We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”
Review of Ballyrusley B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyrusley B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just returned to Vancouver after a marvellous week staying with Syd and Chris in their comfortable and welcoming home. I can’t say enough about how well the two of them looked after us — and the friendly dogs helped too. The room and common areas were spotless and had everything we needed for a relaxing time. And the full Irish breakfast Chris served us up was to die for! Well positioned near sandy beaches, picturesque Portaferry and beautiful Strangford Lough, this b & b is a perfect choice for experiencing the delights of the Northern Irish countryside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have just spent a wonderful week in the beautiful surroundings of the Ards peninsula and enjoying the very warm welcome from Syd and Chris and their dogs at the Ballyrusley B&B. We were very comfortable and appreciated the attention to detail in every aspect of their hospitality. In particular the breakfasts from locally sourced food were delicious. We would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone.. There is plenty to see and do. A particular highlight of our stay was the visit to the Exploris sea life centre in Portaferry itself and several quiet drinks in the Fiddlers Green pub. The Halloween fireworks and bonfire were spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review and also for your direct message to me regarding the individual ratings which I have copied here: "Chris- ignore the four blobs on the review. I was sure I had hit 5 but must have hit send before checking." Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Chris and Syd were marvellous hosts - welcoming and very helpful in a calm relaxing way. It was great to meet their 3 dogs as i was missig mine by then - we were on a cycling tour so no chance of bringing him with us. Chris had made bread rolls for our arrival and breakfast was superb. We do not eat meat so Chris laid on scrambled egg with smoked salmon, with oven roasted tomatoes and mushrooms - all really tasty and beautifully presented. The locally sourced breakfast cereal was also very good and well worth trying. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The guest lounge was also comfortable and relaxing - i felt very much at home here. A quick zoom down the road by bicycle took us into the centre of Portaferry within a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review and, in particular, your comments about the non-meat breakfast. Both Syd and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Set in the peaceful rolling countryside a mile outside Portaferry absolutely spotless and well equipped. Syd and Chris could not have been more caring or hospitable. Their three lovely dogs stay in their own part of the house but you are very welcOme to make friends with them. The scenery round here is stunning too and the local people very hospitable. Go and see the Exploris, a fantastic aquarium and seal sanctuary, and/or walk along the beach

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haydencoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Chris and Syd (and the 3 dogs) made our stay extremely pleasant - we felt right at home and relaxed after 5 minutes.
We chose them due to the dog friendly nature of the place in particular - our dog got on great with their's and they made time to show us to the best beaches for walking the dogs.
The rooms were excellent and spotless. All food provided was of the highest quality and locally sourced where possible.
We left totally relaxed after a break, but we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us for your break. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Chris and Syd made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation was excellent, spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful, using local produce. The hosts went out of their way to be helpful, providing tea and coffee on arrival and offering it many other times. Their 3 lovely dogs were friendly and well behaved. The town of Portaferry is about a mile away and there are lovely beaches and coastal walks within a 10 minute drive. We would highly recommend Ballyrusley B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for booking your stay with us. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very warm and welcoming hosts, Clean and spacious rooms, the local produce was delicious. Beautiful location close to beaches . Very dog friendly. I cannot recommend highly enough. I loved my stay in this B&B.
Amanda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher T, Owner at Ballyrusley B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We really appreciated the fact that you decided to stay with us during the second week as well. We hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaferry hotels
1.5 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyrusley B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyrusley B&B

Address: 5C Ballyrusley Road, Portaferry BT22 1JR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Strangford and Lecale area of outstanding natural beauty, this friendly, family-run, rural B&B is ideal for dog owners, walkers and visitors on cycling, golfing or tourist holidays. It is situated within walking distance of the beautiful coastal town of Portaferry, with its friendly shops and pubs and is a 10 minutes’ drive from a number of stunning Irish Sea beaches. The Strangford Lough, Exploris and Mount Stewart are just a few of the many fascinating attractions near at hand. The owners and their 3 retrievers take great pride in serving locally sourced produce and extending a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballyrusley B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyrusley B&B Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing