We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant cosy relaxing stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Greenhead, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CainyW
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant cosy relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the cottage with my partner & my parents and I can not fault it one bit. Beds were lovely and comfortable, very spacious, beautiful views & anything we needed Sharon was on hand to help. Nothing was a problem & she made our stay a pleasure.
Overall the location is nice & peaceful but close enough to the town if you need shopping or to go out for meals. Would definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks for our dog & the peace!
Liked least: Spiders! But nothing you can do about that!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen g
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Cottage ideal holiday base”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself , Husband and daughter stayed at post office cottage for a week in August, the cottage was wonderful and really cosy . Sharon next door was outstanding and always available to help you nothing was too much trouble for her . We had a great week , it is an area of outstanding beauty we managed to go to Hadrian's Wall, Carlisle , Scotland , Northumberland , Talking Tarn is worth a visit and at the end of the day a lovely cottage to come back too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and surronding area wonderful
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryandr...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Cold Mistake”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This cottage on some sites is described as rural/mountain, so heating is surely important at anytime but certainly in the colder months. Although expected, we still arrived to a very cold, un-heated property. The housekeeper reminded us that we had a £25 electricity allowance, and we were given a copy of the meter reading and shown a chart of the additional costs of 11p/unit should we go over the allowance. We were warned that using the electric radiators would be very expensive and advised to use the 2 stoves all the time, keeping them burning through the night if possible. However the cost of a basket of logs was £4 and a scuttle of coal also £4 and the both we found was barely enough to operate 1 stove to heat one room for one day This was clearly a very expensive option, so we tried to heat the house using the radiators and maybe use the stoves as an occasional treat, but we were astonished on our second evening to see that after limited use of the radiators we had spent over £14 of our allowance and the only other items used were lights and TV. It was clear that keeping warm would be very expensive. Sadly we had not budgeted for this substantial extra cost and after frugal use of our allowance coupled with the purchase of extra wood we decided not to spend any more time reading the meter or more money on logs or coal and went home after 4 nights having paid for a week. In reflection it is clear that you are encouraged to use the stoves with the large extra cost involved, while being held to ransom by an electricity allowance that gives you no alternative. Disappointed I tried to get a small refund for the days we had not stayed but the response from the owner was colder than the house!! We were told it was our fault, as it was, quote "Your prerogative to use the stoves and you chose not to, but that was the advice given" and quote "please advise me under what circumstances or agreement you now believe you are entitled to compensation". The good reviews for this property helped us choose it, but our stay, and the response to our complaints have been miserable and upsetting. Entries in the visitors book indicate some others found the cost of heating unexpected and expensive and I would therefore recommend that if staying here you should ask for 'worry free' inclusive electric and how much extra if anything that would be. If this is not granted then please ask yourself why not? and we hope this review will help answer that question.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We’re very sorry that you found the cottage not to be up to your expectations on this occasion. Post Office Cottage has received 7 5 star reviews in its time with us so we wanted to make sure that it’s usual high standards continue to be maintained. The owner has taken on board the comments about it having been cold on arrival and will endeavor to make sure the cottage is heated for guests, especially so in the colder weather. We hope you’ll choose Sykes Cottages when booking your next holiday in the confidence that we will help resolve any issues at our properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHowel...
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week in March and had a lovely, relaxing time. The cottage itself is very cosy and equipped with everything you could ask for and more. Loved the 2 log burners especially! The cottage is located in a walkers paradise....you can even enjoy fantastic walks right from the front door as it is in a quiet hamlet surrounded by a stunning landscape. If you would like to get away from it all then this is perfect but if you also want to explore Cumbria then it is a great base from which to do so as it is located with many places nearby. We had a very warm welcome from Sharon who showed us around and was always available if we needed anything. All in all I couldn’t recommend Post Office Cottage more...we will definitely be returning one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljhull51
ljhull51
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a very relaxing week staying at the Post Office Cottage, don't hestitate to book as it will not disappoint. High standard of amenities, great location for walks, would recommend going to Talkin Tarn (only a 10min drive away), Hadrians Wall and for a bit of shopping Carlisle is only 30 mins away. There are also various woods etc.. especially if you have a dog who likes exploring like ours. We wanted a dog friendly cottage and this exceeded our expectations, they have thought of everything from having a dog crate to a dog towel. We received a warm welcome from 'Sharon' who conveniently lives next door if you have any issues/questions, she had even made sure the cottage was lovely and warm for when we arrived. We were provided with coal and wood to use for the two log burners which came in handy and were very cosy. We will definitely be booking again and cannot wait to go back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg A
Northallerton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice break away!”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely to stay in, real home feel there. Just a few issues, we were told the heating would be on 2 hours prior which it wasn't. Also had to pay for more logs and cola which we weren't told about. Other than this service was good. I would recommend wifi being put in. Great for the dog he loved it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm S
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little jewel in the Cumbrian country side”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Post Office Cottage August bank holiday week.
The cottage is a luxurious get away in some of the most beautiful countryside in England. Everything in the cottage is of a very high standard,from the comfortable bedrooms with the views across the hills, to the family size kitchen and the the cosy sitting room both with log burners should the evening turn chilly.
Haidrians wall is a short drive away if you like a bit of history,as there also many other historical sites.
For those who like walking,you just have to put your boots on, open the front door and head out. There are easy walks on the flat and more strenuous walks across the hills. There is even one walk that is in easy distance of a very good local pub. A well deserved drink or meal after a bit of exercise.
There is an excellent trout fishery a short drive away plus coarse fishing at a local tarn.
We cannot recommend Post Office Cottage enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing