We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmhead Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Greenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We have just returned from a three night stay at Holmhead and it was most enjoyable. The setting is idyllic. I particularly loved the peace and quiet. The decor is a little dated but the warm hospitality and friendliness of the owners Pauline and Brian more than makes up for this. Pauline went out of her way to give us plenty of helpful information about the surrounding area. The food was fabulous, I've never had a better Breakfast anywhere! We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Bathroom could have been bigger
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
27
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

My wife and I have just returned from holiday weekend in this charming house in a beautiful setting astride Hadrian's Wall. The catering and ambience were superb. The owners both hospitable and knowledgeable.
Being a Coeliac (strict gluten-free diet) can pose major problems away from home but Pauline attended to my needs in exemplary fashion and even provided some ciabatta bread (which was delicious) for me to take home.
Ideal for walkers, cyclists and anyone looking for the best kind of traditional British B & B.

  • Liked — Elegantly furnished and decorated
  • Disliked — En suite a little restricted
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carlo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Ignore the other reviews if you want good old fashioned customer service and charm. Get to know Pauline and Brian - (who are eager to please) and you will find a wealth of experience of the local area, Pauline pointed us in the right direction for the best locations and views of this lovely area.
We stayed two nights and found the guest house warm and comfortable along with good food. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ionadays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

My wife and I enjoy holidaying in guest houses and seek out the more interesting ones. Holmhead is very much one of those! We stayed 6 nights, using it as a base for walking the Roman sites of interest in the area and had a wonderful time. We shared the dining table with Dutch, American and Swedish visitors, as well as others from the UK, some stopping just one night, and fascinating company they were too. This socialising at both breakfast and dinner was a high-point of our stay and we much prefer this style.

As we were holidaying, not passing through, the leisurely pace of breakfast suited us to a tee, both it and dinner being wonderful, with very varied evening meals. A feature of Holmhead is being sociable with the other guests, rather than being alone and it certainly benefits guests who can set aside a little time to get the most from it.

Mrs Staff is a qualified expert on the locality and her knowledge is vast and freely given. She is also an accomplished cook and if the thought of her gorgeous fresh home made bread does not warm your heart, there is no hope!

Holmhead is undoubtedly rather quaint, but the best of guest houses are - it is what makes them so worthwhile! Enjoy.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

We stayed here as we were walking the Hadrian's Wall trail and the guest house is on the National Trail which was very convenient.

I agree with the earlier reviewer that the decor is a little dated and the bathroom was quite basic but adequate. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which would have been nice- but these were located in the guest lounge. The TV in the lounge was very small and we couldn't get any reception plus there was not one in the room.
The sound proofing was also not very good and we could hear the other guests. However we had no problems with the heating and after a day's walking we slept very well! The owners are a little eccentric and it was slightly uncomfortable but friendly enough and they ordered us a cab in the morning as well.

We ate dinner there in the evening and it was £23 for an evening meal of 3 courses and coffee afterwards. There is one table so if you don't like eating with the other guests, you would be best to eat somewhere else. The food was nice- we had soup, followed by chicken and a berry pie plus home made bread. You can aslo buy wine there as well.

There is a long breakfast menu with plenty of choice- different types of sausages, bacon, eggs, omelettes, pancakes, waffles, cereals plus different juices, teas, coffees and baked goods. This was nice but you must order what you want the night before and you can't always get more of some items (such as the hot items) in the morning.

If you are walking at £66 per night it's pretty good value and convenient for the Roman sites. But don't come if you want luxury or modern rooms with all facilities!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenhead
11.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
10.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walltown Lodge
Walltown Lodge
#2 of 3 in Greenhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmhead Guest House

Property: Holmhead Guest House
Address: Holmhead Guest House Hadrian's Wall, Greenhead CA8 7HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Greenhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmhead sits in a sheltered valley next to the Tipalt Burn and beneath the ruins of Thirlwall Castle. The house is bordered by open fields and has far-reaching views southwards towards the North Pennines, whilst to the north lies the Northumberland National Park and Thirlwall Castle. Holmhead is built over the foundations of Hadrian’s Wall and is directly on the Pennine Way and Hadrian’s Wall National Trails. Our accommodation comprises B&B with four ensuite bedrooms and guest sitting room/breakfast room; self-catering 2-bedroomed cottage, let Saturday to Saturday; self-catering camping barn and small number of camping pitches for tents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmhead Guest House Greenhead, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing