We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portaferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardbrae Country House
Ranked #3 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cushendall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family of four in the suite. It was just amazing, a super king size bed for us and the kids had a single bed each. The room also had a sofa bed if required. We also had a tv, dvd player and cd player in the room. This room is massive. The ensuite bathroom was state of the art. I thought I had died and gone to heaven! Carol and George are fantastic hosts and could not do enough for us. Carol served us tea and scones on arrival. Great hearty breakfast each morning. The kids asked if they could have less to eat on the second morning! Carol is so friendly and warm and really good fun. Ardbrae is a beautiful bed and breakfast, and spotlessly clean. We had a fantastic visit and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Rita & John Thanks very much for your very kind comments, so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us while you were sightseeing and glad you had good weather to enjoy the lovely Strangford Lough and National Trust homes. Hopefully it comes close to your part of the world the beautiful Antrim Coast. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and hope you return again.

very best regards

Carole & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
30
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenfarg, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife,son and I stayed at this delightfull and well appointed modern house. The facillities were modern comfertable and all set in glorious countryside.
The breakfast is not only decicious but you will not require lunch. The hostess (Carol) could not do enough for us and I would certainly head there in future. CHris Gill and Tom

Room Tip: All rooms looked fabulous but we found the family room to be a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here while visiting the aquarium with my family. Room was excellent and spotless. Lounge and sun room also very comfortable and relaxing. Hostess was brilliant, greeted us with afternoon tea on arrival, was very friendly and attentive. Had excellent local knowledge and was spot on with recommendation for evening meal. Breakfast was by far and away the best we've had staying anywhere. Can not wait to return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMorgan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello Kevin
Thankyou for you very kind comments, really glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future hopefully before the new arrival. Our very best wishes to you and your lovely family. Kind regards Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I can't recommend Ardbrae highly enough. It's run by a lovely friendly couple who bent over backwards to make our short stay enjoyable.
The house, set in the beautiful countryside was absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated. The food was excellent.

I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Jon really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Thanks for writing a review Best regards Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Would not stay anywhere else.

I come to Ireland several times a year and always stay at Ardbrae.

Company is good.Rooms are overwhelming and the traditional Ulster fry is to die for.

Prepared to travel that extra mile to stay there.

Just go and try it and you will want to go back

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george b, Owner at Ardbrae Country House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi John Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, as always it was a pleasure to have you stay with us, looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a mixed weekend with the racing, but the quality of the food and accommodation at Ardbrae House was second to none. The breakfast was the equal of most 4-5 star hotels, and the cleanliness was superb. Well done Carole! PS. May see you next year.

Best regards, Haydn and Ollie.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a great find, The rooms and welcome from Carole were fantastic .A lovely breakfast, I can't fault it. It might be slightly remote for some (3 miles from portaferry) but well worth it for the views tranquillity and hospitality. I would definitely recommend Ardbrae without hesitation. Thanks Carole.

Room Tip: The best family room I have seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchap45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
14.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
239 reviews
14.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
32 reviews
2.5 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardbrae Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardbrae Country House

Property: Ardbrae Country House
Address: 7 Dunevly Road, Portaferry BT22 1NB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardbrae Country House is situated between Kircubbin and Portaferry on a 4 acre landscaped elevated site. This tranquil luxury B&B enjoys splendid panoramic views of the surrounding countryside including views of Strangford Lough and the Irish sea. Offering a central location for discovering County Down, Strangford Lough and beyond including sailing, golfing, cycling, hiking and motorsport .Come, relax and enjoy the generous hospitality in comfortable luxury surroundings. Savour an extensive breakfast with homemade breads, jams and local produce to set you up for the day's adventures. On arrival guests can enjoy complimentary tea/coffee with homemade scones fresh cream and homemade jam. Enjoy your stay at Ardbrae. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardbrae Country House Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing