We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Magical Monteviot Lights at Christmas

We went to the Monteviot Lights Trail - a festive light and sound show which was really imaginative... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2023
Charlotte M
The INCREDIBLE Monteviot Lights

Went for the lights show and it was absolutely incredible. The best I have seen anywhere in the... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2023
axelnm
,
United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water garden wide variety of plants well worth the entrance fee well worth a visit wander around gardeners shrubs honesty house arrows paths stroll signage box
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Beautiful place to spend some time. I have just had knee surgery and was unable to make it all the way round so Ian the Head Gardener took me in his buggy which I very much appreciated he told me about different parts of the garden and nothing was a bother to him. Gardens are beautifully kept and well maintained and will look forward to the new development which is in progress.
Thanks again Ian and Jamie.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I happened upon this lovely garden on my way to spend a weekend in the Borders with some friends and thought it was absolutely wonderful. The selection of differently landscaped individual gardens extend over a beautifully set out riverside location. The whole visit was made an entirely welcoming experience from the helpful guide map and we met the head gardner who explained some of the joys and challenges of working on such a large and varied site. I would highly recommend a visit as I'd say it is equally appealing to gardners and non-gardeners.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank CYounie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Originally went to see the Orchid Show - very interesting BUT the real surprise and delight were the Gardens. If ever you are in the area DON'T miss making a visit - you wont be disappointed !! There is so much to see and enjoy for both enthusiastic gardeners and those who just enjoy wandering thru wonderful gardens in a picturesque spot on the banks of the River Teviot. The Head Gardener was genuinely enthusiastic about the place - which is a real credit to him and the other gardeners who obviously work so hard to keep the thirty acres looking so immaculate and so full of interesting plants, shrubs and trees. Even though towards the end of the season, there was still so much of interest to see - be prepared to spend many happy and informative hours in this garden. Quite amazing were the number of plants labelled (not always the case in many gardens) so you are able to note what you like for future reference. I am sure that whenever you visit there will be plenty to interest all the family - but particularly the keen (but amateur) gardeners who wish that their plot could be extended to include many of the wonderful plants displayed here. We shall return to enjoy this wonderful garden throughout all the seasons. Excellent value for money !

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The setting - overlooking the River Teviot! Trees, shrubs and wildlife on the river. Friendly man in the ticket shed.
All round great place.
Thank you for sharing!

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank MaggieMay20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had been at an open garden (Scotland Garden Scheme) in East Lothian, the owner recommended Monteviot Gardens if we had the time & we were astonished at the expansive grounds with sublime views over the River Teviot and beyond. There are a great varied number of projects to create different areas; traditional Rose gardens which should mature beautifully as the roses were planted this past year, Winter garden which was looking lush, but will look amazing when the leaves are all gone and a heavy frost ladens the trunks of the tibetan cherries contrasting with the silver birch and various other cornus etc., an agapanthus border where the flowers were just about to burst open in a blaze of glory. We have a large garden in Falkland Fife (not on Monteviot scale) so we have a slight idea of quite how much work is involved in the maintenance of a garden at the larger scale. We were astonished there were only three people caring for the gardens and doing a splendid job. Observed some bindweed, however the gardeners amongst us will know how much of a curse it is. We had a few little bits that reappeared without fail every year at our last home in the West of Ireland even with an annual treatment of glyphosphate. Short of removing all the soil and replacing it which would be a mammoth task, there is no guaranteed solution. Thoroughly enjoyed it, wish we'd had more time to stroll up through the delightfully romantic (dene?) garden along the stream towards the house. We bought some lovely alpine plants (luisias) which we'll have to get planted into a trough. There was a garden centre nearby in a walled garden which had a nice cafe for lunch to round off my first trip towards the borders nicely.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews