We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful building in wonderful location”
Review of Portaferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portaferry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a b&b more than a hotel in a converted Georgian house right on the waterfront. My room overlooked the ferry landing, with wonderful views of Strangford village on the opposite side especially early and late in the day. The (Polish) management could not be more welcoming or informative. My room was comfortable, spacious, the bedding great, the wifi fast, but the water heater temperamental and difficult to adjust. Breakfast was a mix of traditional British and Polish (cold cuts, sliced gherkin, etc.), which was a pleasant surprise, as well as abundant and tasty. My only problem is that my visit coincided with one by a group of young Polish Christians whose idea of a prayerful retreat consisted of gathering in gangs on the landing outside my room and watching videos on their phones and laughing their heads off at all hours of day and night. But I was unlucky. Normally, when fully Christian-free, this place should be delightful. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Front of the building for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although we'd been to Portaferry before we'd never stayed there. The Portaferry Hotel certainly did not disappoint us, with its homely and traditional style. The bedroom (number 9) had a magnificent view across the lough to Strangford. It was small but very clean and comfortable, with charming antique furniture, and nice touches including bottled water and a selection of biscuits on the tea tray. The food in the restaurant was excellent - beautifully cooked, fresh, local seafood and vegetables. We sampled hake, scallops and scampi and the accompanying sauces were delicious. Breakfast offered a wide choice and was cooked to perfection. The weather for our trip was superb so we saw everywhere at it's very best. We're already planning a trip for the autumn so that we can explore more of this beautiful area with the Portaferry Hotel as our base. Proprietors William and Tamara couldn't have done more to help us get the most out of our stay. They have only recently taken over the hotel and we wish them continued success. We'll certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: Our friends had a bigger room with a four poster bed. It had windows on two sides and a lovely view...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Merylstreepalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had another good meal in the Bistro at the Portaferry Hotel. Both bar and dining room menu were available and we had a big selection to chose from. Good service and good food. Well presented and great flavour. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMSEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Busy bar and bistro area customers all squeezed in while dining room not open ?? Staff almost on
The verge of being rude maybe too busy to deal with the customer?
Cannot remember the last time we had to complain about poor portions in any local restaurant.
We were so glad we did not have any visiting
guests with us as the whole experience was embarrassing. A shame to see this hotel in a perfect location being neglected. Will have to rely on our past memories of the old portaferry hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank philnlil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

An experience that will live long in the memory! The happy couple and guests were made feel so welcome during our stay and all needs were catered for from arrival to departure. If ever a venue and location is required for celebrating an event to simply dining or enjoying a drink then look no further than this.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusMaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked this Hotel for a special evening meal, it was a Saturday evening and there was a wedding party, beautiful weather and we were all set for a relaxing pampered treat. We were disappointed. Food good but average, some of the staff could improve on their communication skills, hotel is to small to cope with a large wedding party and evening diners, reminded us of another hotel, Faulty Towers.

Room Tip: Don`t book when there is a wedding on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My Fiancée and I booked a table here, when we arrived the waiter showed us to our table, my fiancée who was uncomfortable with the position of the table, ask to be changed to another table by the window, the waiter replied saying oh that table is for residents only. So after himming and haaing he gave us a table by the window. The female toilets were thilty with dust, there were paper towels lying every where. We were not impressed by our visit here.

Very disappointed




Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
7.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
18.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
16.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portaferry
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing