosts who make you feel so welcome and really go the extra mile. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds very cosy. Christine makes great home made bread which she then uses for the sandwiches in her amazing packed lunches. The breakfast is also fantastic with lots of choice.the only problem with the place is it sets the bar for everyone else very high and I've never stayed in a B&B which is anywhere near as good! Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Another great stay, John and Christine are wonderful and welcoming hosts and always go the extra mile, tea and cake on arrival! A cracking breakfast to kick off a days walking and a pack lunch full of treats. If you're looking for a few days near Ullswater would strongly recommend, back again at Easter, can't wait.

Room Tip: All lovely, extremely comfy beds, just what's needed after a days walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumSteve96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved staying at this place while we were on the Coast to Coast. Homemade biscuits to welcome us, homemade bread at breakfast and for our packed lunches - along with homemade flapjacks. Christine and John are the kind of hosts who go the extra mile: a weather report for each day was printed and left out in time for breakfast; they knew everything there is to know about walking the fells and where to eat in the area. And there were other little touches - a teddy on the bed, fresh milk available, huge fluffy towels - which showed they knew exactly what walkers are looking for.
The plumbing was a little iffy but there was plenty of hot water in the shower, the beds were exceptionally comfortable, and breakfast one of the biggest and best-cooked we've tasted anywhere. So would have no hesitation in recommending this as a top place to stay if you're visiting or walking near Ullswater.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked in by travel company on Coast to Coast walk. Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable accommodation. Arriving with wet boots, they were promptly removed and returned the following morning dry and clean! Socks washed and dried too. The breakfast was generous and served in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.5 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.7 mi away
Glenridding House
Glenridding House
#2 of 6 in Glenridding
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#5 of 6 in Glenridding
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grisedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grisedale Lodge

Address: Grisedale Bridge | Patterdale, Glenridding CA11 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenridding
Price Range: £22 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grisedale Lodge is a friendly and comfortable Lake District B&B with gorgeous views of the Ullswater fells. We have three guest rooms on the first and second floor of our home and a lovely lounge which you are welcome to enjoy. We are located between the villages of Glenridding and Patterdale in a quiet location at Grisedale Bridge. There are numerous walks from the door and the lake is only a 10 minute walk away. We are directly on Wainwright's Coast to Coast walk and a 15 minute walk from the Inn on the Lake in Glenridding which is a superb wedding venue. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Our B&B rooms are simply furnished and comfortable. We have three rooms : two twin or double rooms with en suite shower and one double room with separate, private bathroom. All rooms have good WiFi access and tea and coffee making facilities. There is private off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grisedale Lodge Glenridding, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing