We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B full of character and very relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“B&B full of character and very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After a stressful few days, arriving at Hundalee was just wonderful! A fantastic old 'listed' building with interesting historical background. Really peaceful and rural. Loved the peacock and tail display! A proper Scottish breakfast in a fabulous dining room, and with homemade preserves & honey from the hives in the garden. Great spacious room. Lovely grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IshT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
85
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked at the last minute, having not had time to search around.We couldn't believe how delightful the accommodation was when we arrived - tranquil, rural, large generously sized room with dual aspect windows and good 'old fashioned' feel which was truly welcoming. The room was clean, fresh and attractively furnished with two easy chairs and cut glass water glasses. Sheila was hospitality personified, friendly and chatty, and the breakfast was freshly prepared with extra little touches. Do try the whisky flavoured honey from their own hives! The grounds are beautifully kept and you are welcome to wander round. I thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 has windows on two sides both with open views of fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

A wonderful old house in an enchanting & peaceful location. The accommodation was warm, very comfortable & spotlessly clean. A warm welcome with very friendly hosts who supplied a superb breakfast, will be definitely staying their again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi John and Leo, it was very nice meeting you both, so glad you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to seeing you both again when you are next in the area. Take Care Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Hundalee is a beautiful old house with a lovely feel and the owners are warm, friendly and welcoming. Stayed in a very comfortable room with loads of character and had a fantastic stay. Breakfast superb, location very peaceful and handy for exploring the borders. Really enjoyable time. Will be back sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Jon & Sally, thank you so much for your kind review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, if you are ever this way again I look forward to seeing you both and maybe meet Jack. Take Care Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this property for two nights and it is a beautiful house in lovely grounds. Room was clean, bed comfortable and breakfast very nicely prepared. We were disappointed on arrival to see two notices on the wall of the room; one saying guests have to pay cash or cheque (seems strange when they are happy to take cards to pre-book through booking.com) and the other saying guests have to vacate rooms by 10am. We stayed on Good Friday and asked to be allowed to leave a little later as we were tired from travelling and had booked for that night as well. We were grudgingly given an extra half an hour at the price of not having our room cleaned or towels changed (not a major deal, but not quite the service we have had at other similar places). Shower did not drain. Just be aware this is an old fashioned B & B and you will only be welcome between 3.30pm and 10am the next day. If you know this, it is a good base for Jedburgh - we walked into town in about 30 minutes. You can probably do better if you hunt around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavanm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We honestly could not fault this grand guest-house nor it's wonderful owners. Clean and warm with every creature comfort provided for - even choccy biscuits with our tea/coffee in our room!
The most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, as well as masses of hot water in the power-shower (fluffy dressing gowns were also provided)! Top quality breakfast in the sumptuous diningroom - including Hundalee's own eggs/honey - heaven... Their surrounding acres were ours to freely explore, which was a real bonus for our little terrier - who was also made most welcome. We're already planning our next stay at Hundalee & have recommended it to our friends/family.

Room Tip: some rooms have 4 poster beds, 1 room with bath if you prefer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 96CarolD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night which was a surprise birthday treat! On arrival we were greeted by the owner Sheila who was very welcoming and showed us to our room and also where the breakfast room was. The room had a 4 poster bed with lovely garden views. Dressing gowns were provided which was a nice touch. The room was very warm and cosy with a lovely comfortable bed. Tea and coffee were available in the room and also biscuits! You could pre order breakfast so you didnt have to wait too long in the morning. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
1.0 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
1.2 mi away
Airenlea
Airenlea
#4 of 19 in Jedburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
13.5 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hundalee | Roxburghshire, Jedburgh TD8 6PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hundalee House is a Historic Manor House, sits in 15 acreas of woodland and gardens. We are 1 mile South of Jedburgh, a 5 minute drive to the centre of Town. This Bed & Breakfast dates from 1777, the kitchen actually displays a marriage stone from 100 years earlier with the initials of Robert Kerr the 4th Lord of Jedburgh entwined with those of his wife Dame Christian Hamilton, they were the first of many distinguished owners of Hundalee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundalee House Bed And Breakfast Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing