We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignored”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“ignored”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arrived here for Sunday lunch. It was busy but there was at least two tables free in the bar area. We waited several minutes, completely ignored - then when someone did speak to us, we were told they were busy and not accepting any more for Sunday lunch. I had already read reports about poor service here, so now I've experienced it myself.
The hotel receptionist was polite though and the fact that it was full, would indicate it's a popular place. I probably wouldn't go back as we found somewhere else nearby with excellent food and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silveroscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    89
    36
    25
    18
See reviews for
74
150
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast n.i
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary and really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and had a great view over the lough, it was a little bit more expensive but well worth it. The food is very good and service was first class. Can't say enough about the staff nothing is a problem. Free wifi was bonus and don't miss the afternoon tea as it would cost much more in a Belfast hotel. We will return again very soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Thanks to all in the Portaferry hotel for making our family get together such a success, especially Sandra and Marko. The food in the bar and restaurant was tasty and fresh, the accommodation was clean and comfortable and the view amazing. This hotel is worth the visit.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Maybe not the first place you think of when you think of Valentines but I have to say well worth the stay. The package was excellent value and the rooms were quaint and very clean. The staff were more than helpful and the food was to a very high standard. The views from the Hotel over the Lough are wonderful and I would definitely be enticed back for a summer visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have four poster beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Heather and I held our wedding here on 5th Feb 2014 (as well as experiencing numerous trips before) - the entire day was fabulous thanks to the friendliness and helpfulness of all staff - particularly Martha and Marko - highly recommended as a wedding venue for small intimate civil ceremonies, and for wedding receptions, as well as for a romantic trip away - beautiful setting, fabulous food - a hidden gem.

Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough - nestled on the bottom of the ards peninsula and with views over strangford lough - recommend picking rooms 5 or 11 for the ultimate experience.

Perfect in both winter and summer - we will be making many more visits here - holds a special place in our heart.

Room Tip: 5 & 11 have 4 poster beds, look out over the lough. Choose a sea front room for the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, Co.Down
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have eaten Sunday lunch at this hotel on many occasions but this was our first time staying. it was excellent. from the receptionist on arrival through the bar staff, dining room staff etc etc nothing was too much trouble for anyone. How many times have you seen management walking past a problem before getting a member of staff to deal with it? not at this hotel . No member of staff seems to walk about empty-handed. An empty glass picked up here, a broken glass swept off the floor etc, it was all attended to promptly by staff and management alike.

We had an excellent meal and entertainment on New Year's Eve and woke up to find the same manager on duty for breakfast and the dining room spotless after the late night festivities. A spotless room with views of Stranford Lough added to the enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaghadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travel quite a bit for work so we have grounds for comparison. We found this a clean and comfortable hotel/room for our one evening. Important to us; clean,free wifi, REAL glasses and cups, with a good hotpot for our morning coffee. Our dinner was very good with well prepared salmon in the very quiet and warm bar. Best of all was our waiter and apparently main man Marko. Wonderful at dinner and then brought glasses and an opener to our room after dinner for our own bottle of wine. A nice place to visit and we would come again.
Janet and David

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jrbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
271 reviews
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,002 reviews
15.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Property: Portaferry Hotel
Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing