We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portaferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adair's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Portaferry B&B and Inns
canvey island essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

having been on my first holiday to ireland, Mrs Adair was kindness herself. The place is spotless and so welcoming. If your travels take you Portaferry you can be sure of a warm welcome from mrs Adair the breakfast was lovely, the room was very comfortable. I hope to return next year.

Room Tip: any room, they are all lovely
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Firstly, be aware that you have to look carefully to spot that this immaculate and well positioned house (immediately adjacent to the town square) is indeed a bed and breakfast...there is nothing at all to advertise the fact, other than an outer door which is usually adjar.

Behind the inner door lies a charming, spotless and spacious house. (It always reminds me of visiting comfortably off relatives in the 1950's) There is a single room at the back of the house with washbasin in the room and bathroom next door. This room is comfortable and privately situated at the end of a short corridor. At the front of the house are two large bedrooms, one en suite - with this room having an adjoining single room ideal if you are a family with children. My only quibble is that the shower controls always takes me ages to get just the right temperature and flow in here. In the other room is a superb retro bedroom suite ! Being at the front you might expect traffic noise...in fact there is none.

Breakfast is cooked to order and is served on a spotless tablecloth in the very traditional front room. Mrs Adair is wonderful and is a great authority on what to see and do in the area. (Think Margaret , Sir Alans side kick from The Apprentice, and you have her) Note that there is always a large bowl of fresh fruit on the table.

We always choose to stay here when visiting Portaferry. It offers splendid value for money and an assurance that we will be well looked after. We particularly like no TV's in the bedrooms...if you need TV you can use the front lounge downstairs.

As mentioned, only those 'in the know' stay here since there is no advertising of the premises. Hope this review does not attract the hoards....I want to be able to get in in July and September !

Room Tip: Only three rooms, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The family room we stayed in was large, clean and quiet, with a very comfortable mattress. The en suite was also large and clean. In fact the whole house is large and clean, giving the impression of being in a hotel more than a B&B. Breakfast was exactly as requested, and beautifully cooked. You have the use of a home-from-home sitting room with TV (good for rainy days), and Mrs Adair couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roytheboy_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stay here if you want to stay in Portaferry. It's local and friendly and just as a B and B should be. Mrs Adair did everything she could to make our stay a good one. Can't recomend more highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emared66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2007

After staying in a Belfast hotel which was less than clean the previous night, it was great to get to this lovely bed and breakfast in Portaferry. It was a bit difficult to find (luckily we had the address on us) as it wasn't obviously marked as a B&B - it just looked like a family home.

The ensuite family room we stayed in was scrupulously clean and very spacious. It was bright, airy and comfortable, with a large shower room/toilet. We seemed to be the only guests, and our privacy was respected. The rate was very reasonable.

There was a variety of choice at breakfast the following morning - cereals, fruit, toast, bread and a cooked breakfast. The location was really central and handy for the ferry across to Strangford. Although situated on the main street, the double glazing meant that we barely heard the traffic and there was no disturbance out on the street, so slept soundly. We would definitely return!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room had to be vacated between 10.30am and 6.30pm
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsLassEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaferry hotels
0.1 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballyrusley B&B
Ballyrusley B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Adair's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Adair's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 The Square | Newtownards, Portaferry BT22 1LW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portaferry
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Adair's Bed & Breakfast Portaferry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing