We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Bairnkine Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jedburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bairnkine Cottages
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is our first visit to Owl Cottage and what a find. We'll definitely be back again. Dave and I are doing the Borders Abbey Way so this is a good base from which to explore the five stages of this 68 mile trail. Sister-in-law's family are exploring the locality on bikes, foot and by car and really seem to be enjoying the area. The cottage is brilliant with very spacious accommodation for two families. The natives are very friendly and go out of their way to sort out any problems One of the bikes was playing up so didn't take long to find out the local expert.

Room Tip: This cottage has a games room with snooker and table football so a great asset if you have any teena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Glad you feel Owl Cottage is home from home. Good news about bike too. Thanks for lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Visited recently for the fourth time! We enjoyed the stay very much and did lots of walking, a dog show with our three dogs and visited a few local places including the Deer Farm which is only a few miles from the Cottage. Very well catered for and once again that lovely home made bread!

Room Tip: All rooms are much the same size and no firm favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thanks Margo - glad you enjoyed the bread!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We got a weekend of sunshine at the Bairnkine. Lucy was most helpful in the run up to our rental of both Owl and Wild Rose cottages.

For a reasonably priced self-catering cottage I found the place charming and it suited a group of 11 professional guys very well. Lucy did not even raise an eyebrow when she saw us unloading a keg of beer from the car - 'that's what weekends away are for'.

I would imagine this place is also great for families to get away and cosy up in front of the fire.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSBhopal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for a lovely review. Glad you had a great time and the sun shone for you. I was impressed with the keg it showed organisation! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have stayed here three times now and have found it very welcoming and safe for our three dogs and the three of us. My husband has fallen in love with Lucy's home made bread in the welcome pack! Hope to come again this year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thanks Margo. The fresh bread will be waiting for hubby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Fab place and great owners who really care. Great base to visit Jedburgh and the surrounding area. Yummy home made cake to welcome us with details of best places to take baby locally. Toys in bedroom were much appreciated by our little one. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Farey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thanks for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed the cake. Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was our second stay at Wild Rose. This cottage is well equipped with large well appointed bedrooms and wardrobe space.A comfortable sitting room with a well stocked book shelf is complemented by the lovely farmhouse kitchen.Lucy left us some gorgeous cupcakes for our arrival ..very welcome after driving from Dartford in Kent.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephendartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BairnkineCottages, Owner at Bairnkine Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thanks for your comments. We like to make sure there is a selection of books available just in case our guests have forgotten theirs! Glad you enjoyed the cupcakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We are 2 families and stayed for six nights in July. The Owl cottage is valued and fully equipped . Comfortable and clean. Beautiful views and farms as well.
We enjoyed cooking everyday and sharing in the living room where there is a warm fireplace.
Lucy & Matt , the owner, are very nice .
We hope to stay longer.

Cindy
Hong Kong

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindywlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jedburgh hotels
1.8 mi away
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
3 mi away
The Capon Tree Town House
The Capon Tree Town House
#5 of 17 in Jedburgh
29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#8 of 17 in Jedburgh
34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Airenlea
Airenlea
#3 of 17 in Jedburgh
102 reviews
3 mi away
Willow Court
Willow Court
#4 of 17 in Jedburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairnkine Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairnkine Cottages

Address: The Bairnkine, Jedburgh TD8 6PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Jedburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Jedburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Bairnkine Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two holiday cottages situated on our working farm 3 miles south of Jedburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bairnkine Cottages Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing