We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing stay”
Review of Villa Gonatouki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Gonatouki
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Certificate of Excellence
Pfäffikon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most amazing stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It is difficult to express in words what an amazing hotel the Villa Gonatouki was.

The owner and staff of the hotel make you feel like at home, but unlike home there is nothing you have to do whilst you are there.

We go traveling many times a year and it is therefore hard for a hotel to surprise us positively. However, this hotel totally exceeded our expectations.

We can highly recommend this hotel and we hope we will be able to return soon.

Thank you Bruno and your staff for the superb time!

Simon&Dominik

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you very much Simon. We were so pleased to meet you with Dominik. And I'm very happy because you met Lucie and Emma too. They told me, if one of them go to Zurich, she will call you. One of our objective is that guests met others and stay in touch after. It's done!
Isn't it too difficult to work after your stay? And isn't it too cold. Today we have 29° and the swimming pool is very nice. I stop because I know it's too hard to read this! You'll be always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    19
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
158
256
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend and parents just before Christmas and had such a wonderful stay - my only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer. It's definitely one of those places where you want a day just to relax around the villa. The place itself and the grounds it's on are just beautiful and there is so much attention to detail. Bruno did so much to make to make our stay as happy as possible - from helping to arrange the taxi to bring us from Marrakesh to driving us around to taking us to a local market. I would recommend having dinner there during your stay - the food was delicious. I would love to come back here another time - perhaps when it is warmer so that we can make use of the pool and relaxing outside. Thank you Bruno for such a wonderful stay-it was such a joy to meet you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianneK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review Lianne. It was a pleasure to accommodate you with your family. I hope to see you again, especially that there will be a new airline between London and Essaouira. Give a kiss from me to your mother, next time you'll phone her and a good shake hand to the men. And a lot of kisses for you too, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the most beautiful B&B house we've ever stayed in. Bruno and his architect did a superb job in creating a sense of luxury using traditional Moroccan architecture with a modern, airy, touch. Our room was large and very comfortable. Bruno was warm, helpful and inviting, and we enjoyed listening to his stories. His passion for the place, the house and for meeting and hosting people clearly come through and enrich the experience of the visit. Unlike hosts in many of the other B&Bs in Morocco, he speaks excellent English.
It is difficult to find the place on your own (requiring navigation through unmarked dirt roads), so call Bruno in advance to get help getting there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoronDekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was very nice to meet you even it was too short. The evening we spent together was very interesting. That's exactly why I like to accommodate guests. I hope your travel back was good. Anyway I have an excellent adress in Toronto now and I am sure we'll see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We rented the villa for the weekend to celebrate our wedding. It was truly one of the best experiences in our lives. All of our friends and family in one beautiful villa. Brigitte is a very nice and generous hostess, the staff at the villa were fun and friendly. The food they cooked awesome. On our wedding day Brigitte arranged a camel ride on the beach which was a great experience. In the afternoon we had the ceremony at the terrace with the sunset in the background. Some nibbles and drinks followed by another great dinner with traditional mechoui. Brigitte put some rose peddles and hart-shaped candles on beautifully decorated table. It was perfect. The villa is so beautiful, we got some great wedding shots as well!

All our guests loved their stay at Gonatouki. We had a few babies and small children and the hotel catered for them really well. It is the perfect place for an intimate party or celebration. Plenty of space to get together and socialise and still very private too due to the many private terraces. The rooms and bathrooms looked the part. Again, I would strongly recommend the villa to everyone and look forward to going back some day (soon).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martje76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights here over Christmas, the house is very peaceful and relaxing. Bruno is an excellant host and his staff are amazing. The food is excellant, the best we had in Morocco. We would certainly recommend Villa Gonatouki, stay here to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Yes it's quiet and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. That's nice in winter to stay under the sun, looking at the sea and hearing some animals. And do you know what? It will take only a few hours from London because in March we will have a new flight London Essaouira. I had the information today. I'm happy for English people who will discover this magical place. I hope the end of your stay in Morocco was nice too and that the therapy was effective!
Kind regards
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This palace of a place exceeded our expectations in all ways. The owner Bruno is so kind and loves to share his part of the world. All the staff are also wonderful. I had an excellent massage on site. Food delicious.....we're glad we chose to stay here for so many reasons...one of which is that being outside of the city we had a chance to experience a more local feeling vista wise. The sky at night is filled with stars and the sounds are only those of a braying donkey or rooster. Bruno took us to the Sunday local meat and veg market. Not something you would see most places. There's something very special here!!!! Loved it all!!! Thank you Bruno for your kind heart! A la prochaine!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite but all rooms are marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobesju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
The team and I hope that "la prochaine" will be soon. It was so nice to accomodate you and your family. You're right there is something special here and every guest let us something of his heart. I'll remember of our conversation in the patio. When i'll go with Brigitte in California, sure i'll phone you before.
All the best and kisses
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Our travels in Morocco have taken us to 3 hotels, 2 riads and now this villa. Not so much a villa, more a mini palace. This is the place to die for, really. We have just spent Xmas there. Loved every moment of it. Bruno, his family and staff are all so welcoming and helpful. My wife enjoyed her massage, particularly as it was half the London price!

The food is also delightful. We had non traditional Xmas meal ( no turkey - yippee), which started with pate de fois gras - the French don't have the hang-up that is now prevalent in the UK press - sardines with lentils, followed by two tagines, one meat and one vegetable, gratin dauphinoise, and then finished of with apple clafoutis. Beats turkey and sprouts any time.

Room Tip: Ours was a brilliant suite with tasteful Moroccan decoration, and two others that we saw looked equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-john-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you very much for your friendly review, Mike. I was very happy to meet Ruth and you. I like your humour and you give us a lot of smiles. Samira was very proud when I red the review about the food.
You told me that you'll come again in 3 years. That's too long but better than never. We'll wait for you and we'll stay in touch!
Kind regards
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghazoua
9.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#2 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.6 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gonatouki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gonatouki

Property: Villa Gonatouki
Address: Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gonatouki 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful and peaceful place with a sea view, Gonatouki is located at roughly 10km from the beach.With its 10 bedrooms and suites you will be enchanted by the villa, its architecture and its 2 swimming pools (one with a kids' pool).A place you will never forget!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Gonatouki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing