We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Magical Monteviot Lights at Christmas

We went to the Monteviot Lights Trail - a festive light and sound show which was really imaginative... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2023
Charlotte M
The INCREDIBLE Monteviot Lights

Went for the lights show and it was absolutely incredible. The best I have seen anywhere in the... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2023
axelnm
,
United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water garden wide variety of plants well worth the entrance fee well worth a visit wander around gardeners shrubs honesty house arrows paths stroll signage box
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Originally went to see the Orchid Show - very interesting BUT the real surprise and delight were the Gardens. If ever you are in the area DON'T miss making a visit - you wont be disappointed !! There is so much to see and enjoy for both enthusiastic gardeners and those who just enjoy wandering thru wonderful gardens in a picturesque spot on the banks of the River Teviot. The Head Gardener was genuinely enthusiastic about the place - which is a real credit to him and the other gardeners who obviously work so hard to keep the thirty acres looking so immaculate and so full of interesting plants, shrubs and trees. Even though towards the end of the season, there was still so much of interest to see - be prepared to spend many happy and informative hours in this garden. Quite amazing were the number of plants labelled (not always the case in many gardens) so you are able to note what you like for future reference. I am sure that whenever you visit there will be plenty to interest all the family - but particularly the keen (but amateur) gardeners who wish that their plot could be extended to include many of the wonderful plants displayed here. We shall return to enjoy this wonderful garden throughout all the seasons. Excellent value for money !

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The setting - overlooking the River Teviot! Trees, shrubs and wildlife on the river. Friendly man in the ticket shed.
All round great place.
Thank you for sharing!

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank MaggieMay20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had been at an open garden (Scotland Garden Scheme) in East Lothian, the owner recommended Monteviot Gardens if we had the time & we were astonished at the expansive grounds with sublime views over the River Teviot and beyond. There are a great varied number of projects to create different areas; traditional Rose gardens which should mature beautifully as the roses were planted this past year, Winter garden which was looking lush, but will look amazing when the leaves are all gone and a heavy frost ladens the trunks of the tibetan cherries contrasting with the silver birch and various other cornus etc., an agapanthus border where the flowers were just about to burst open in a blaze of glory. We have a large garden in Falkland Fife (not on Monteviot scale) so we have a slight idea of quite how much work is involved in the maintenance of a garden at the larger scale. We were astonished there were only three people caring for the gardens and doing a splendid job. Observed some bindweed, however the gardeners amongst us will know how much of a curse it is. We had a few little bits that reappeared without fail every year at our last home in the West of Ireland even with an annual treatment of glyphosphate. Short of removing all the soil and replacing it which would be a mammoth task, there is no guaranteed solution. Thoroughly enjoyed it, wish we'd had more time to stroll up through the delightfully romantic (dene?) garden along the stream towards the house. We bought some lovely alpine plants (luisias) which we'll have to get planted into a trough. There was a garden centre nearby in a walled garden which had a nice cafe for lunch to round off my first trip towards the borders nicely.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

All ways a good visit as there is something to see at all times of year especially at times when other gardens are dormant, The winter garden walk is increasingly becoming a treat as the cornus, willow, rubus and viburnum establish. Its nice to see a garden being developed in a positive way, so that there will be something for everyone, combined with a trip to Harestanes and Woodside plant centre, there is plenty to fill a relaxing day.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Mrbump45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have visited this garden often with my husband and friends and was so impressed with it that on my recommendation Musselburgh Horticultural Society chose Monteviot for the annual bus outing in 2014. An extra treat was access to the house which proved delightful.
The setting in the border hills with the Teviot River running through the grounds is spectacular and the diversity of the different types of gardens within the grounds makes for an interesting and varied experience. From the winter garden, through the meadows, to the water garden, the Dene garden, the walled rose garden, the fine herbaceous borders and the outer reaches of the arboretum there is something for everyone.
The gardeners - and there are not many here - do a fine job of coping with around 30 acres and from early spring with massed bulbs through to the autumn colours it is more than worth one visit during the season.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Inwood30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews