We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good basic accommodation”
Review of Barholm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portaferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barholm
Ranked #5 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good basic accommodation”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

stayed here sat 30th march for one night room was clean and basic well heated and large bathroom very friendly staff the breakfast next morning was superb plenty of it as well as the usual cold buffett spread the service was very quick efficient as others have said the view from the restaurant was super over looking the narrows will definitely be back stayed in room 6

Room Tip: good food is also served in the local sailing club were a friendly atmosphere awaits
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivebridges26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, General Manager at Barholm, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear clivebridges26.

We really appreciate you taking your time to provide Tripadvisor followers with your review. We would like to thank you for visiting Barholm and giving us an opportunity to serve you. It is our hope we will see you again in Portaferry - weather is improving and it is always great atmosphere around.

Thank you again.
Marzena & Krzysztof Piorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for one night in December. . Room had stunning views over the lough.Room we had was ensuite and had been recently re-decorated, so felt fresh and up-to-date. Barholm is near to all local amenities, with a number of pubs nearby - including The Slip, where we enjoyed a pub quiz and some great live music. The breakfast was served in a beautiful conservatory, again overlooking the lough. The cooked breakfast was huge! Well worth the money and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room to enjouy superb views of the lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Had cause to stay in Portaferry for 2 nights on business. I picked Barholm becasue of their prices. Have to say Room was fine, had excelent seaview over Strangford Lough. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good old fashioned fry, served quickly and tasted good. View from restaurant is to die for! Nightlife consisted of local pubs, plenty of craic and locals friendly. Overall you get what you pay for and I reckon I got much more than I paid for. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front to get sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arras, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived to Portaferry late in the afternoon, being on our 8 days tour around Ireland. Barholm has been described in our guide ( 2009 French edition ) as a Youth hostel.We didn’t expect much, as you wouldn’t expect lot from the hostel. We entered the building and walked in the nice conservatory, which we believed was a restaurant; they have good view from there and it wasn’t too crowded as it wouldn’t be at beginning of October.We asked for a double en-suite room and a price - £45.00 for bed and breakfast was rather lower than we expected. Woman serving behind the counter gave us the key and walked with us showing where the room was. It had a nice view, although they had a rainy day and we couldn’t see much. Room itself was bright, nice and comfortable, rather basic but above typical hostel standard.Bathroom was small but well organized – they provided nice towels, shower gel, hand wash gel – well maintained along with kettle in the room and coffee/tea facilities have been a nice surprise, especially for this price.We went to see Portaferry in the evening time – we have heard a lot about Irish Pubs and we had visited few before – and we had a great night out in The Slip, about 2 minutes’ walk from Barholm.Next morning, with a little headache, we had delicious breakfast with an amazing service. We didn’t want Irish Breakfast, as too heavy for us and we asked for omelettes. I had the best mushroom and ham omelette ever, served with freshly baked French! bread and olives, served with fresh fruits and delicious coffee. My partner had a Melon and croissants. We have been really amazed by the quality they provide.If within next few years we will have an occasion to visit Ireland again, we will definitely be back to this place. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Barholm was very good maintained and managed by lovely folks. Breakfast and diner were grand. Very comfortably, it was like being at home away from home. Beautyfull view. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Polish owned: 4 of us Arrived 7pm 22nd June to find the place closed and no other guests living there, called number and a Polish woman came after about 5 minutes. Not very friendly, gave us the keys and disappeared, that was that. Was a cold and rainy day but no heating was on in the Hotel, room was freezing and had to lay a towel on the bed to sleep it was so damp. Complained at breakfast which is served in a cafe they also own attached to the Hotel, she told me "we only switch on hot water in summer" We ordered 4 breakfasts, 2 came and both our mates finished eating before ours arrived. We walk out and got breakfast round the corner. Would not board my dog here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, General Manager at Barholm, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear James S

Thank you for your review and comments.

We have in excess of 4500 guests stay with us each year from many countries. You may have noticed our "Visitor's Book", where most of our guests leave their comments and the feedback we get is over 96% positive. Unfortunately they are not using Trip Advisor to leave reviews at the moment but this is something we are currently addressing and asking guests to do.

You raised two points regarding heating in your room and your late breakfast. We have since put in place extra procedures to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We are very sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations but can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and acted upon. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with good service at a reasonable cost.

We would love to see you again at Barholm and thank you for your feedback.

Best regards

Krzysztof Piorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We got the overnight stay free as a promotion. If I had of been a paying guest I would definately not of paid!! I'm not usually the type to point out problems but this place had nothing good going for it other than the good view(which was obscured by dirty windows and bird poo)
Facilities:-
There was no TV, No bedside lamp, the plug socket was behind the head of the bed, without a headrest on the bed when you moved the bed out to plug in your phone charger the pillows fell down!
Cleanliness:-
All I can say is, this place was in need of a serious overhall.
1.Carpet hadnt been hoovered with nuts on it from previous guests
2.Dead spider on roof
4.strange marks on the wall which hadnt been cleaned from previous guests
3.Shower was covered in mould with a slime coming from the shower head and pipe
5. hairs left in the sink from previous guests
6. stains on the toilet seat

Have a look at the photos.
Staff where friendly in the restaurant and the breakfast was very tasty.
They seem to have a major problem with flies in the restaurant though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, General Manager at Barholm, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review on Barholm accommodation.

I can assure you your post have been helpful with identifying points we have to and we will improve.

Please be ensured of our continuous attention to all feedbacks received from our guests.

We are changing our inner procedures to ensure situation described in your post will not be possible in the future

Thank you and hope to welcome you again in changed and improved circumstances.

Krzysztof Piorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
0.0 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballyrusley B&B
Ballyrusley B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barholm

Property: Barholm
Address: 11 The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Strangford Lough, Barholm is a tastefully restored Victorian house occupying an outstanding location on Portaferry’s shore front.We offer accommodation for up to 50 people with a mixture of Single, Double, Family or Group rooms. Reduced rates are available for group bookings.Our restaurant offers a wide choice of quality fresh food with undoubtedly one of the best views in Northern Ireland, over Strangford Lough.Conference facilities are available, suitable for seminars, workshops and functions. Full catering service is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barholm Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing