We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn stay at Ardbrae”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portaferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardbrae Country House
Ranked #3 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great stay at Ardbrae. Carole and Geroge were extremely helpful telling us about local attractions in the area,and accessing opening times/prices and even the weather forecast etc for us. We really appreciated the homely touches on arrival with tea/coffee and nibbles and also within the rooms. Loved the log fire. Excellent hospitality throughout our stay. Rooms were as amazing as the photos. Breakfasts were second to none - you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Ardbrae Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had a wonderful visit with Carole and George. Felt really at home and the service was outstanding nothing was too much trouble. We had a beautiful suite - it was so comfortable we slept in the first morning of our stay. Would recommend this beautiful guest house as it is a home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This b and b has a very well deserved 5 star rating, The bedrooms are unbelievably comfortable, colour schemes are so restful and the views are so peaceful. The owners are exceptionally friendly, nothing is too much trouble. There is enough food of all sorts, to feed an army. Definatlely 5 star plus in my rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My Father and I were rescued by Carol when we arrived from Liverpool to find we were locked out of our holiday home.
Carol has a wonderful home - really comfortable rooms with big beds and she gave my Dad her biggest room with a huge kingsize bed, 2 singles and an en-suite all to himself.
She was kindest itself to us. Her breakfast the following day was enormous with a choice of bread to toast, lots of cereals to choose from and the biggest cooked breakfast I've ever had!
This is a fantastic B&B in a beautiful location. The house is a new build and the rooms are very generous. I wouldn't hestitate to go there again. The Ards Peninsula is a great place to visit and Carol's prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Wow from start to finish - completely outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for Carole and George who presented us with the very best B&B we have ever stayed in. We have to be talking 5Star plus here that’s for sure, we were so spoilt we increased our stay from 4 nights to 6!

We are a family of 4 and occupied the impressive bedroom suite with connecting luxury bath & shower room facilities, all fully equipped with everything we needed and more! The size of the accommodation was huge, and even though we shared a room with our two teenage children, the room shape and design allowed for more than ample space, and a very good degree of privacy for all.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the quality of all the tasteful and beautiful furnishings throughout is first class, and far exceeded our expectations from the images on the web site. Our bed was an exceedingly comfy super King size, and all the elegant luxury bed linen, towels etc of the highest quality.

The breakfasts were amazingly good in terms of quality, quantity and choice I can not praise it enough, and Carole was the perfect host catering for our individual requirements, we really appreciated that thank you.

We couldn’t recommend highly enough the beautifully situated Ardbrae Country House to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life. Carole and George were awesome hosts, providing the perfect balance of interaction and attention to detail, we felt relaxed, pampered and very welcome. Thank you for giving us all such a great first experience of Northern Ireland, we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJohnsonMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

If you want a B&B where everything is of a high standard then look no further. The house is a large new build property near Kirkistown about 3 miles inland from the Kirkistown Golf Club if you need a landmark. There are 3 bedrooms which are all as described on the web site. There is 1 very large room with an excellent en suite which is £45 pppn and 2 other large rooms at £30 pppn which are not en suite. The modern, large very well eqipped bathroom however is just across the landing. We stayed in a non ensuite room and were perfectly happy. Everything is absolutely spotless with good quality furniture and furnishings including the bed linen and towels. There is a good variety of teas and coffees on the hospitality tray along with fluffy bathrobes and slippers in the rooms. Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of cereals, yogurt and breads. The cooked breakfast is exemplar with good quality produce and I am only sorry I could'nt do it justice. Carole is very friendly, good fun and will go out of her way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. She pays great attention to detail and takes great pride in her lovely home. I have stayed in many B&Bs and hotels and this is in my top 3. I have no hesitation in recommending Ardbrae and have already extolled it's virtues to friends and family. All I need now is another excuse to go and stay there.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent. Do'nt worry about not being en suite - there are only 2 rooms sharing...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and will help us improve our business. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope you will return to stay with us again. Kind regards Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August with our 2 young children. Couldn't have asked for more. Carol couldn't do enough for us, bringing us freshly made scones and coffee on arrival, showing us round the house and making sure we got a table at a local restaurant. Junior suite was huge, spotless, welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome....lovely porridge and children free to roam the lovely grounds. A total treat...will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and will help us improve our business. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope you will return to stay with us again. Kind regards Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
2.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
344 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
14.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ballyrusley B&B
Ballyrusley B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardbrae Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardbrae Country House

Address: 7 Dunevly Road, Portaferry BT22 1NB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardbrae Country House is situated between Kircubbin and Portaferry on a 4 acre landscaped elevated site. This tranquil luxury B&B enjoys splendid panoramic views of the surrounding countryside including views of Strangford Lough and the Irish sea. Offering a central location for discovering County Down, Strangford Lough and beyond including sailing, golfing, cycling, hiking and motorsport .Come, relax and enjoy the generous hospitality in comfortable luxury surroundings. Savour an extensive breakfast with homemade breads, jams and local produce to set you up for the day's adventures. On arrival guests can enjoy complimentary tea/coffee with homemade scones fresh cream and homemade jam. Enjoy your stay at Ardbrae. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardbrae Country House Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing