We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Greenhead B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Ideally situated for the mid section of Hadrian's Wall path, which is physically the most difficult. Easy to find located opposite entrance to the Roman Army Museum, itself worth a visit.
Made to feel very welcome by Diane the proprietor. The accommodation was first class and I have tried hard to find fault my only niggle was perhaps the shower floor was slippery underfoot and could have benefitted from a slip proof rubber mat but seriously that in no way detracts from the accommodation.
What was a big plus for someone new to the area was the local knowledge displayed by the proprietor. I used it to identify a lunch stop the following day on a section of wall short of such places.
Breakfast was simply cooked and plentiful, I could not have asked for more. I had a pretty difficult days walk ahead to my next stop Greencarts Farm (35 km) and the breakfast kept me going all the way
Would I visit again?
Without hesitation.
Was it value for money?
Absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Routemaster715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B for hiking.
There are several reasons to choose this place:
A)The location is nearby the most beautiful part of the Hadrian's Wall;
B) Next door to the Roman Army Museum;
C) Busstop in front of the house (AD22);
D) For little money you can get a packed lunch which is wonderful fresh (drinks, fruit, biscuits, good filled sandwiches and chips;
E) Wonderful decorated rooms which are clean and comfortable;
F) Good breakfast;
H) The overwhelming hospitality we received from the landlady Diane. She was helpful in every way and helped us several times with transport.

Leo & Mariët Meijer, Alkmaar, The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_meijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here while walking Hadrian's Wall. The rooms are beautifully renovated and decorated with a very tasteful, muted color scheme. Diane is welcoming and generous - she made us tea,and provided us with a lot of information about the area. She took us into the local village for our dinner at the pub. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_Louise_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Just back after walking Hadrians path. Our stay with Diane was so enjoyable, she knows how a guest should be treated. Making you feel at home with her nice food, pleasent & funny personality. Will never forget the high standards maintained thro out our short stay !
John & Colin :-)))

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicetobenice445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Walltown Lodge in Greenhead. The location is excellent - next door to the Roman Army Museum and on one of the most preserved sections of the Wall. The landlady Diane made us feel very welcome and provided us with all the information (and a cagoule!) we needed for the area. Diane's cooking is delicious and breakfasts were more than we could eat! We spent a lovely day walking 6 miles along the wall to Once Brewed (Twice Brewed Inn recommended) and caught the bus back - AD22 stops right outside the B & B. Had a very enjoyable evening at the Greenhead Hotel Bar which is less than half a mile down the hill and had great food and live music. It is the ideal B&B for enjoying Northumberland hospitality and historic Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon7doh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at WALL TOWN LODGE very very much. We received a warm and friendly welcome,our room was spotlessly clean, really comfortable and well appointed {as was the rest of the house and property ).The breakfasts were generous,cooked well and yummy.It was very special watching woodpeckers on the bird table from the dining room window.Our evening meals were 3 courses all homemade and wonderful.We booked in for 1 night and liked it so much we stayed for 6!.A big thankyou to Diane and Brian we will certainly return and continue to recommend you highly.
DAVID AND DONNA.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed here on our walk along Hadrian's Wall & it was our best accommodation during the trip. Peaceful & scenic setting with a host who did all that was asked of her, & more....
Great food & accommodation - friendly & comfortable as well... a real haven... Lifts & collection from local pub, washing done, drying room for wet clothes, lots of local information - all done with a smile...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DingDongSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Walltown Crags, Greenhead CA8 7JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Greenhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walltown Lodge re-opened under new ownership in July 2016 following major refurbishment and redecoration after not trading for several years. The property has been sympathetically refurbished and enjoys a cosy country cottage style with flagstone floors, vintage furniture and chunky throws alongside all mod cons such as USB sockets and flatscreen freeview televisions in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walltown Lodge Bed & Breakfast Greenhead, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing