We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything it says it is... wonderful”
Review of Villa Gonatouki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Gonatouki
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Its worth it, I promise you. A retreat about 8km from Essaouria by taxi you will pay about 80 to 100 dh (£7) Taxi drivers in town dont always know where it is, personally we stayed 4 nights in Essaouira at Hotel Ocean Vagabond then came to Gonatouki for pure relaxation before we left by local bus back to Marrakesh. (buses cheap, safe and comfortable Super tours cost 70 to 100 dh).

Villa Gonatouki is a credit to Bruno, a truly beautiful building with only a few rooms, basis rooms are at ground level and look out to the pool. We stayed on first floor with balcony, worth the bit extra. The chill out areas inside the house are plentiful, spacious, clean and cosy. No need to see other guests if you dont want to. Or make friends and have dinner together as we did.

Food is brilliant, it is very chilled out, so no menus, no choice just trust you will be served a delicious variety of local food, perfectly cooked and plentiful. Wine and beers is available also. Vegetarian or meat eaters food is great. Breakfast also brilliant.

Spent the days, laying by the pool, reading, using the hammam and getting a massage from in house spa rooms. once arrived no need to leave, the girls in the kitchen are around to help you and get you water, drinks etc.

The ethos is friendly and relaxed. staff are lovely. Even the 2 villa puppies are chilled out often found laying at the end of your sun lounger taking it easy. Will definitely return, thank you

Kerry and Claire, UK

Room Tip: First floor rooms have large balcony's. Large roof top terrace has awesome panoramic views of...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glitterstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much Kerry and Claire for your kind review. I like when you say it's possible to stay alone or to meet many people. To stay here is under the freedom sign! You do as you wish and there are many places to be together or alone. I hope we'll see you soon. Best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Villa Gonatouki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I ve stayed in this Villa for a friends weedding recently.The place itself is fantastic,a really beautiful villa but all the beauty of our staying over there was taken away by the terrible owner who basicly wasn't even suppose to be there as we have rented all the place for a week. Instead he was there nearly 24/7 like he couldn't let people enjoying their staying without controling everywhere and everything. Very unpleasent, still we managed to ignore it until the wedding day when we have realised he invited himself taking pictures of everything and everyone plus enjoying the food and the drinks. On the very last day he was very present counting twice every single euro ( for your information count your spendings too , just to be sure its the same amount at the end). Its rare to see such a luck of tact but most of all very inproffessional if you run a such a large place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

What a pity. Everything started off well. From the first morning you had appreciated that I support one of you by taking him to the hospital (several stitches) and by avoiding long waiting hours (only 2 hours between our departure and return). You also asked me to play golf and you invited me for a drink several times. But everything changed. At 11, the eve of the ceremony you ask me to hold a quad output for the next morning. I called the agency which proposes to amend the schedules of another group if he accepts. I ask them to wait for confirmation. At 17h you confirm for 14 people. I remind the agency that confirms a few minutes later the other group is willing to shift the next day. It's great. At 23h you cancel and I explain that you cannot do that. I propose to compensate but you tell me that you did not sign anything. You thought that my interest was commercial. It was just respect for the word. For 4 years we have selected the best providers and all those who have benefited have been delighted. They are all pros lined with a great kindness.
I deeply regret that this incident has damaged our relationship. My subsequent presence had no other purpose than to respond immediately to your requests if necessary as find two maids or order pizza for the visiting team.
Anyway I just hope that you will especially remember a great party. The whole team and I wish the best to the married.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best place to stay while visiting Essaouira. Bruno, the manager is awesome/friendly. 10 min from the city it allows to relax away from the Medina next to one of its pools. Amazing food: We asked to participate in the cooking and all the chefs showed nicely how to prepare the Tagine/coucous/etc...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno E, Propriétaire at Villa Gonatouki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much Vincent. It was nice to accommodate you 2. And thank you because in 2 days 2 friends of you are coming. As I wrote them, Vincent's friends can only be very nice. You can come back when you want. The team is waiting for you. I spoke with my webmaster to change a few things on our website as you suggested. I hope it will be done in a few days. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got there around 2 a.m. and the owner was kindly waiting for us to give us a warm welcome and guide us to our room. He was available to give directions and instructions to get there at night when was already very dark and complicated to find the way.
The villa is beautiful and charming with all the exoticism of Morocco but western finishes. The food is excellent and the atmosphere relaxing.
We’ll get back in a future trip to Essauira.
Very convenient for families as an alternative to windy days at the beach…

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakelcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From Agadir airport via taxi (as arranged by Bruno) we stopped en route for tagine. We later arrived at Gonatouki and chose our room...and for 4 days we just chilled.
The thing about Gonatouki is that it's just different. There are two pools, several different bedroom suites and lots of rooms and areas to be quiet and romantic in or to socialise should you so wish... My wife recommends the hammam !
Bruno is the consummate host. The ladies who keep the rooms in order and cook are brilliant. Everything is calm and every detail is covered. We particularly enjoyed a great Sahara wine with dinner one evening...
Total relaxation. Quite simply; we loved it here.

Room Tip: We chose a bigger bedroom suite on the first floor which had it's own private terrace. Everythin...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LO_and_LO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hardest part of writing this review was how to NOT make it sound too... well... perfect.

...we arrived into Marrakech-Menara airport exhausted and really couldn't be bothered with the additional 3-hour taxi ride to the villa. But the driver met us (sign and all) with a smile and a helping hand. And the ride - quiet and picturesque - actually turned out to be just the kind of slow transition out of London and into Morocco that we needed.

Two naps, one stop at a roadside cafe for a light lunch and a photo opp/local history lesson later, we arrived at Gonatouki.

Bruno (proprietor and consummate host) met us upon arrival and gave us a tour of the villa. The place was beautiful. Even better than the pictures. If only because we were there. A lovely labyrinth of rooms, gardens, terraces and pools, the design embodied the cool spirit of the sea and the warmth of its vigilant sun. Set within the hand-built stone walls on a sprawling semi-arid landscape overlooking the coast, Gonatouki is simply sublime.

Our room was large, clean and came with a view. Two in fact. We were fortunate enough to have a ground floor Grand Suite which gave us north and south facing terraces. Though, to be honest, all the rooms looked incredible.

We were served the best breakfasts (they had this sweet bread), lunches (and these squashed, seared sardines) and dinners (a relative tagine feast) and snacks and drinks whenever we wanted. All we needed to do was ask.

And the staff - three women and the grounds keeper/driver - were really friendly. And though it is predominantly an Arabic and French speaking country, as English speakers (a quick dust-off of GCSE French later) we found it easy enough to communicate.

After the massages, the walks, the swims in the pool, day trips into the medina and nights sat out on one of the patio terraces playing cards under a star-filled sky, we really, really, really didn't want to leave.

If you're willing to make the sojourn into the desert, at Gonatouki, you will surely find your oasis.

...and finally, I'd be remiss if I didn't "shout out my homies" - Camel and Cal' - the two most lovely, cutest and craziest puppies who "patrol" the grounds, keeping the sanctum ever safe. WOOF!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights here at this delightful place with the most amazing host Bruno. The food was amazing, and we ate here most nights. It is very unusual in the fact that you can eat whether ever you want in the house, sometimes in front of a fire or outside, It is a little haven, very peaceful in the middle of nowhere. We felt so relaxed after our 4 days here, the building is done in very stylish interior. I would recommend staying here definately. It is our 5th trip to Morrocco and we loved this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghazoua
9.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.7 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
522 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gonatouki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gonatouki

Address: Km 8 Route d'Agadir | El Ghazoua, 44000, Ghazoua, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range: £68 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gonatouki 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful and peaceful place with a sea view, Gonatouki is located at roughly 10km from the beach.With its 10 bedrooms and suites you will be enchanted by the villa, its architecture and its 2 swimming pools (one with a kids' pool).A place you will never forget!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gonatouki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing