We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Cozy Cottage, in Idyllic Place! <3”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
King size bed Pets welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Lovely secluded position,200yards off the main road
King size bed
Pets welcome
Wood burning stove
Wooden floors & Beams
Red squirrels near the cottage
Ullswater Steamers
playing in the Lake !
Red Deer on Place Fell,The cottage is to the left in the Valley
The cottage with Ullswater in the background
Ullswater boathouse
Frosty morning at Keepers Cottage
Ullswater
The Cottage from Keldas
Keepers cottage from Glenridding
En Suite shower room
Keepers cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cristiana...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing Cozy Cottage, in Idyllic Place! <3”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As our first experience in Lake District we couldn't have chosen a better place! Keepers Cottage has everything you need for your stay... The Cottage itself is beautiful and cozy, a place that really makes you feel at home!... You can enjoy relaxing evenings in front of the log burner, especially after long walks... It is very well equipped and with plenty of good books to read during rainy days... Location is fantastic! Lots of walks from your doorstep, and the scenery is truly breath taking... I wished we could stay longer... even my dog was super happy! We truly loved it and we look forward to go back next year! Strongly recommended!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Hi Cristiana,
Thanks for the great review,glad you enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
867chriss...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and well equipped”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

this cosy cottage is situated in very quiet location between Glenridding and Patterdale. Very comfortable and is the best equipped cottage we have stayed in. Many walks straight from the door. View from downstairs is of Place Fell just across a couple of fields. From upstairs at the back you can see the Lake. Nearest supermarkets are at Penrith about 13 miles away. Weather was against us really getting out and about unfortunately Plus it did not help one of our dogs suffers excessive car sickness so this stopped us going far. Would love to go back if we could be guaranteed good weather!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi Chris,
Really glad you enjoyed the cottage,Shame the weather wasn't too good hopefully you can return sometime with more luck.Thank you
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeWeat...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, relaxing break”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is the third time that we have stayed at Keepers cottage. We find it to be an excellent base, allowing us easy aspect to all areas of the Lake District. We wouldn't be able to visit if the owner didn't allow dogs - which is a bonus - and it's great to see that, in the last few years, the local area is increasingly accessible to those with dogs. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Hi Chloe,
Thanks very much for the kind review and for keeping coming back!
Yes ,all the local pubs are dog friendly as well as most of the nearby attractions,a big bonus for pet owners.
Cheers
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmg006
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Charming, great location”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

All available space has been cleverly and tastefully used to create a charming bolthole for a couple. We loved the cosy living space with wood burner and the enormous comfortable bed upstairs. Location is fantastic - off the main road, and no need to use the car as there are so many great walks from the doorstep. The pub in Patterdale is walking distance, too. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you very much Catherine,
Hope you get to come back one day.
Cheers
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in June 2016

Quiet location. within walking distance to numerous pubs that serve meals. Ideal for dog owners with having a little garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Hi Joan,
Thank you very much.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F
1 review
“Great getaway pet friendly retreat”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Peaceful location. 10 _15 minutes walk to lake and Glenridding village. Cottage is clean and cosy .Decorated nicely and fully equipped with amenities. Dog friendly too James the owner is nice friendly this will be our 3rd visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thanks very much for the great review.
Welcome back anytime!
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice base for walking”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage with bags of character. Communication with James both before and during our stay was second to non and he was accommodating of our 4 month old baby, offering to sort a cot for her. As a non 'doggie person' (sorry!!) I liked that I couldn't tell dogs had ever been there. I also really liked that the fire was set up ready to light. The kitchen is well stocked. The bed was comfy although I've never been anywhere with such a creaky floor - all adds to the character!!

The plumbing could do with some attention - it can't cope with doing more than one thing at once which was a problem on two occasions in our week only because of having a little one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing