We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Magical Monteviot Lights at Christmas

We went to the Monteviot Lights Trail - a festive light and sound show which was really imaginative... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2023
Charlotte M
The INCREDIBLE Monteviot Lights

Went for the lights show and it was absolutely incredible. The best I have seen anywhere in the... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2023
axelnm
,
United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water garden wide variety of plants well worth the entrance fee well worth a visit wander around gardeners shrubs honesty house arrows paths stroll signage box
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Two and a half men do sterling service in this demanding garden. Their welcome we found, was warm, friendly and informative. On this visit we were impressed by the neat and extensive hedge trimming, the well-cut lawns, and the up-to-date pruning. The garden is explored with the assistance of a helpful map and clear indicator arrows that gently guide without denying visitors the opportunity to explore, other than private areas. The slope of the land towards the river lends itself to the establishment of several delightful vantage points. Weeds are mostly controlled through the generous use of bark mulch, though there are places and paths where the battle has been lost! New features are steadily added to the gardens, despite the regrettable attentions of vandals. This was a peaceful place to spend a happy hour or so, even in somewhat inclement weather.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank JohnCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We spent a very pleasant few hours here last summer. The garden looked great and there was plenty to see and it's easy to find your way around the garden so that you don't miss anything.

We visited when the house was also open and got a great tour. It took almost an hour and a half and was very informative with a friendly guide.

No food available but it's walking distance to a couple of cafes

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank cle182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The house is only open during July - the gardens are open April through to October , though check the website for earlier opening times.

The gardens are a treat and the Head Gardener is so informative and enthusiastic.

There are paths and walks through the arboretum, a rose garden ,water garden, herb garden, winter garden and a walk down to the river. There is also places to sit and enjoy the afternoon sunshine. Through the Dene Garden there is a short climb up steps to a viewpoint.
Everything is well laid out and signposted and a map is provided so you do not miss anything !!!

There is a small cabin where you can buy coffee and tea from a vending machine and there is a small fridge with soft drinks - but no food. Parking is free and toilets are near the house.

A very good visit in the Borders.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We greatly enjoyed our visit to these gardens. Some of the views across the river are stunning. The garden is composed of very different areas each with features of special interest.
There is also an ongoing program of developments to add interest.
Definitely worth a visit whether you are a keen gardener or not.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Beautiful place to spend some time. I have just had knee surgery and was unable to make it all the way round so Ian the Head Gardener took me in his buggy which I very much appreciated he told me about different parts of the garden and nothing was a bother to him. Gardens are beautifully kept and well maintained and will look forward to the new development which is in progress.
Thanks again Ian and Jamie.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews