We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise mean Barholm :)”
Review of Barholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barholm
Ranked #5 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Under a sky full of miracles in Northern Ireland is Portaferry and there Barholm. Wonderful place in a wondrous place. Friendly atmosphere, excellent service, clean, pleasant rooms, delicious meals that all adds up to priceless memories and an irresistible urge to return, even tomorrow :). Thanks a lot, see you soon, very soon :)

Room Tip: It's impossible to describe, it's worth the experience :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, Owner at Barholm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Asisko.

Thank you for your enthusiastic and outstanding review, We are happy you had a great time and enjoyed staying in Barholm. If we will be honored to welcome you you again, we do our best to deliver same quality and relaxed atmosphere.
Thank you again.
Krzysztof & Marzena & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Barholm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

stayed here sat 30th march for one night room was clean and basic well heated and large bathroom very friendly staff the breakfast next morning was superb plenty of it as well as the usual cold buffett spread the service was very quick efficient as others have said the view from the restaurant was super over looking the narrows will definitely be back stayed in room 6

Room Tip: good food is also served in the local sailing club were a friendly atmosphere awaits
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivebridges26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, General Manager at Barholm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear clivebridges26.

We really appreciate you taking your time to provide Tripadvisor followers with your review. We would like to thank you for visiting Barholm and giving us an opportunity to serve you. It is our hope we will see you again in Portaferry - weather is improving and it is always great atmosphere around.

Thank you again.
Marzena & Krzysztof Piorek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for one night in December. . Room had stunning views over the lough.Room we had was ensuite and had been recently re-decorated, so felt fresh and up-to-date. Barholm is near to all local amenities, with a number of pubs nearby - including The Slip, where we enjoyed a pub quiz and some great live music. The breakfast was served in a beautiful conservatory, again overlooking the lough. The cooked breakfast was huge! Well worth the money and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room to enjouy superb views of the lough
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Had cause to stay in Portaferry for 2 nights on business. I picked Barholm becasue of their prices. Have to say Room was fine, had excelent seaview over Strangford Lough. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good old fashioned fry, served quickly and tasted good. View from restaurant is to die for! Nightlife consisted of local pubs, plenty of craic and locals friendly. Overall you get what you pay for and I reckon I got much more than I paid for. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front to get sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived to Portaferry late in the afternoon, being on our 8 days tour around Ireland. Barholm has been described in our guide ( 2009 French edition ) as a Youth hostel.We didn’t expect much, as you wouldn’t expect lot from the hostel. We entered the building and walked in the nice conservatory, which we believed was a restaurant; they have good view from there and it wasn’t too crowded as it wouldn’t be at beginning of October.We asked for a double en-suite room and a price - £45.00 for bed and breakfast was rather lower than we expected. Woman serving behind the counter gave us the key and walked with us showing where the room was. It had a nice view, although they had a rainy day and we couldn’t see much. Room itself was bright, nice and comfortable, rather basic but above typical hostel standard.Bathroom was small but well organized – they provided nice towels, shower gel, hand wash gel – well maintained along with kettle in the room and coffee/tea facilities have been a nice surprise, especially for this price.We went to see Portaferry in the evening time – we have heard a lot about Irish Pubs and we had visited few before – and we had a great night out in The Slip, about 2 minutes’ walk from Barholm.Next morning, with a little headache, we had delicious breakfast with an amazing service. We didn’t want Irish Breakfast, as too heavy for us and we asked for omelettes. I had the best mushroom and ham omelette ever, served with freshly baked French! bread and olives, served with fresh fruits and delicious coffee. My partner had a Melon and croissants. We have been really amazed by the quality they provide.If within next few years we will have an occasion to visit Ireland again, we will definitely be back to this place. Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Barholm was very good maintained and managed by lovely folks. Breakfast and diner were grand. Very comfortably, it was like being at home away from home. Beautyfull view. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Polish owned: 4 of us Arrived 7pm 22nd June to find the place closed and no other guests living there, called number and a Polish woman came after about 5 minutes. Not very friendly, gave us the keys and disappeared, that was that. Was a cold and rainy day but no heating was on in the Hotel, room was freezing and had to lay a towel on the bed to sleep it was so damp. Complained at breakfast which is served in a cafe they also own attached to the Hotel, she told me "we only switch on hot water in summer" We ordered 4 breakfasts, 2 came and both our mates finished eating before ours arrived. We walk out and got breakfast round the corner. Would not board my dog here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof P, General Manager at Barholm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear James S

Thank you for your review and comments.

We have in excess of 4500 guests stay with us each year from many countries. You may have noticed our "Visitor's Book", where most of our guests leave their comments and the feedback we get is over 96% positive. Unfortunately they are not using Trip Advisor to leave reviews at the moment but this is something we are currently addressing and asking guests to do.

You raised two points regarding heating in your room and your late breakfast. We have since put in place extra procedures to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We are very sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations but can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and acted upon. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with good service at a reasonable cost.

We would love to see you again at Barholm and thank you for your feedback.

Best regards

Krzysztof Piorek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
0.0 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
344 reviews
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
251 reviews
7.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barholm

Address: 11 The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Strangford Lough, Barholm is a tastefully restored Victorian house occupying an outstanding location on Portaferry’s shore front.We offer accommodation for up to 50 people with a mixture of Single, Double, Family or Group rooms. Reduced rates are available for group bookings.Our restaurant offers a wide choice of quality fresh food with undoubtedly one of the best views in Northern Ireland, over Strangford Lough.Conference facilities are available, suitable for seminars, workshops and functions. Full catering service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barholm Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing