We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
The Dairy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dairy
Stone steps leading down to the Dairy Open living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
The Dairy
Stone steps leading down to the Dairy
Open living space
Fully equipped kitchen
Lounge with French Doors leading onto the Private Garden
Couch is a sofa bed
Couch is a sofa bed
Dairy from its private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautifully converted dairy with a quirky bedroom. I loved this property, with the ability to eat outside in the garden and also to take food to the riverside walk very close by.
The only downside is there is no wifi but that is available in the coffee shops at Glenridding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and isolation
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Patterdale Hall team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
1 review
“Wonderful, peaceful hideaway in the mountains”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A simply wonderful hideaway. Quiet, private and cosy with a good dollop of quirkiness. The owners equipped us with tea, coffee, biscuits, cooking oil, salt, pepper and even loo roll which is very kind and generous. The bed was lovely and comfy - and getting up and down the ladder to the bedroom, even in the middle of the night for the bathroom was not as difficult as expected. The easy to light log burner with free logs gets you so toasty we had to open the door! Access to the mountains for walking and climbing is straight out the door, and the 508 bus stops in Patterdale and makes it possible to access even more mountains without having to use your car. We have already asked to book our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secrecy
Liked least: Weak shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to areas for walking and seclusion.
Liked least: Having to ask at the Hall to use the washing machine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thanks for the review. Glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looks better than it is , Avoid this place and go elsewhere .......................”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

the Dairy is a great location , the room upstairs is like a small dolls house , very very small , the steps up to room are total vertical and very difficult to handle , the bed is the worst , the bed is put together bye two rocky and squeaky frames and the matres is very old and tired as well as uncomfortable , the sheets were old and used and stained as well as the bed sheets were stained and disgusting , very dirty disgusting , we tried to use the sofa bed to sleep on Until we open it up , the protector sheet was totally a disgrace , very very dirty , the bath and shower towels were dirty and smelling of damp , overall EXPERIANCE was very disappointing for AVERAGE COST OF £100 a day to stay there , my advice is to go to a hotel or a B&B ,

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
A very disappointing review and very much outside of the consistent high feedback we get on this quirky property. The steep ladder is clearly advertised and signed up too in the welcome video. Any problems or issues should have been reported to the staff in the main hall building, as per all the instructions and would have been resolved. We take this type of feedback very seriously and it does upset us. I am very sorry the property was not to your liking. Please accept my apologies. Tim Patterdale Hall Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agpearcey...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a fantastic base for my 2 day hillwalking adventures. With Helvellyn right on the door step and evening stroll at Ullswater. The Dairy was second to none! So comfy,quiet and warm..Lots of extras including plastic bag for my Sandwiches ..Which i had forgotten..and oil for the cooking..which i had also forgotten!! Will def book again !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Glad it suited your needs. Do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel p
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic" bolt hole"”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The was the perfect retreat for peace and quiet. Well equipped with an easy to light log burner with plenty of fuel stocked outside. The bedroom was fine for me to use, although I do envisage some people not enjoying the steep ladder.
the kitchen and bathroom are very good, and plenty of towels and tea towels are a great touch.
All in all I have no complaints at all and really enjoyed my stay at a place with a restful feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ambiance
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james b
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great little rental in a lovely place.”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here at the end of October for a few nights. Fantastic location, really good clean accomodation with all the facilities you could need. Excellent friendly and very helpful landlord. The bedroom has interesting access but it was great and very cosy. For the less adventurous there is a sofa bed downstairs. Kitchen, Bathroom and Lounge are very spacious. Feels like you're in the middle of nowhere but with the convenience of being close to Patterdale and Glenridding.

A great rental and would happily recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing